Why do you think it reflects badly on you?Could it be that you have only seen the uncouth speaking and not a urbane, educated person using Hokkien?Originally posted by daphne_1802:i do understand hokien but i dont see myself speaking it as i think it does not reflect well on me
a mirror?Originally posted by ditzy:Tell us, what reflects well on you?![]()
...community of ah bengs and lians.Originally posted by twl89:No....rather like them though....Hokkien gives a sense of homeliness and belonging to the community...
My mum who works with some Chinese nationals from the Fujian province, noted that they still do use Hokkien, not just the Pu Tong Hua everyone have ot learn...Originally posted by guardsmen:In Years come by china is a big market,and u maybe surpise that your boss ask u to learnt hokkien.
india also...![]()
hmm...well on her...how bout a nice trailer trash bimbo wearing nothing but whip cream and cherries?Originally posted by ditzy:Tell us, what reflects well on you?![]()
elegance and class are not brought by wealth.Originally posted by CoolMyth:There are rich people out there who also speak a lot of Hokkien. Does that make them "low class"?
Even Gurkhas know some of the Hokkien and Cantonese expletives.....Originally posted by CoolMyth:Knowing some Hokkien is good, because at least if someone scold you in Hokkien, you will know it.
And also, like to ask "what defines high class or low class"? Money? For the info, I'm thinking why they call money "lui" in Singapore but "ji" in Taiwan....Got different Hokkien meh?
There are rich people out there who also speak a lot of Hokkien. Does that make them "low class"? Of course, if I'm a person with no money but I speak in accented American or British perfect English, does that make me "high class"? Please lah....
You just haven't seen or experienced people scolding vulgar langauges using Hakka, Teochew or Cantonese. That's because the proportion of Hokkiens among the Chinese is the highest among all the dialects, since you considered that most of our forefathers come from Fujian. "Wear your mother's old shoe...." Is it something like that in Cantonese? Paiseh, me Hokkien.
In fact, I think it's bad that nowdays youngsters only know the Hokkien vulgar languages, most of the kids nowadays cannot even hold a proper conversation with the older people in Hokkien......Is there excessive Hokkien? No. Just a lot of Hokkien vulgar language.
I'm using that as an example to clarify what miss or mister or "it" daphne considers as "low class" or "high class". I'm not saying that money is the criteria to decide social class....Originally posted by Mr Fugue:elegance and class are not brought by wealth.![]()
I think even our Muslim and Indian friends also understand what we mean when we say "KNNBCCB" or any other expletives.....but that doesn't mean Hokkien itself is vulgar. It's just a serious misconception that our miss or mister or "it" daphne has....Originally posted by laurence82:Even Gurkhas know some of the Hokkien and Cantonese expletives.....![]()
Social class is decided on your bearing and character.Not always and totally by money and language spoken.It is how you treat others that decides if you belong to a higher class of people.Originally posted by CoolMyth:I'm using that as an example to clarify what miss or mister or "it" daphne considers as "low class" or "high class". I'm not saying that money is the criteria to decide social class....
why so defensive? i dint say anything abt u.Originally posted by CoolMyth:I'm using that as an example to clarify what miss or mister or "it" daphne considers as "low class" or "high class". I'm not saying that money is the criteria to decide social class....
SERIOUSLY, if you're a foreigner, you won't understand what they're saying!Originally posted by daphne_1802:seriously if i am a foreigner and i havent been living in singapore, if i hear someone shouting in hokien, i would think they are scolding me. i choose to stay away as much as possible to ppl in this category
Originally posted by daphne_1802:".....low class are those who has limited vocab and speaks only in hokien, always repeating the same few words that are almost all vulgarities and unplesant words...."
being financially well off does not make u high class. rich ppl can still choose to live in the slums and buy inexpensive stuff instead of enjoying luxurious life that they could afford easily but it has nothing to do with speaking hokien. the group of ppl i think who are truely low class are those who has limited vocab and speaks only in hokien, always repeating the same few words that are almost all vulgarities and unplesant words, if not they sound very rude. why do they want to act like a china man or woman although they are a pure singaporean? some of them even thinks speaking hokien means they are the big boss, they own the school and everything they see. they only know how to talk big.
That's only you.Originally posted by daphne_1802:seriously if i am a foreigner and i havent been living in singapore, if i hear someone shouting in hokien, i would think they are scolding me. i choose to stay away as much as possible to ppl in this category
Am I being defensive? I think you're the only one "over-reacting"....Originally posted by Mr Fugue:why so defensive? i dint say anything abt u.![]()
Har? Since when i said speaking Hokkien reflects badly on me or that Hokkien is a vulgar language by itself?Originally posted by CoolMyth:I think even our Muslim and Indian friends also understand what we mean when we say "KNNBCCB" or any other expletives.....but that doesn't mean Hokkien itself is vulgar. It's just a serious misconception that our miss or mister or "it" daphne has....
Speaking Hokkien reflects bad on you. Ha, I pray that you end up in Fujian someday....![]()
how abt writing a full 10-pg report on social behaviour and conduct a 3-year research as well, boasted with past years' statistics?Originally posted by ditzy:That's only you.To make your hypothesis complete, find another 15 more samples with 98% confidence level.
where got?Originally posted by CoolMyth:Am I being defensive? I think you're the only one "over-reacting"....![]()