English expletives > Hokkien language?Originally posted by daphne_1802:i'd rather english expletives than the hokien language in general. hearing a person speak in hokien can be more offensive than a single vulgarity in the english language. swearing in english does not make u low class. besides that, so what if eminem has explicit lyrics in his songs. he is famous because of that and it is the reason why his records go platinum in such a short time. he is certainly not low class.
Originally posted by daphne_1802:History of the word: "angmo"
if an angmo knows how to speak hokien, he certainly has the brains to act mature enough not to spew hokien vulgarites that are the most hurting, unless neccessary. unlike some singaporean chinese especially who say it on purpose to offend ppl and to 'act' gangster which is uncool and low class. angmo itself is already a hokien word too.
are you sure mr ang mo will have the brains not to spew vulgarites???Originally posted by daphne_1802:if an angmo knows how to speak hokien, he certainly has the brains to act mature enough not to spew hokien vulgarites that are the most hurting, unless neccessary. unlike some singaporean chinese especially who say it on purpose to offend ppl and to 'act' gangster which is uncool and low class. angmo itself is already a hokien word too.
then dun go to school...Originally posted by daphne_1802:i really HATE my school to the core. its infested with hokien speaking gangsters. i used to have a friend who hardly speaks hokien and im going along well with him but not until recently as he became influenced by bad company and started to speak more and more hokien even to the extent of calling me names in hokien. because of this i have severed all ties with him and i have lost a friend. i do not wish to lose more friends
ehh they have alot of cantonese speakers there . . . .you may hear phrases like diu lei lo mo chao hai . . . . . .Originally posted by dragg:why dont you emigrate to UK? nobody speaks hokkien there.
So, I see, your "friend" started to use more hokkien. Did she use "hokkien" to reject you or something? That's why you have this prejudice against the Hokkien language.....?Originally posted by daphne_1802:i really HATE my school to the core. its infested with hokien speaking gangsters. i used to have a friend who hardly speaks hokien and im going along well with him but not until recently as he became influenced by bad company and started to speak more and more hokien even to the extent of calling me names in hokien. because of this i have severed all ties with him and i have lost a friend. i do not wish to lose more friends
why should i? i was a ex-student there but now im stuck in a screwed up jc where almost the entire school is filled with mindless ppl who have less than half a brain. needless to say i regretted going there so ill either quit halfway or quickly get it over and done with. but the problem lies with the ppl there, the school sickness is settling in..Originally posted by laurence82:If u are so capable, go apply for MGS or SCGS lor....
Originally posted by CenturionMBT:ehh they have alot of cantonese speakers there . . . .you may hear phrases like diu lei lo mo chao hai . . . . . .
To say that cursing in English is cooler than vernacular Hokkien puts you in the league of minors.To quote Eminem and Britney Spears shows your ambition to appeal to white trash America and consumerism addled superficial Asians.Originally posted by CoolMyth:English expletives > Hokkien language?
You've seriously failed in life.
What JC is that?Originally posted by daphne_1802:why should i? i was a ex-student there but now im stuck in a screwed up jc where almost the entire school is filled with mindless ppl who have less than half a brain. needless to say i regretted going there so ill either quit halfway or quickly get it over and done with. but the problem lies with the ppl there, the school sickness is settling in..
wah so u are a jc student? and come from mgs?Originally posted by daphne_1802:why should i? i was a ex-student there but now im stuck in a screwed up jc where almost the entire school is filled with mindless ppl who have less than half a brain. needless to say i regretted going there so ill either quit halfway or quickly get it over and done with. but the problem lies with the ppl there, the school sickness is settling in..
50 cent does not speak good english but at least he isnt low class. his rapping skills is comparable to eminem whom i think is better than him. how is 50 cent linked with the speak good english compaignOriginally posted by LazerLordz:To say that cursing in English is cooler than vernacular Hokkien puts you in the league of minors.To quote Eminem and Britney Spears shows your ambition to appeal to white trash America and consumerism addled superficial Asians.
But don't worry too much..PM Lee even quoted 50 cent in his Speak Good English Campaign..i'm sure you can find a job there.
You talking to me? - Batista, WWE Wrestlemania 21 commercialOriginally posted by LazerLordz:To say that cursing in English is cooler than vernacular Hokkien puts you in the league of minors.To quote Eminem and Britney Spears shows your ambition to appeal to white trash America and consumerism addled superficial Asians.
But don't worry too much..PM Lee even quoted 50 cent in his Speak Good English Campaign..i'm sure you can find a job there.
Where're all those "50 cents" posts?Originally posted by daphne_1802:50 cent does not speak good english but at least he isnt low class. his rapping skills is comparable to eminem whom i think is better than him. how is 50 cent linked with the speak good english compaign![]()
i wouldnt want to even think about that. my o level results are fucked up enough for me to choose this thrashy jc that isn't in the top 5. it doesnt matter which jc that is, im positive there are at least three other jcs that are almost or just as bad as mine in this aspect - too many ppl speaking hokien widely. what is worrying is that i will be having my chinese oral exams next week and i'll be hearing more of the cursed hokien language when they 'practice' for the oral examOriginally posted by CoolMyth:What JC is that?![]()
Hmm, poor kentang girl to be stuck in a cheena JC.Originally posted by CoolMyth:What JC is that?![]()
I don't suppose your chinese is A1 standard anyway....Originally posted by daphne_1802:i wouldnt want to even think about that. my o level results are fucked up enough for me to choose this thrashy jc that isn't in the top 5. it doesnt matter which jc that is, im positive there are at least three other jcs that are almost or just as bad as mine in this aspect - too many ppl speaking hokien widely. what is worrying is that i will be having my chinese oral exams next week and i'll be hearing more of the cursed hokien language when they 'practice' for the oral exam
Definitely not ACJC anyway......Originally posted by LazerLordz:I think I know which JC she is referring to.
In day of yore from western shore, Oldham dauntless hero came!Originally posted by CoolMyth:Definitely not ACJC anyway......I'm interested to know....
P.S: I'm a 2 year "ACSian"....If that counts....![]()