Did they pay u to say all this??Originally posted by JackOT:Hehe, I cap the word waste because some anti NS guy asked why I never defend myself. I thought it will be good to emphasize on the waste since he feels protecting the country is a 'waste' of time.
BTW, I don't feel I'm wasting my time right now. It's for a good cause. =)
I served NS liao leh. But I dun think its a waste of time..Originally posted by laurence82:gals who dont serve NS shouldnt comment on things they couldnt see inside NS
we thought we go serve our nation, end up we also serve the bureaucracy, so serving the bureaucracy is noble, spending time trying to fight off idiotioc superiros instead of spending more time training up noble?
care to explain?Originally posted by depressed:after all mindef always remind us that it is always very concerned abt nsmen welfare...hah i recently develop a medical condition and the letter states that mindef will pay for the consultation but refuses to pay for the medication/operation once my condition is diagnosed...go figure
x 2. Depressed, care to share?Originally posted by PMLEE:care to explain?![]()
unfortunately unless you are able to prove that statement and also that without ns htey will look backwards and are childish your argument is seriously absurd.Originally posted by k4korny:I served NS liao leh. But I dun think its a waste of time..![]()
It's a well-known fact that guys who come out of 2-yrs of NS are more matured and forward thinking. If 2 years can help ppl grow up so much, then it's not a waste of time rite?
i agree with u. i was once a shy person who don't dare to speak up before NS. after entering NS, i learnt to speak up more, be more confident of myself, learning to work as a team instead of being self-centered, take responsibilities and discipline.Originally posted by k4korny:I served NS liao leh. But I dun think its a waste of time..![]()
It's a well-known fact that guys who come out of 2-yrs of NS are more matured and forward thinking. If 2 years can help ppl grow up so much, then it's not a waste of time rite?
I think you 're a little confused here.Originally posted by JackOT:Patriotism is love and love cannot be taught, it can only be cultivated. I feel that our citizens lack of identity, we feel inferior because our country is small and we must be mindful not to offend other nations. However we must admit that we are part of the country and people carry the identity of the country. If all of us love Singapore, can you imagine how great this nation will become? Even great nations like U.S., Britain will admire our country.
+1Originally posted by nomood:I think you 're a little confused here.
Patriotism and NS are mutually exclusive. One can love Singapore, and willingly make whatever sacrifices that the country asks of him, but that still does not prevent him from thinking it's a bloody waste of time.
I wouldn't presume to know what makes a nation tick and what makes a nation great, but I shouldn't think that it's the citizen's love for the country. By your argument, Al Qaeda members love their cause with a *passion*, but that does not mean that we look up to them.
It's blind faith that makes some people immature and silly.
Personally, I for one, think that asking for 2/1/2 years in one of the prime period of my life can genuinely equate to a fucking waste of my time. But that does not mean that I didn't enjoy NS, nor do I think that it's a bad idea. I just feel very handicapped by the fact that my peers who did not have to serve NS have moved much faster ahead of me, and *especially* handicapped by the fact that foreign nationals my age would have had graduated and most likely have worked for 2-3 years by the time i graduate. These are the people that I compete/have to compete with in the same job market.
btw, you claim that your english is poor. then might i suggest to you that you find some other ways to articulate yourself better? largely because forummers can only reply to what they read, and personally i think you are coming across as someone who's very juvenile in terms of maturity.
uh huh.... so now they refuse to pay what you're entitled for such as all the consultation and investigative fees?Originally posted by depressed:eh the letter goes by something like this:
1.This document certifies that the above-mentioned is presently under review to determine his medical fitness for Full-time National Service.
2.MINDEF/SAF would only pay for all consultation and investigative fees up to the point of diagnosis.This WILL NOT INCLUDE the cost of treatment and medication that is dispensed subsequent to the diagnosis of his condition...
blah blah
The importance of NS is not caring about your welfare or the law, erm that is currently out of topic. While I sympathise whatever case you had, NS is still not a bad thing even due to your case! We need to be a little less self-centred. Foreign talents? It's really a grey area, while we need talents and still need to satisfy people like you. We need politicians who can solve problems! Not people who just cry out problems and wait for answers, because we already knew the problems. I won't stop you if you think your suggestions(laws) are not even ridiculous. If you think it's feastible, why not suggest to any MP? Otherwise you are just sitting back and not doing anything constructive for OUR country. Infringing some copyrightsOriginally posted by depressed:pass a law than ensures all singaporean males serving ns get jobs priority before passing unwanted jobs to sg females and then foreigners.Chase out the so called 'foreign talents' which = construction workers,e.t.c..after all mindef always remind us that it is always very concerned abt nsmen welfare...hah i recently develop a medical condition and the letter states that mindef will pay for the consultation but refuses to pay for the medication/operation once my condition is diagnosed...go figure
oh and also pass a law that states that all sg women must bear at least 2 babies within a certain period of time otherwise they will face jail term and a fine
otherwise some ppl should watch their words before shooting their mouth off
Very easy. Just complain to big guys.Originally posted by depressed:eh...read carefully about my post...i stated that mindef would not pay for my MEDICATION...not CONSULTATION....it's easy to figure out what i am implying....unless you are dumb
NOW, who's talking man.. PMLEE leh.Originally posted by PMLEE:Shall we have a vote count? lai..lai who wana start 1st?![]()
It's the most conveninent way for me to express my thoughts, I won't get published on ST. LOL It's the same argument, we shouldn't be too self-centred. You find it waste of time because it takes away your prime and you lag behind your peers. In a whole picture, NS brought security and economic stability, hence MNCs are still coming into Singapore. Thus generating more jobs, economic still having healthy growth. In whole, Singaporeans benefit indirectly. To serve NS is a noble thing, we are protecting the land our forefathers left and securing the future for generations to come.Originally posted by nomood:I think you 're a little confused here.
Patriotism and NS are mutually exclusive. One can love Singapore, and willingly make whatever sacrifices that the country asks of him, but that still does not prevent him from thinking it's a bloody waste of time.
I wouldn't presume to know what makes a nation tick and what makes a nation great, but I shouldn't think that it's the citizen's love for the country. By your argument, Al Qaeda members love their cause with a *passion*, but that does not mean that we look up to them.
It's blind faith that makes some people immature and silly.
Personally, I for one, think that asking for 2/1/2 years in one of the prime period of my life can genuinely equate to a fucking waste of my time. But that does not mean that I didn't enjoy NS, nor do I think that it's a bad idea. I just feel very handicapped by the fact that my peers who did not have to serve NS have moved much faster ahead of me, and *especially* handicapped by the fact that foreign nationals my age would have had graduated and most likely have worked for 2-3 years by the time i graduate. These are the people that I compete/have to compete with in the same job market.
btw, you claim that your english is poor. then might i suggest to you that you find some other ways to articulate yourself better? largely because forummers can only reply to what they read, and personally i think you are coming across as someone who's very juvenile in terms of maturity.
The importance of NS is not caring about your welfare or the law, erm that is currently out of topic. While I sympathise whatever case you had, NS is still not a bad thing even due to your case! We need to be a little less self-centred. Foreign talents? It's really a grey area, while we need talents and still need to satisfy people like you. We need politicians who can solve problems! Not people who just cry out problems and wait for answers, because we already knew the problems. I won't stop you if you think your suggestions(laws) are not even ridiculous. If you think it's feastible, why not suggest to any MP? Otherwise you are just sitting back and not doing anything constructive for OUR country. Infringing some copyrightsfirst of all my topic was related was related to NS, and NS is related to the law itself...as for welfare it is a must, just as a minister always try to explain why they shld be paid high salaries for serving the country. It is ridiculous to say i am out of topic.
Originally posted by BÃ¥seline:NOW, who's talking man.. PMLEE leh.![]()
Orh.. u die liao. I din say PAP horOriginally posted by depressed:oh btw how much did PAP pay you to say this? i also wanna join!
Worse come to worse, write to Mindef big guys. These big shots, though big shots, they are afraid of the grievances of we normal citizens.haha i am just curious Honeybunz. Mind if i ask have you served NS or are you a girl? I don't even want to go into details about this thing. Most nsguys who have done ns can tell you what's gonna happen when you do that.
i gues the key word is total so you feel its a waste of time too, you may have gained something out of it but you feel its still far from balancing out the time wastedOriginally posted by edLow:although i yet not finish my service... i find it's not really a total waste of time.. wat i learnt frm army is tat, beside the 2 yrs++ i waste, i learnt how to tackle problem and handle unreasonable ppls whom just noe how to charge here... charge there... sign here... sign there... arrow here.... arrow there.... throw rank here n there... oh yes.. and boasting how good they are when they cant even do a simple thing which they end up arrow the work out to junior officers or specialist to solve the problem for them. boasting how ga rang were their past glory days in army....
but also becos of this certain grp of failures which the army is feeding monthly... my 2 yrs of ns life taught me something new.. always be humble when u step out of the society for tat type of attitude will ruin ur future.. and nvr follow the foot step of such failures!
last but not least, army teach u to JIAO TA SI DI! if u dont hav wat it take, dont try to act smart and get into trouble.. unless u're some white horse or scholars...