isn't it obvious that pro-catholic statements will start gunning out of their mouths?Originally posted by laurence82:doesnt matter
let see what honeybunzie and mr bach got to say abt it
i had this exact talk with honeybunz some time ago
Even the Muslims are divided in two groups, Sunnis and ShiTTe, and the only few times they are hostile to one another is like for example, show in Iraq.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:CHC ppl sux... Even my christian friends from other church also hate them. But i dunno why churches also hate each other even though same religion.
Originally posted by Honeybunz:martin luther, and no this is not froma protestant's point of view but from a logical point of view. he was the first one to question the decadent and often unjust practises of the church and dared to stand up to the oppressive authority thereby initiating a series of englightenment across europe, no more were the peasants and laymen kept in the dark and oppressed..now they could think and read various works that were previously witheld from them by figures who manipulated these material for their own selfish purposes.
Let's name some good Christians.
I shall start.
[b]Mother Theresa.
She dedicated every day of her adult life caring for "The dying, the cripple, the mentally ill, the unwanted, the unloved" and she loved every minute of it because she was loving, she was cleaning, feeding "Jesus in disguise".
Yes, she fed them, sheltered them, cleaned their wounds, but what is more important she made them feel good, loved, wanted, she gave them back their dignity that poverty had taken away from them and even if they died they died with a smile on their face....somebody loves them, somebody cares for them ...
thats what i hope even the extremist christians would think over....Originally posted by vito_corleone:isn't it obvious that pro-catholic statements will start gunning out of their mouths?each is entitled to their own beliefs, i to mine, theirs to them. yours to you.
have a mind of your own, think, question..don't follow rules blindly.
you dont have to leave your brains outside when you go to church, God gave you a brain, use it wisely.Originally posted by laurence82:thats what i hope even the extremist christians would think over....
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Err i think this is really unnecessary.
Let's name some good Christians.
I shall start.
[b]Mother Theresa.
She dedicated every day of her adult life caring for "The dying, the cripple, the mentally ill, the unwanted, the unloved" and she loved every minute of it because she was loving, she was cleaning, feeding "Jesus in disguise".
Yes, she fed them, sheltered them, cleaned their wounds, but what is more important she made them feel good, loved, wanted, she gave them back their dignity that poverty had taken away from them and even if they died they died with a smile on their face....somebody loves them, somebody cares for them ...
for once i do somewhat agree with honeybunz's post..mother theresa was indeed unselfish and good hearted, free from the evils of wealth, organised religion and politics.Originally posted by M©+square:Err i think this is really unnecessary.
.......let's wait for the next one.Originally posted by vito_corleone:for once i do somewhat agree with honeybunz's post..mother theresa was indeed unselfish and good hearted, free from the evils of wealth, organised religion and politics.![]()
Actually not necessary different denominations are hostile to one another.Originally posted by laurence82:Even the Muslims are divided in two groups, Sunnis and ShiTTe, and the only few times they are hostile to one another is like for example, show in Iraq.
Sadly, Christianity is divided into so many denominations, and a lot are quite divided, to some extent, hostile to one another....
I just finished reading a book on cults
The divide started even as the Catholic Church was founded.
siam for wad? stay and readOriginally posted by M©+square:.......let's wait for the next one.
MC siam.
heheheh just wanna switch the topic to something more lighthearted and positive.Originally posted by M©+square:Err i think this is really unnecessary.
I know la.Originally posted by Honeybunz:heheheh just wanna switch the topic to something more lighthearted and positive.![]()
maybe because most europeans are actually lukewarm Christians?Originally posted by Honeybunz:Actually not necessary different denominations are hostile to one another.
The first division took place around the 10-11th century when the church was divided into Eastern Church and Western Church. The Eastern Church is now what we called the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Western Church is the Catholic Church which has later on, in 15th century, further divided into Catholics and Protestants.
Generally, the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Catholics are quite friendly with each other cuz 99% of the teachings are similar. Catholics are also allowed to attend Mass & receive holy communion at Orthodox Churches. At certain point, during Pope John Paul II's time, these two denominations even talked about merging back into one Church.
Spoke with a number of Protestant ang moh friends from Europe. They totally have no problem with Catholics even though the C/P division sprang out from there. I guess it's only this part of the world that the various denominations are still not happy with one another.![]()
You have not heard of the Montanists, Arianism, the Gnostics, Manichaens and so on? The first was the Montanists, who appeared only 156 years after the death of christOriginally posted by Honeybunz:Actually not necessary different denominations are hostile to one another.
The first division took place around the 10-11th century when the church was divided into Eastern Church and Western Church. The Eastern Church is now what we called the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Western Church is the Catholic Church which has later on, in 15th century, further divided into Catholics and Protestants.
Generally, the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Catholics are quite friendly with each other cuz 99% of the teachings are similar. Catholics are also allowed to attend Mass & receive holy communion at Orthodox Churches. At certain point, during Pope John Paul II's time, these two denominations even talked about merging back into one Church.
Spoke with a number of Protestant ang moh friends from Europe. They totally have no problem with Catholics even though the C/P division sprang out from there. I guess it's only this part of the world that the various denominations are still not happy with one another.![]()
with so much nonsense going on there like legalizing drugs i can see why the europeans are on friendly relations with each other..they're a dying continent who cares not about anything except decadence.Originally posted by laurence82:You have not heard of the Montanists, Arianism, the Gnostics, Manichaens and so on? The first was the Montanists, who appeared only 156 years after the death of christ
Well, of couse when i speak of the divide, i wasnt referring to the relationship between the eastern orthodox and the roman catholic church, the more tenancious one is the one between the catholics and the prostestants
eh, europeans dont have problems? then wad abt Northern Ireland?
I know the French are. The strange thing is they still claim to profess the faith. Heard that their churches are always empty.Originally posted by vito_corleone:maybe because most europeans are actually lukewarm Christians?the eastern orthodox church and the roman church will probably never merge. why? politics. when they merge, who will hold absolute power? the pope of rome or the eastern orthodox patriach?
I think the similarity is being the conservativeness of these two churches, plus Lutheran being the first Prostestant church, they would have borne some of the catholics teachingsOriginally posted by Honeybunz:I know the French are. The strange thing is they still claim to profess the faith. Heard that their churches are always empty.
My friends are Germans. Not sure if they are lukewarm, but they still go to church on Sundays. They told me that whenever they are here in Singapore, they attend Catholic Church instead. They say the Catholic Church here in some ways are quite similar to Lutheran Church in Europe, so they feel more comfortable.
obviously they're probably not very strict lutherans because well...as we know lutherans and catholics are traditional arch enemies.Originally posted by Honeybunz:I know the French are. The strange thing is they still claim to profess the faith. Heard that their churches are always empty.
My friends are Germans. Not sure if they are lukewarm, but they still go to church on Sundays. They told me that whenever they are here in Singapore, they attend Catholic Church instead. They say the Catholic Church here in some ways are quite similar to Lutheran Church in Europe, so they feel more comfortable.
That is just a small part mah. Besides, that one is more political than religious. I bet those ppl don't even remember to attend church on Sundays.Originally posted by laurence82:You have not heard of the Montanists, Arianism, the Gnostics, Manichaens and so on? The first was the Montanists, who appeared only 156 years after the death of christ
Well, of couse when i speak of the divide, i wasnt referring to the relationship between the eastern orthodox and the roman catholic church, the more tenancious one is the one between the catholics and the prostestants
eh, europeans dont have problems? then wad abt Northern Ireland?
well they are entitled to their beliefs and you to yours and i to mine. even if they wanna attend mormon temples..can yous top them?Originally posted by Honeybunz:That is just a small part mah. Besides, that one is more political than religious. I bet those ppl don't even remember to attend church on Sundays.Also used to hang around with this Irish nun who told me the political history of Ireland and UK. Based on what she told me, the conflict is not just because Catholics dun like Protestants or vice versa. This probably only plays a small part of it.
My finnish friends from Lappeenranta (dunno whether spelling correct or not) always travel around Europe and they attend Catholic Church whenever they are in Italy, Spain or any Catholic countries. They also have no problem leh. And many other examples lor.
Big enuff. Who says religious divide is purely spiritual issue? Its still a divide, using religions as the reason or cover up.Thats why i mentioned that the Anglicans beginnings are quite funny...Originally posted by Honeybunz:That is just a small part mah. Besides, that one is more political than religious. I bet those ppl don't even remember to attend church on Sundays.Also used to hang around with this Irish nun who told me the political history of Ireland and UK. Based on what she told me, the conflict is not just because Catholics dun like Protestants or vice versa. This probably only plays a small part of it.
My finnish friends from Lappeenranta (dunno whether spelling correct or not) always travel around Europe and they attend Catholic Church whenever they are in Italy, Spain or any Catholic countries. They also have no problem leh. And many other examples lor.