Yah. I researched on this company last month and I read the prospectus of teh company before its IPO, but what held me back from buying this stock was because I remebered what the fund manager told meOriginally posted by k4korny:think i know which IPO stock shade343 was looking at...
1) stock prices are not indicative of the current value of the shares, but a reflection of people's expectations of it's future price, ie. ppl speculate on prices. 2) Perhaps, e coy got a new contract or start oil prdn after the ipo was launched. The stock has more than double since its ipo. Did you go and find out the reason behind this?
just go to shareinvestor's forum and you will find more crap talk.. are you going to listen to all of them, and blame them for each wrong call u make?
At the end of the day, you should take this as a lesson: that as retail investors, YOU should be the one doing the homework, and making the call to buy or not. Dun whine that your fund mgr sucked, cos he wun be the one making the profits/ losses.
PS: if it were me (w/o the benefit of the hindside) I wouldn't have bought the IPO either.
Yah. I researched on this company last month and I read the prospectus of teh company before its IPO, but what held me back from buying this stock was because I remebered what the fund manager told meOriginally posted by k4korny:think i know which IPO stock shade343 was looking at...
1) stock prices are not indicative of the current value of the shares, but a reflection of people's expectations of it's future price, ie. ppl speculate on prices. 2) Perhaps, e coy got a new contract or start oil prdn after the ipo was launched. The stock has more than double since its ipo. Did you go and find out the reason behind this?
just go to shareinvestor's forum and you will find more crap talk.. are you going to listen to all of them, and blame them for each wrong call u make?
At the end of the day, you should take this as a lesson: that as retail investors, YOU should be the one doing the homework, and making the call to buy or not. Dun whine that your fund mgr sucked, cos he wun be the one making the profits/ losses.
PS: if it were me (w/o the benefit of the hindside) I wouldn't have bought the IPO either.
y sell them at 92 n buy them at 74-75? and all of them somemore?Originally posted by shade343:No. He gave me the impression that it was some kind of shit stock as he told me the company has yet to produce oil and blah blah blah.....I failed to get my hands on the share during the IPO as it was oversuscribed. But Originally, I wanted to make a short term profit by getting 10 lots at IPO price. Dump them on the first day of trading(It hit 92 cents on the 1st day of trading), and buy them back again at 74-75 cents. I intend to hold on to this share for around 2 years.
Before approaching this fund manager, I had read the company's prospectus and came to the conclusion that the compaany had great potential in making lots of money based on current high oil prices.
Anyway I trusted the fund manager becos his name card stted that he was the Senior fund manager(he happens to have 2 degrees as well) in the company and he sounded quite wise...![]()
I mean If I got them at IPO price of 70 cents, I would dump them at 92 cents on the 1st day of trading to take profit and buy them back again at 74cents. I want these shares for long term investment.Originally posted by shinta:y sell them at 92 n buy them at 74-75? and all of them somemore?
just becos someone has 2 degrees, doesn mean he's good... senr so?
Thats what sparked my interest in the stockmarket. When I was sec 3 I turn on teletext and was amazed that everything was so darn cheap.Originally posted by Glen999:a rock climber thinks that rock climbing is not risky.
for layman, it's damn risky.
if you equip yourself with knowledge, stock investment is not risky.
remember: don't be greedy, don't follow crowd, check fundamental & BE PATIENT.. there is not 'fast and free' money.
For example, during SARS period, if you bought good fundamental stock e.g. SIA while all stupid fund managers dumped all their stocks. (note: they had no choice as everyone redeemed their unit-trusts), you are a millionaire now.
Now, Singapore stock is at high-end, you are having higher risk (no margin of safety) if you buy now. Just be patient and wait for another crisis.
wat makes u think the price will go down?Originally posted by shade343:I mean If I got them at IPO price of 70 cents, I would dump them at 92 cents on the 1st day of trading to take profit and buy them back again at 74cents. I want these shares for long term investment.![]()
In this instance I know that the share price on the 1st day of trading will rocket, so I want to take short term profit and cash out straight away. But I still want to invest in this company, so I buy the share back at lower price when the frenzy is over.Originally posted by shinta:![]()
so?
even if u missed the IPO, there's still chances for u to buy teh share later mah..
u insisted that u're investing.. n not speculating.. ppl who speculates buys at a low price n pray hard hard for the price to go up...
when it went up by 10 cent, sell yay! i made (10 cents * no. of shares)
duh?
why buy again when the frenzy is over? y not just hold on to ur stocks?Originally posted by shade343:In this instance I know that the share price on the 1st day of trading will rocket, so I want to take short term profit and cash out straight away. But I still want to invest in this company, so I buy the share back at lower price when the frenzy is over.
If I were to invest in this company now...the yield wont be so good le.....![]()
For this share, there will definitely be a frenzy on the 1st day of trading as this share was oversuscribed more than 50 times(the actual number is higher than that, but I cant remember). Thats why the share price rocket so high on the 1st day of trading. Once the buying frenzy is over, the share price will definitely come down. The lowest it hit was 73 cents, before it hit above $1....Originally posted by shinta:wat makes u think the price will go down?
isn't it still above the ipo price?Originally posted by shade343:For this share, there will definitely be a frenzy on the 1st day of trading as this share was oversuscribed more than 50 times(the actual number is higher than that, but I cant remember). Thats why the share price rocket so high on the 1st day of trading. Once the buying frenzy is over, the share price will definitely come down. The lowest it hit was 73 cents, before it hit above $1....![]()
Yup. But I dont mind paying an extra 4 cents per share, as I intend to hold on to these shares for long term investment. But I guess its a bit too late to do so now...Originally posted by shinta:isn't it still above the ipo price?
Originally posted by shade343:Yup. But I dont mind paying an extra 4 cents per share, as I intend to hold on to these shares for long term investment. But I guess its a bit too late to do so now...![]()
ah shinta....you very blur leh.Originally posted by shinta:![]()
i'm not blur...Originally posted by shade343:ah shinta....you very blur leh.
and you called this 'starting financial planning young'...Originally posted by Glen999:- didn't check for company fundamental and merely listen to the fund manger/brokers .... and you called this 'starting financial planning young'...
- if you speculate stocks, you will get burn...nobody has become millionaire because he speculates stocks!
- if brokers/fund managers predict correctly and consistently, they will be multi-millionaire liao..
yup. this was what I was trying to hint at. This piece of info will be positive for the stock. Before the ipo nobody knew that this was going to happen, right? Even if ur fund manager knew, he wouldn't have revealed it cos it's considered "insider's" information.Originally posted by shade343:And then suddenly news came out that the comapany found oil and production was goin to start. And then I can only stare at the screen as I watch the share price continue to rocket...
Actually...all the money I used to buy shares are money which I can afford to lose.Originally posted by k4korny:yup. this was what I was trying to hint at. This piece of info will be positive for the stock. Before the ipo nobody knew that this was going to happen, right? Even if ur fund manager knew, he wouldn't have revealed it cos it's considered "insider's" information.
I dun follow this stock.. but briefly, i know that it's in oil exploration.. meaning no find new oil, no $$. furthermore, they have stated that they r going to make a loss in FY04. To me, this is a very risky stock. As an investor, you have to weigh your risk n return, then make the call.. if i were going to buy it, i would be using spare cash, which i would be prepared to throw into the drain.
Those who bought were betting that they will find oil n start production. They won.. and are laughing all the way to the bank..
but imagine if no oil was found.. would you have called to thank your fund mgr?
STI today just surged 22 pts.. think there is now uncertainty in the market, which opens up trading opportunities. Happy trading, my fren!![]()
Originally posted by k4korny:
nobody has become millionaire because he speculates stocks!neither has anyone become a millionaire without taking risk..
but someone become millionaire/billionaire because he invests in stocks...
check my post: risk is relative.
if brokers/fund managers predict correctly and consistentlywhen they predict correctly, they won't tell you. when they do tell, they would have bought the stocks and pushed the prices up already..
i agree with you. I think this is exactly my point. Fund manager will not tell u if he knows that he will earn big $$$$$ on the stock.