nah.. fund managers.. some are real good, some may not be as good.. u can't just listen to them w/o doin any research urself..Originally posted by Peppermint:cant blame him...he often listens and hangs ard s.h.i.t (fund mgrs) so after a while....
Any in particular you're talking about? We can discuss.... :XOriginally posted by Peppermint:i dun look at ipos...but imo in depends on what they going to use the money for? expansion?
there was a study recently that most coys use ipos to pay debts.. iirc
i must admit sth.. i did not, have not read anything regarding ipos except for wat ipos stands for what they are used for (basically)Originally posted by M©+square:New ones shoots high...but dangerous leh.
p.s. I'm just see see look look, not speculating or investing.
Me small fry....don't know anything, cannot compare to shade.![]()
the coy can use teh money freely in anyway they deem fit, and i'm not sure if i rmb correctly.. but i tink they hav to state in teh prospectus, the reasons behind this.Originally posted by Peppermint:i dun look at ipos...but imo in depends on what they going to use the money for? expansion?
there was a study recently that most coys use ipos to pay debts.. iirc
Originally posted by Peppermint:we need a 'ignore posts from this poster' function....
none...i dun look at iposOriginally posted by M©+square:Any in particular you're talking about? We can discuss.... :X
my opinion.. one shoud have some short term investments too... to provide liquidityOriginally posted by Peppermint:none...i dun look at iposunless i have some spare cash to play ard...
i more interested in long term investing...what abt u
I'm now looking into UOB Unit Trust.Originally posted by Peppermint:none...i dun look at iposunless i have some spare cash to play ard...
i more interested in long term investing...what abt u
unit trusts...Originally posted by M©+square:I'm now looking into UOB Unit Trust.
Small fry need to feel secured as well as knowing the returns will be better than money sitting in bank deposits.![]()
I haven't thought of the question why,Originally posted by shinta:unit trusts...
i've got a qn wor...
why would u guys invest in unit trusts?
oh.. hmm was readin a finance mag, seems like everyone's recommending this fund... er.. can't remember its name.. i'll check it out n let u noe..Originally posted by M©+square:I haven't thought of the question why,
because i am still looking into it? It seems good just to put a sum of money aside to grow on it's own.
dbs shenton income?Originally posted by shinta:oh.. hmm was readin a finance mag, seems like everyone's recommending this fund... er.. can't remember its name.. i'll check it out n let u noe..
it's one of franklin templeton's global fund.. hmm next in line would be dbs' can't rmb the name too...Originally posted by shinta:oh.. hmm was readin a finance mag, seems like everyone's recommending this fund... er.. can't remember its name.. i'll check it out n let u noe..
ehh i dun put my money in unit trusts...unless its and index fund..which adds to portfolio...Originally posted by shinta:unit trusts...
i've got a qn wor...
why would u guys invest in unit trusts?
Which magazine was that?Originally posted by shinta:it's one of franklin templeton's global fund.. hmm next in line would be dbs' can't rmb the name too...
there was this article from a finance mag by fund supermart comparing various funds.. and the 2 funds came out tops..
disclaimer: my memory ain't that good.. please seek professional advice or get a copy of the mag... i may, and the chances are pretty high, rmb things incorrectly.
hmm not very sure.. tho tat particular fund name has a rather strong impression...Originally posted by Peppermint:dbs shenton income?
i can't rmb >.<Originally posted by M©+square:Which magazine was that?![]()
Scan into pdf format and share lah!!! \Originally posted by shinta:i can't rmb >.<
i check le get back to u?
hmm... it's a quarterly mag..once every 3 mths
no scanner or digital camera wor... hmm.. how?Originally posted by M©+square:Scan into pdf format and share lah!!! \![]()
okok. M© go read up.Originally posted by shinta:no scanner or digital camera wor... hmm.. how?
think the mag costs 5 buckz..
again pls refer to my disclaimer
kino got sell...Originally posted by M©+square:okok. M© go read up.
ok..sorry to annoy you, but 3 months ago, a stock goin up by 10 cents made me very jumpy. Now anything that goes up by 10 cents is no big deal unless it is a penny stock. But this particular stock launched its IPO at 70cents in late april, today's sell price is currently $1 above the IPO price. Obviously Im feeling real jumpy...Originally posted by shinta:dun wan lei.. humour him a lot liao wor...
so many threads on.. stock a went up by 10cents! er... i didn buy this stock blah x3 it gets annoying wor..
Originally posted by shade343:ok..sorry to annoy you, but 3 months ago, a stock goin up by 10 cents made me very jumpy. Now anything that goes up by 10 cents is no big deal unless it is a penny stock. But this particular stock launched its IPO at 70cents in late april, today's sell price is currently $1 above the IPO price. Obviously Im feeling real jumpy...
No. He gave me the impression that it was some kind of shit stock as he told me the company has yet to produce oil and blah blah blah.....I failed to get my hands on the share during the IPO as it was oversuscribed. But Originally, I wanted to make a short term profit by getting 10 lots at IPO price. Dump them on the first day of trading(It hit 92 cents on the 1st day of trading), and buy them back again at 74-75 cents. I intend to hold on to this share for around 2 years.Originally posted by Li Ka Shing:I think u probably misunderstood what he said. When he advised u about the company having no oil and stuff, he was probably advising u on the mid or long term prospect. U are upset now coz it's now above it's IPO price. I think u have a shorter term? U should have made that clear to him, I think he would've given u a different advice.