Im not joking.Originally posted by M©+square:How come BenQ would be more superior when place in comparison with Acer?
Interesting.
I'm not sure about you.Originally posted by NuLife:Im not joking.
Acer and toshiba mid $2K notebooks really sucks.
I was shoping for notebook sometime back..
initally had acer in my shortlist..
but after looking at the details, its out of my shortlist immediately.
The built quality + value for money is not good.
This include Toshiba Satallite series.
BenQ/HP for the same price have better built quality.
Infact a chat w a senior sales guy at one of funan shops confirm this.
His views of the various details of brands/models/design/specs/features
were in line with mine, which confirm these.
Take a look at BenQ Joybook 7000/S52 series.
You will be surprised.
Infact, those in the industry shud know that BenQ is now
growing at an unprecedented rate.
yep I agree with you, notebook lifespan if can tahan more than 2yrs si beh hor liao.Originally posted by BillyBong:If it's just for home use buy a DIY desktop. U can save up to $500 bucks from your 2k budget.
Notebooks depreciate steeply, with almost non-existent upgrade capabilities and usually start to give problems after one half years. After 2 years they become totally unreliable.
I used to own a digitek notebook (what the hell was i thinking!). After 2 plus years i managed to sell it off to 2nd hand shops for 550 bucks.
Unless you intend to spend some good money or need to present items to clients on the move, stick to desktops...you won't regret it.
Laptops can last up to 5yrs plus if you're treating it well la. Downside is only about non upgradable motherboard and processer.Originally posted by BillyBong:If it's just for home use buy a DIY desktop. U can save up to $500 bucks from your 2k budget.
Notebooks depreciate steeply, with almost non-existent upgrade capabilities and usually start to give problems after one half years. After 2 years they become totally unreliable.
I used to own a digitek notebook (what the hell was i thinking!). After 2 plus years i managed to sell it off to 2nd hand shops for 550 bucks.
Unless you intend to spend some good money or need to present items to clients on the move, stick to desktops...you won't regret it.
i AM in the industry and benQ is................................Originally posted by NuLife:Infact, those in the industry shud know that BenQ is now
growing at an unprecedented rate.
the one im typing on now is 2yrs+ and still going strong......surprisingly.....though a bit slow........but it's still good.....Originally posted by M©+square:Laptops can last up to 5yrs plus if you're treating it well la. Downside is only about non upgradable motherboard and processer.
Actually my problem is not with the laptop. It's with Windows that the unreliable one.![]()
Price of IBM laptop are SUPER high. I rather have a Ferrari 4000 than the T43 at the same price.Originally posted by extra6:have you considered IBM ? The x-series is cool and small. Price wise is a little on the high side but very very reliable.
NATO.Originally posted by shade343:Price of IBM laptop are SUPER high. I rather have a Ferrari 4000 than the T43 at the same price.
Ferrrai 4000 havent come put in singapore yet.Originally posted by ditzy:NATO.![]()
IBM is not tt expensive lahOriginally posted by shade343:Price of IBM laptop are SUPER high. I rather have a Ferrari 4000 than the T43 at the same price.
Yes !!! Agree with you ... ... Fujitsu looks good but then, one knock and you're gone. For IBM, the cover is very durable and can withstand knocks, light ones la ...Originally posted by FireIce:IBM is not tt expensive lah
cheaper than fujitsu
highest is sony vaio
Convert to the lightOriginally posted by M©+square:Laptops can last up to 5yrs plus if you're treating it well la. Downside is only about non upgradable motherboard and processer.
Actually my problem is not with the laptop. It's with Windows that the unreliable one.![]()
Powerbook it will be.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Convert to the lightBuy a Mac.
Originally posted by ETboy:ibook 12" 1.8k+++
5 yrs? who're you kidding? aside from RAM there is nothing you can upgrade.Originally posted by M©+square:Laptops can last up to 5yrs plus if you're treating it well la. Downside is only about non upgradable motherboard and processer.
5yrs y not? not kidding anyone.Originally posted by BillyBong:5 yrs? who're you kidding? aside from RAM there is nothing you can upgrade.
And yeah the man said home use only....
btw, your windows is the cheong version right? go buy original OEM...
Powerbook!Originally posted by M©+square:Powerbook it will be.
But i have lots of presentation to do. Have to admit that i really like Mac OS but my product knowledge on apple still cannot convince me to switch to the dark side.![]()
lol.. i forgot there was even a benq.. i have the same thoughts as u mcsquareOriginally posted by M©+square:How come BenQ would be more superior when place in comparison with Acer?
Interesting.
Win xp should not be giving u problems as long as you DL Svc pack 2 and add spyware and windoc to protect from internet worms. If you're worried your system has a problem just go to task manager and check CPU % usage.Originally posted by M©+square:5yrs y not? not kidding anyone.
My windows is orignal la.
To think you trust windows so much?![]()
XP SP2 suck, maybe other opinions differs.Originally posted by BillyBong:Win xp should not be giving u problems as long as you DL Svc pack 2 and add spyware and windoc to protect from internet worms. If you're worried your system has a problem just go to task manager and check CPU % usage.
>15% consistently means you may have a virus or worm. Average should only remain at 3-8%. (not including moments when you game)
As for notebooks, statistically speaking only 2 in 10 users survive over 3 yrs without problems (hardware related), so your 5 yrs is rare.
And only 3 in 10 stay faithful to their notebooks for that long (provided their harddisks dun crash), most either migrate to desktop after 2 yrs or upgrade to newer notebooks.
svc pack 1 is very UNSTABLE. If you're not fending off random worm attacks, then you rely heavily on norton / acafee to maintain your system. And you need to DL updates daily.Originally posted by M©+square:XP SP2 suck, maybe other opinions differs.
I'm still with SP1 0 updates because i'm happy with the currrent platform i'm using.
Frankly, both Desktops and notebooks does show problems after 2nd year. Then comes troubleshooting and preventive measures, reformat, scan disk etc etc.
Both desktops and notebooks uses Windows. Still it has similiar problems la.
But if you're trying to tell me that 2 : 1O survived 3yrs with no problems.
We really need to bring out the fact on what the reminding 8 users did to their laptops. Which caused the kaput within 3years.
-The fault doesn't lie with notebook, rather it ends up with consumer/user.
Equally stating this, 5 yrs for a desktop(if we are arguing on 0 defects - Hardwarewise) it is rare too.
3:10 stays faithful - This i have to agree which i'll also have to pull the stats of Desktop users as facts.
Stated was a notebook can last up to 5 years technically.![]()