Just read an article in the papers about this lady that wanted to renounce Islam to be a Christian.And it seems that Islam is not fair to women in general.Why is that so?Originally posted by sinicker:hi.
Islam is a religion that you can't get out from.
i know it sounds unfair to ask the Chinese guy to switch to Islam but not the gal, but yeah, it's like that.
hi.Originally posted by highway69:Just read an article in the papers about this lady that wanted to renounce Islam to be a Christian.And it seems that Islam is not fair to women in general.Why is that so?
Hi... I never thought this sorta situation occured. I have a number of Malay friends who have Chinese blood but they have never shared such sentiments. They have always felt Malay and never felt out of place among Malays. What are the types of incidents that you have suffered, may i ask?Originally posted by modgurl:Hmm... what about a Malay girl with Chinese blood in her veins? All my life, I feel like I belong nowhere. I don't feel Malay enough to be appreciated by the Malays and I don't feel Chinese enough to be on par with the Chinese!
As I grow older, it annoys the hell out of me when people ask me about my race. I always tell them I'm Singaporean because I feel that race has become over-rated now.
In the past, when I said that I'm Malay, they said that I don't look or think like a Malay and I'd feel insulted. Did it mean that Malays are inferior? When I tell a Malay that I've Chinese blood, he'd give me a look that hints of racism.
Anyway, back to the topic. I've not had any experience being emotionally involved with a Chinese guy although I've had some infatuations before. Sometimes, I wonder if it's because I'm Malay and the myth that if a non-Malay guy wants to get involved with a Malay girl, he has to convert to Muslim. I say it's a myth because I generally don't mix race and religion. Almost all Malays may be born a Muslim but many are non-practising Muslims. But that's another heated debate altogether.
Be yourself gal...Originally posted by modgurl:Hmm... what about a Malay girl with Chinese blood in her veins? All my life, I feel like I belong nowhere. I don't feel Malay enough to be appreciated by the Malays and I don't feel Chinese enough to be on par with the Chinese!
As I grow older, it annoys the hell out of me when people ask me about my race. I always tell them I'm Singaporean because I feel that race has become over-rated now.
In the past, when I said that I'm Malay, they said that I don't look or think like a Malay and I'd feel insulted. Did it mean that Malays are inferior? When I tell a Malay that I've Chinese blood, he'd give me a look that hints of racism.
Anyway, back to the topic. I've not had any experience being emotionally involved with a Chinese guy although I've had some infatuations before. Sometimes, I wonder if it's because I'm Malay and the myth that if a non-Malay guy wants to get involved with a Malay girl, he has to convert to Muslim. I say it's a myth because I generally don't mix race and religion. Almost all Malays may be born a Muslim but many are non-practising Muslims. But that's another heated debate altogether.
or are you just sexist?Originally posted by sinicker:hi.
the article frm which country? singapore? Islam is a religion where in countries like Pakistan and India, the woman is the care-taker of the children and the house. the husband goes to work to earn $ for the family and the wife takes care of the house and the children so that the husband goes back to a clean and neat home. i would call such nations strict Islamic countries.
however, in Singapore, Islam is not practised in such a way. we practise some sort of more progressive Islam that is suited for Singapore. we allow the women to work. however, in mosques still, men and women are separated in the prayer halls(in the US, they're mixed. in the US also, there was once a female US Professor on Islam headed the prayer, which is WRONG). in prayers, men are still the ones who should lead it. soo, i dont know what that lady is not happy with.
imo anyone should be allowed to convert and believe in what they want too and that includes morons like the raelians and mormonsOriginally posted by highway69:Just read an article in the papers about this lady that wanted to renounce Islam to be a Christian.And it seems that Islam is not fair to women in general.Why is that so?
hah. ur inference quite bad. it's just the way it is there and it is practised the way it is there. and the thing is, majority of the women dont mind. but some crooks just take advantage of this and abuse their wives. watch the honour killing of wives in Pakistan on National Geographic?Originally posted by vito_corleone:or are you just sexist?how would you feel if you were an islamic woman living in afghanistan?
woah....Originally posted by sinicker:hah. ur inference quite bad. it's just the way it is there and it is practised the way it is there. and the thing is, majority of the women dont mind. but some crooks just take advantage of this and abuse their wives. watch the honour killing of wives in Pakistan on National Geographic?
true...i strongly agree wit dat...Originally posted by borgkilla:doesnt matter
if love then all can
malay, chinese , indian, caucasian, african, etc etc
Yes the article is from Singapore but the lady sought order to renounce from the high court in KL.Originally posted by sinicker:hi.
the article frm which country? singapore? Islam is a religion where in countries like Pakistan and India, the woman is the care-taker of the children and the house. the husband goes to work to earn $ for the family and the wife takes care of the house and the children so that the husband goes back to a clean and neat home. i would call such nations strict Islamic countries.
however, in Singapore, Islam is not practised in such a way. we practise some sort of more progressive Islam that is suited for Singapore. we allow the women to work. however, in mosques still, men and women are separated in the prayer halls(in the US, they're mixed. in the US also, there was once a female US Professor on Islam headed the prayer, which is WRONG). in prayers, men are still the ones who should lead it. soo, i dont know what that lady is not happy with.
wat talking you.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Im the type who goes into a religious place as and when i like it , i won't go to a religious place just purely based on obligation .
Neither will i want to marry a devout buddhist/christian.
wuah ha ha hahah !Originally posted by crazy monkey:wat talking you.![]()
hahaha ! U go dude !!! Kudos !!!!Originally posted by Hellraiza:i look exactly like a malay dude (i'm indian/chinese) but all my ex girlfriends were chinese...sometimes on the mrt some shithead ah beng will say aloud, "eh charbor, chinese guys not good enough for you meh?" directed at my ex, thinking i couldnt understand...so i just shoot them back in mandarin and enjoy the stunned silence.its not about race, its about attitude.
yup, pretty true.Originally posted by ukdecay:You can say that there are a lot of malays with chinese blood because if u look closely, the singaporean chinese & the malays HAVE THE SAME FEatURES! Only darker skin...
we're all the same. just admit it.
dun anyhow say wait ppl call policeOriginally posted by ukdecay:You can say that there are a lot of malays with chinese blood because if u look closely, the singaporean chinese & the malays HAVE THE SAME FEatURES! Only darker skin...
we're all the same. just admit it.
yah..Agree....but we can't please everyone....Ermm...I'm easy to please....heheheheOriginally posted by ukdecay:Yeah i wish everyone wld stop the whole ang moh, malay indian whatever race thing. Cant we all just treat everyone equal. if u want to be treat equally, u must treat others as ur equal.
WE ARE ALL THE HUMAN RACE.
Originally posted by modgurl:Actually, I don't understand this issue about inter-racial dating. Is it a personal issue or a society's issue? From my point of view, it looks more like a society's issue. If society in general are colour-blind, then inter-racial would be the norm.