i think you are wrong.Originally posted by FireIce:depends on organisation bah........
wat line u in?
some boss think hire youngster cheaper.....
seniors tt have experience will be more expensive to employ......
if u dun mind lower pay, boss will be happy.........sad truth.......
u need alotta luck n the right opportunity.......
i thought you just joined a new company... read from your recent posting.Originally posted by seancannot:actually me trying to switch line to do finacial planning with a bank that offers fixed pay... been in the engineering line all the while ... guess i am not going anywhere... so doing a mid career switch ... of cos i could easily join other company but there is no security ... no fixed salary mah..
pls read my post again.Originally posted by dragg:i think you are wrong.
age is a problem nowadays. a lot of white collar workers are without job.
maybe i should rephrase. no disrespect intended.Originally posted by FireIce:pls read my post again.
thank u
you cant be serious? most of my colleagues in their 30s and 40s are very well equipped with computer knowledge. though we are not in IT.Originally posted by BillyBong:Accepting lower pay is an option the potential employer might offer. But in the event they do not mention it, as a prospective candidate, you can suggest this and see if they reconsider.
The main reason i think employers do not look to 30+ year-olds as possible workers is more likely because they pick up slower and cannot adapt to advanced systems easily because they were not born during the computer revolution. Hence their lack of expertise in this area. You can find one that can type and use MS office is very good already.
No offence.
Rubbish!Originally posted by BillyBong:The main reason i think employers do not look to 30+ year-olds as possible workers is more likely because they pick up slower and cannot adapt to advanced systems easily because they were not born during the computer revolution. Hence their lack of expertise in this area. You can find one that can type and use MS office is very good already.
No offence.
my brother, in his late 40s then, makes 7000 a month in sales. his employer recruited a u-grad at half the salary and transferred my brother to the warehouse. the ploy worked. his pride got the better of him and he quitted.Originally posted by av98m:Sadly, ageism is quite rampant in Singapore these days.
It was only some time after I got my current job that I found out that they got rid of my predecessor because they wanted "someone younger". So I guess I'm nearing my expiry date as well!![]()
i m always on a look out for better jobs.... actually one of my fren was doing this... she is gross 6 to 8 k per month .. which actually inspired me loh...Originally posted by dragg:i thought you just joined a new company... read from your recent posting.
am i mistaken?
politics and assholes are everywhere!!!Originally posted by seancannot:i m always on a look out for better jobs.... actually one of my fren was doing this... she is gross 6 to 8 k per month .. which actually inspired me loh...
talk about IT ... a few year back I suggest changing the old DBASe date system to MS Access and I implemented it ... which I think I made everyone life easily... but the older workers resented.... while Access is much user freindy system than the primitive dos based system but they bad mounthed about me ... try to score points ,create trouble .....buay tahan ...I implement to let them keep up with time.... they still find fault with me and complained ...HaiZzz
I think that is a very skewed view of the 30+ workforce.Originally posted by BillyBong:Accepting lower pay is an option the potential employer might offer. But in the event they do not mention it, as a prospective candidate, you can suggest this and see if they reconsider.
The main reason i think employers do not look to 30+ year-olds as possible workers is more likely because they pick up slower and cannot adapt to advanced systems easily because they were not born during the computer revolution. Hence their lack of expertise in this area. You can find one that can type and use MS office is very good already.
No offence.
U did not get buy-in from everyone before implementation. That is why the resistance.Originally posted by seancannot:i m always on a look out for better jobs.... actually one of my fren was doing this... she is gross 6 to 8 k per month .. which actually inspired me loh...
talk about IT ... a few year back I suggest changing the old DBASe date system to MS Access and I implemented it ... which I think I made everyone life easily... but the older workers resented.... while Access is much user freindy system than the primitive dos based system but they bad mounthed about me ... try to score points ,create trouble .....buay tahan ...I implement to let them keep up with time.... they still find fault with me and complained ...HaiZzz
And these pple like to put up a false front of being benign,approachable and helpful ... and they are actually ass ..holes watever you called themOriginally posted by dragg:politics and assholes are everywhere!!!
ok my mistake.Originally posted by dragg:you cant be serious? most of my colleagues in their 30s and 40s are very well equipped with computer knowledge. though we are not in IT.
what you have just said should not be directed at those in their 30s.
actually it depends on the individual.Originally posted by BillyBong:ok my mistake.
It should be directed to 40+ not 30+.![]()
I agree with Dragg... come to think of it I am approaching 40s now already I have problem being employed wat happens wen I m in my 40s ....Originally posted by dragg:actually it depends on the individual.
nothing to do with age.
and i also believe that workers in their early 40s are slow in learning.
i only have this advice for you.Originally posted by seancannot:I agree with Dragg... come to think of it I am approaching 40s now already I have problem being employed wat happens wen I m in my 40s ....
Just wondering wat kinds of skillset will still make us valuable and thus employable at the age of 40 and the contacts we have built up in our industry also counts rite?
Guess tis y pple in the 40s are so insecure abt their jobs... especially when they have hungry mouth to feed ....Originally posted by dragg:i only have this advice for you.
cling on to your job. tie yourself to your table if you have to.![]()
you are in danger zone the minute you reach 40. i am not exaggerating.
too late for me. i am already out of job.Originally posted by seancannot:Guess tis y pple in the 40s are so insecure abt their jobs... especially when they have hungry mouth to feed ....
Dragg the rite way should be GET A 2nd career before its too late ... start planning now .... must anaylise abit .... maybe someone can share their thots here
I think even 30s also got problem liao.Originally posted by dragg:i only have this advice for you.
cling on to your job. tie yourself to your table if you have to.![]()
you are in danger zone the minute you reach 40. i am not exaggerating.