what is life? idiot....Originally posted by seancannot:Savings - Just sharing my fren case
My fren 35 yrs old has set aside a few type from what he told me
Retrechment saving,Family contingency incase need to hospitalise or funeral ,Future capital investment (set up own business incase retrench),Children Education.
This fren of mine is an accountant so is his wife combined they made 10 K ++ yet they live in a humble fully paid up 4 room flat and dun own a car.. esimated his saving at least 300 K ... he very careful and only allocate a small portion on share investment ...
Frankly, with this kind of wealth I will live it up and buy a nice car to drive rather than squeeze in public transport for 1.5 hour everyday .but he very scrooge ...dun even order drink when go for lunch together he will bring his own water. and he seldom dine at resturant...cos he said waste money .. his TV home appliance also 2nd hand
Guess he is the richest fren I have
lol> Life is all abt saving !!! Save Save Save.. Save all you can!!Originally posted by Glen999:what is life? idiot....
what purpose does it serve having lots of money but not getting to enjoy it? might as well die.Originally posted by seancannot:Savings - Just sharing my fren case
Retrechment saving,Family contingency incase need to hospitalise or funeral ,Future capital investment (set up own business incase retrench),Children Education.
This fren of mine is an accountant so is his wife combined they made 10 K ++ yet they live in a humble fully paid up 4 room flat and dun own a car.. esimated his saving at least 300 K ... he very careful and only allocate a small portion on share investment ...
Frankly, with this kind of wealth I will live it up and buy a nice car to drive rather than squeeze in public transport for 1.5 hour everyday .but he very scrooge ...dun even order drink when go for lunch together he will bring his own water. and he seldom dine at resturant...cos he said waste money .. his TV home appliance also 2nd hand
so that his family and loved ones can have that fun of enjoying it.Originally posted by dragg:what purpose does it serve having lots of money but not getting to enjoy it? might as well die.
yah, but can't say the same in a couple years time.Originally posted by Peppermint:then u are still ok lah ;p
not much financial committments
you mean men don't do it too?Originally posted by mahai102:for girls of course being out of a job is nothing to worry about...in fact i'll quote bear & tell you to "rejoice!" there's always the option of lying on your back in geylang & earning big bucks...tax free some more...great!![]()
One thing I have to say is ur fren really know how to "save"!Originally posted by seancannot:Savings - Just sharing my fren case
Have to understand his background he is from very poor family .... from primary school he is taking on part time job until ROD he studied part time to get his ACCA ... he been thru days where he has no money for meals at all ...which shape his thrify character ... but must say he is abit extreme though..Originally posted by Glen999:what is life? idiot....
haha.. that explains why he's rich and u're not!Originally posted by seancannot:Savings - Just sharing my fren case
well i do admire your fren.The only way i could save during my NSF days was to open another bank account, on the 10th of each mth, i would withdraw half of my allowance and deposit into that bank, than live on the rest of the mth on the remaining amt. Rather suffice for my spending.Originally posted by seancannot:Have to understand his background he is from very poor family .... from primary school he is taking on part time job until ROD he studied part time to get his ACCA ... he been thru days where he has no money for meals at all ...which shape his thrify character ... but must say he is abit extreme though..
I truely agree. Some pple who had been thru the above...will tend to be like that. But not all lah.Originally posted by seancannot:Have to understand his background he is from very poor family .... from primary school he is taking on part time job until ROD he studied part time to get his ACCA ... he been thru days where he has no money for meals at all ...which shape his thrify character ... but must say he is abit extreme though..
Heh. There's being frugal, and there's being a complete cheapskate/freeloader/asshole!Originally posted by one-niner:well i do admire your fren.The only way i could save during my NSF days was to open another bank account, on the 10th of each mth, i would withdraw half of my allowance and deposit into that bank, than live on the rest of the mth on the remaining amt. Rather suffice for my spending.
Being frugal is a virtue, but how you intend to be frugal can be quite an interesting sight. I got this housemate in mel currently.Intially when me and him arrived here to study, we used to do grocery shopping etc, then many a times, he claimed that he didn't withdraw money,so i just paid for the stuff upfront first.then many a times..he would simply forget abt his grcoery stuff and during meal times ( we cook ourselves) he would always be eating the most, literally stuffing himself full.i had to knock on his door frequently to settle the groceries payment with receipts mthly, and he still count count the cents difference i calculated wrongly..then he would lament to us how his parents would remit him a small amt of money per mth and its very hard for him to get by....cutting the long story short, once he tried to claim back trashbag ,toliet paper and washing detergent money from my house residence advisor, even though we agreed upon going room by room buying of such common stuff...
me???? mid twentiesOriginally posted by tokyofire:how old are u now?
most people from my generation are very poor. he is not the only one. i dont save money that day.Originally posted by seancannot:Have to understand his background he is from very poor family .... from primary school he is taking on part time job until ROD he studied part time to get his ACCA ... he been thru days where he has no money for meals at all ...which shape his thrify character ... but must say he is abit extreme though..
I know one true story. The parents save like hell.. exactly like the couples above.Originally posted by seancannot:Have to understand his background he is from very poor family .... from primary school he is taking on part time job until ROD he studied part time to get his ACCA ... he been thru days where he has no money for meals at all ...which shape his thrify character ... but must say he is abit extreme though..
yaya, my parents save alot one, im the one who spend alot oso.Originally posted by Glen999:I know one true story. The parents save like hell.. exactly like the couples above.
When they are old, their children spend like hell.... (because when they were small, their parents were damn stingy)