We shall wait and see...Originally posted by ditzy:Do you want to be able to get into local uni the easy or hard way?
Esp ladies... guys chin chyeOriginally posted by Gordonator:just make sure u have a large wardrobe if u want to go poly.![]()
THx 20XOriginally posted by R3SsH|n:well...have to see your interest lohz...if u really prefer structured studies...better to go to JC...but flexibility is your game...den of cos poly...but one important thing is that which system u think u can adapt to more easily...the "start at 7 and finish at 5" or the "start at 8/9 and finish whenever you like"...somemore you have to think about things JC and Poly students do...JC students have lots of those mindless community work like CIP lahz...Founder's day lah...all sorts of celebration...sometimes its pretty waste of time...but poly is really more flexible...we have all sorts of activities u can want...food fest...gallery...sell things...shows...concerts...all kinds of things...so if its wat u really like...den join Poly ba....
lolz...but most important thing...do your best for O level den start to contemplate where u wanna go...![]()
pls do your homework..the A levels are not recognised by many top US universities as a valid university entry pass..only high SAT grades push up your chances of getting into a US university.Originally posted by finance_geek:Too many people here are slagging JCs for my liking.
Listen out,the top top brains in Singapore are JC educated.Its a fact,don't dispute it.By going to poly at such a young age isnt good because it doesnt instill the discipline in you like JC does.Very few poly students know how to behave themselves.
Its also a fact that MOST,not all,are people who coulnt qualify to go to a JC.They're sore about it and sulk abt it on sgforums.
The worst was one bloke who was comparing the 2yr jc plus 4 yrs uni with 3yrs poly diploma.What an idiot.Dont you relise that the person who takes the 1st route has higher social standing than you.Get a life!You wana stay in a useless HDB all your life?
So what if a diploma allows you to work.Work in some s.h.itty job and take orders from uni grads?What good is that in life.A diploma by itself is as wrothless as an "A" level cert by itself in the long run,thats if you have high ambitions in life and not those lowly ones like "SIgn on regular".
Be practical,take the route(JC) where getting into uni is the easiest.,local or abroad.Even with a diploma,you cant go to top unis abroad like Michigan etc.You'll end up in mediocre Aussie unis.Only an 'A" level+SAT gets you to top top unis in the US.
Having been thru it,listen to what Ive just said.It'll end up shaping your future.
the average salary of a harvard/yale/nyu business school grad was US$11,000 per month whereas the average salary for an NUS business grad was only S$2500 a month..notice the hge difference?Originally posted by finance_geek:Yeh what faculty was that grad?Arts,sciences?Those are useless facs.
Go check the employment rate for medicine,law,accountancy,business(with honors).There are earning big big bucks under 30 years old.Almost 100% got jobs within 3 months of graduating.About 70% even before.
My friend's earning 9k after 2 yrs working experience with accountancy degree.What does the poly grad earn?1/3 max.
my tuition teacher was from rjc..my jc lecturer was from hwa chong..Originally posted by finance_geek:If in your JC,the top students end up as tuition teachers,you must be from outside the "top 5",some really screwed up neighbourhood JC.
Only the "top 5" qualify as good JCs.The rest are for idiots to make the top 5 students look smart.
The poly students are even bigger idiots,the followed by ITE.
Thats life!!Accept it.
$2.5 k is a starting pay btw. Unless you mean that US$11,000 is their starting pay over there, which i think it's very unlikely. My friend studying Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) at US Berkeley(2nd in Engineering in the US btw) told me that the starting pay for them is about US$4000-5000 only. But that is not discounting the fact of the high cost(at least twice of SG) of living plus the high cost of health services, high insurance premiums and high taxes over there (30+% while most Singaporeans hardly pay any tax at all).Originally posted by vito_corleone:the average salary of a harvard/yale/nyu business school grad was US$11,000 per month whereas the average salary for an NUS business grad was only S$2500 a month..notice the hge difference?i have serious doubts about NUS claiming to be a good business school when singaporeans are such idiots when it comes to business.
r u sure?Originally posted by teekh:while most Singaporeans hardly pay any tax at all).
The first $20k of what you earn in a year is not even liable for taxes. The next $20k is only taxed at 4.75% only fyi. And 30+% of your income to your CPF contribution is also tax-exempted. Even after counting your property tax and water conservation tax and all, it's not even significant. That's unless you smoke or wanna have a car(quite needless for most pple IMHO)....Originally posted by Mr Fugue:r u sure?
tell that to singaporeans...Originally posted by teekh:The first $20k of what you earn in a year is not even liable for taxes. The next $20k is only taxed at 4.75% only fyi. And 30% of your CPF contribution is also tax-exempted. Even after counting your property tax and water conservation tax and all, it's not even significant. That's unless you smoke or wanna have a car(quite needless for most pple IMHO)....
Teachers (grad) earn on average at least $5k a month fyi....I wouldn't even say most JC student(not even to say TOP) end up as teachers. Otherwise you'll see everyone in NIE and not in other faculties in NUS/NTU liaoz....Originally posted by vito_corleone:pls do your homework..the A levels are not recognised by many top US universities as a valid university entry pass..only high SAT grades push up your chances of getting into a US university.you sure all the top brains go to jc?
when i's in jc i only saw naive teen idiots
many top jc students end up as teachers and tuition teachers or just office workers making 2000 SGD a month...
That's because people just like to complain and always think the grass is greener on the other side. Make them emigrate to US(esp when they have low qualificationS) or even Oz then they know...Originally posted by Mr Fugue:tell that to singaporeans...
"Are we paying too little taxes?"
some countries' citizens no need to pay tax at all lehz...Originally posted by teekh:That's because people just like to complain and always think the grass is greener on the other side. Make them emigrate to US(esp when they have low qualificationS) or even Oz then they know...![]()
like? HK...or Ireland, or some Scandinavian nations? Singapore's tax is actually 3rd lowest in the world...Originally posted by Mr Fugue:some countries' citizens no need to pay tax at all lehz...![]()
Yah hor, beggars also no need to pay tax, how nice of gahmen...Originally posted by teekh:A lot of Singaporeans also pay no income tax at all(ie my own mother)...