I still can't understand the basis for Khaw Boon Wan to say she's mature. In what way was that letter mature?Originally posted by soloken:He said Mr Durai's daughter, a junior college student who is mature for her age, had emailed the Prime Minister.
dun think so. cos durian mentioned he got director post in other companies... and the former nkf board dun care if he is moonlighting or notOriginally posted by seancannot:I beleive now YOU get to see your dad everyday rite????
or its the same old trick again... getting someone to seek sympathy for him again... same trick he used for all nkf campaignsOriginally posted by Zooish:I still can't understand the basis for Khaw Boon Wan to say she's mature. In what way was that letter mature?
To me, the letter showed how spoilt her daughter is, whining away to the PM like an immature b!tch.
Maybe her dad didn't give her enough peanuts to stuff her big mouth.![]()
Originally posted by soloken:i wonder wats the intention of Khaw bringing out the letter in the first place.
TT Durai's daughter appeals to PM Lee to help restore her father's honour
SINGAPORE : The daughter of TT Durai, the former CEO of the National Kidney Foundation, has appealed to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong to help restore her father's honour and reputation if a review of the NKF shows there have not been any wrongdoings.
Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan disclosed this in Parliament on Thursday.
Mr Khaw, who was responding to points made by MPs over the two days of debate, had urged the House to also look at the issue from the perspective of Mr Durai's family.
He said Mr Durai's daughter, a junior college student who is mature for her age, had emailed the Prime Minister.
Saying she was adversely affected by the fiasco, she wrote: "Since I was young, my father had very little time to spend with usÂ…I always asked myself why my father had no time for us. Were we less important to him than his patients? Was his work more important than us?"
And she went on to ask Mr Lee, "After the review by the new board, you will help him to restore his reputation and honour, if no wrong doings were found?"
Mr Khaw said Mr Durai's achievements for the NKF were real and significant.
But ego and arrogance could have gone to his head, leading to poor judgement and insensitivity.
Mr Khaw cautioned, "I think there are lessons for us here. No matter how great our achievements are, we live for others. Look at the late Mr Hon Sui Sen. There was no ego in the man. He completely personified humility.
"Likewise the late President Wee Kim Wee and hence the huge outpouring of emotions at his funeral. President S.R. Nathan is another such humble man who has done great for society, but remains his past self."
Mr Khaw also had a word of caution for other players in the NKF saga.
He said, "I scanned through the local media today. I could not help noticing the different spin The Straits Times put to the MPs' speeches yesterday, compared to all the other local media, like TODAY and ZaoBao. Let us hope arrogance has not also gone to the head of the victor in the Court case." - CNA/de
[b]The question is does he deserve it...BIG EGO and lack of HUMANITY!!![/b]
precisely......i am really annoyed by the contents of the letter.....the girl has the cheek to voice out that justice must be given back to her father......f you......so what she had not been seeing much of her father since young......every parents are working hard working long hours to make ends meet.........so what makes her differences.......Originally posted by Zooish:I still can't understand the basis for Khaw Boon Wan to say she's mature. In what way was that letter mature?
To me, the letter showed how spoilt her daughter is, whining away to the PM like an immature b!tch.
Maybe her dad didn't give her enough peanuts to stuff her big mouth.![]()
Where got old trick? Now he's getting his daughter to do it, not the Mediacorp artistes leh.Originally posted by Axelheat755:or its the same old trick again... getting someone to seek sympathy for him again... same trick he used for all nkf campaigns![]()
buey sian ar?![]()
To show that he's working?Originally posted by crazy monkey:i wonder wats the intention of Khaw bringing out the letter in the first place.
the tool is diff but the style is the sameOriginally posted by Honeybunz:Where got old trick? Now he's getting his daughter to do it, not the Mediacorp artistes leh.
Originally posted by Axelheat755:the tool is diff but the style is the same![]()
dun wnt lah.....later davinder will be handling the case again......ahd she will be drilled by him until she lose very badly....not very good for her career....lose big time on her first case.......Originally posted by Deportivo:to be fair to Ms Durai, since she in JC (and a good one, i reckon), she would be at a good foundation in gain entrance to a law school in university (Ivy league, Cambridge, Oxford, etc)
if she really wants to restore honour to his father, do it in 6 years time when he gets her Bar and re-open the case again and she act as her father's lawyer.
I hope she will find out as mush worms as discovered by Davinder. She shall realise the importance of shutting her big gap.
Ok time to own up.Originally posted by Kohi:Pls give Mr. TT Durai and his daughter a break. You guys must also be fair and try to understand his daugther's side of the story, very pitiful. So dun ever again compare your salary to his. He work veri veri hard for his peanuts, even sacrificed the time for his family, definitly he deserve much much more.
Also it is a fact that each of us only donated a few dollars, but he alone is responsible for million of dollars donation for NKF. Becoz of his good leadership and performance, the credit should rightfully be his. We should acknowledge his reputation and honour he deserved. Not forgetting he fought hard to protect NKF and would sue anyone who threaten it's welfare and reputation. Wan't it a honourable deed.
Lastly again, we should be focusing these facts in a *more *positive manner. He did saved the lifes of about 2000 + or - patients, correct? We must learn to see and hear only the good news, then we wouldn't be so dulan. In this way we can live happier and healthier and even become younger.
So pple here pls try to be more cheery, dulan too much is also veri bad for your kidneys, so be carefully.
Durai, may God have mercy on you soul, peace on you.
True horOriginally posted by ah_suaiz:dun wnt lah.....later davinder will be handling the case again......ahd she will be drilled by him until she lose very badly....not very good for her career....lose big time on her first case.......
anyway, judging from her short sightedness iand the depth she understands from this case i reckon she is not very intelligent...dun seem to me that she is frm a top jc.....![]()
An analogy...Originally posted by Kohi:Pls give Mr. TT Durai and his daughter a break. You guys must also be fair and try to understand his daugther's side of the story, very pitiful. So dun ever again compare your salary to his. He work veri veri hard for his peanuts, even sacrificed the time for his family, definitly he deserve much much more.
Also it is a fact that each of us only donated a few dollars, but he alone is responsible for million of dollars donation for NKF. Becoz of his good leadership and performance, the credit should rightfully be his. We should acknowledge his reputation and honour he deserved. Not forgetting he fought hard to protect NKF and would sue anyone who threaten it's welfare and reputation. Wan't it a honourable deed.
Lastly again, we should be focusing these facts in a *more *positive manner. He did saved the lifes of about 2000 + or - patients, correct? We must learn to see and hear only the good news, then we wouldn't be so dulan. In this way we can live happier and healthier and even become younger.
So pple here pls try to be more cheery, dulan too much is also veri bad for your kidneys, so be carefully.
Wow. that's a good oneOriginally posted by waitrose:An analogy...
Once upon a time, I went to NKF and gave them a cheque of $1000 as a donation. I deposit the cheque into the donation box. Then I noticed on the reception table a copy of the current issue of Straits Times. I realised I have not read it yet and since I am rushing for time, I don't have the time to sit at the reception area to read. So I just took the newspaper out of NKF and read it in the MRT.
Ok. Am I right to do that? Is it 'honourable' of me to do that? I just donated $1000. So what is one copy of the Straits Times? Does donating $1000 give me the right to do that?
No doubt Durai did a lot for NKF. But that does not give him the right to 'misuse' the money for other 'luxurious' and 'extravagent' things.
As for his daughter, she felt that her father was treated unfairly by the public in general since he did many great things for NKF. On the other hand, did she ever realise that the public also feel that their donations from their hard-earned salary are being treated 'unfairly' by Durai?
FASLE...!!! It is not him who save the patient, IT IS THE DONORS!!!Originally posted by Kohi:Lastly again, we should be focusing these facts in a *more *positive manner. He did saved the lifes of about 2000 + or - patients, correct? We must learn to see and hear only the good news, then we wouldn't be so dulan. In this way we can live happier and healthier and even become younger.
So pple here pls try to be more cheery, dulan too much is also veri bad for your kidneys, so be careful.
and the staff & volunteersOriginally posted by soloken:FASLE...!!! It is not him who save the patient, IT IS THE DONORS!!!
Originally posted by Kohi:This is called escapism, not facing up to reality.
Lastly, we should stay narrowly focused to these facts in a *more *positive manner. He did saved the lifes of about 2000 + or - patients, correct? So we must learn to see and hear only the good news, then we wouldn't be so dulan. In this way we can live happier and healthier and even become younger.
So pple here pls try to be more cheery, dulan too much is also veri bad for your kidneys, so be careful.
Durai, may God have mercy on your soul, peace on you.
A golden tapOriginally posted by Redz:btw, if we wanna show our support, is there a 1900 no. to call? and are there any lucky-draw prizes to come with it?![]()