Student volunteers abused, flag day sales fall by 30% afterwonder why it's called "sales"... hmmm...
they had too much money for their retirement mah...Originally posted by rainee:So sad...I remembered when I was still in high school, I had to go from house to house asking for donations, and people's generosity at that time always surprised me...I chatted with an old couple for a while last time and they gave me 50!
and what's more, got some idiot devotees also transfer a part of their salaries to the church funds lehz....Originally posted by coffeeortea:i find all those stuff a waste of time.. and churches have enough money to loan nkf and other charities.. churches in singapore have money for missionaries to other countries.. but they dont have money to help needy singaporeans
U muz know tat christianity emphasize on number, they like to play number game. The more the marrier...Originally posted by coffeeortea:i find all those stuff a waste of time.. and churches have enough money to loan nkf and other charities.. churches in singapore have money for missionaries to other countries.. but they dont have money to help needy singaporeans
the govt should make nkf cough out the reserves and distribute 75% of it to other needy charities.Originally posted by Lethargic@@:go n ask NKF for $$$? Since they have a peanutful of reserves anyways![]()
after 30 years we found that you used the church funds to buy dzi beads.Originally posted by Mr Fugue:seems like these days the profitable businesses are:Charity Organisations
Churches
I'm still thinking of starting my own church, called "St. Fugue Church". forumites, pls sarport.![]()
*Sssshhhh!!!!* dun say out my plan lah u!!!Originally posted by dragg:after 30 years we found that you used the church funds to buy dzi beads.
The most clever ones uses glue at tip of satay sticks to stuck the notes from the can into their own wallets.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Those are the stupid ones. The clever ones all go Mac, BK, KFC eat and stay there till time's up.
I did flag day only once. Remembered the inital awkwardness, but just toughen my skin and keep approaching every uncle, auntie, gin na, couples, chio bu, chao ah beng to donate......talk until my saliva dry up.my condolences to you...![]()
Originally posted by Mr Fugue:my condolences to you...![]()
I used to do that in sec sch at every flag day, good bonus on top of my pocket money...Originally posted by elektra:hey good idea! never thought of the satay stick method earlier...
Those are sales personnel....they sell "donation tickets". Their are based on this system in which Out of $5, $1 goes to their pocket, $2.5 goes to the company that "initiated this fund raising" and the other $1.5 goes to the charity.Originally posted by leddy:u all got encounter guys very well dressed, shirt, tie, pants in orchard, around hmv collecting donations for some never heard b4 charity or those rather low profile ones, i dont know, all i know is i never heard b4 those charities... u think these guys are legit or not? anyone any experiece?
Originally posted by Mr Fugue:Because the students are selling flags. Nothing wrong with that. The money from the flags goes to the charities. But you cant trust some of these student.
[b]wonder why it's called "sales"... hmmm...[/b]
as bonus to top up their pocket money mah, also as salary for standing the whole day...Originally posted by shade343:I have PERSONALLY WITNESS SOME OF THESE FUCKING STUDENTS PILFER MONEY OUT OF THE TIN CANS!!!![]()