Agreed. Might not be a total waste of time but it sux nonetheless.Originally posted by ah_tee:i have to agree NS is a necessity
the reason why pple say its sarks cos the entire system is a big screwed up
pple wont say it sarks IF
1. the allowance given can be compared to the market
(in case some gals here duno, regulars pay are way high above market rate)
2. Treat NSFs as proper human being, give them the due dignity and respect
3. Regulars e.g the high ranks, take on a more main role, while NSF take on the supporting role, currently its the other way round,in some camps. NSF work OT, regulars go home early
4. dun take NSF as scapegoat for any mistakes, if something really goes wrong his immediate regular IC shld be blame also
5. dun play rank n threaten NSF, make them respect ur rank, not fear it,make them obey ur command because they look up to u n respect u, not because u got something on ur shoulder
6. shape the way such that the 2 yrs will not be wasted and be beneficial to his future career
7. give nsf the due freedom like regulars, understand the constraints to active units but certainly something can be arranged, pple got social life also
8. any events or wad, either include everyone or include no one, currently NSFs are not allowed to go for some events, its specifed; regulars only
i think if all these are applied, nsfs will be less bo chup and really feel belonged and make themselves a better soldier
ya, those pple always tells us, u shld feel proud servin the country, its ur land u lived on blah blahOriginally posted by Finnz:Agreed. Might not be a total waste of time but it sux nonetheless.
If the job is as noble as it sounds , well i dun feel it becoz (refer to clause 2)
funny how local citizens are almost a 2nd-class citizen in their own country compare to foreign talents who are treated like 1st-class citizen, just like the *** to do things without consulting the citizen, "democratic my foot". Given a chance to migrate i would have flew off faster than the eye can blink since u're 2nd-class citizen wherever you go.Originally posted by Honeybunz:PRC ppl dun give a damn about our country one lah. 10 out of 10 that I spoke to say they don't like it here and they are here for their own selfish reason (eg. to complete studies, to enjoy benefits here, to have more than 1 child etc). They have no feelings for this place one. NOthing against them, just can't stand the fact that the gahmen still dun wake up, treat them like treasure.
Originally posted by ah_tee:tell u guys a joke
b4 my friend was enlisted, i ask him, are u lookin forward to Ns, he said yes!
he even trained up for it, go jogging in the middle of the nite and looked forward to be enlisted
his icq nick was " duty, honour th the country" or something like that, bery patriotic
then came his enlistment, his first bookout, his nick was " slave of the nation"
soon after it became " the hungry NSF"
until now i still teased him abt it then he kept argueing hes enjoying ns but sometimes he will come n msg me say wad he kena abused in camp blah blah
Originally posted by Honeybunz:While many guys complain about NS, do you guys have any idea gals do look up to guys who serve NS? Between a guy who has completed NS vs a guy who has not (probably waiting for enlistment), there is a very clear distinction between them in terms of the way they work and look at things.
When I was a student, I have male classmates : some have completed NS before they continued their studies, some have not and will serve NS only after they graduate. Somehow, we the female could see the difference between those who have already spent 2 1/2 years hardships and tough trainings; and those who have yet to go through that.
You see, those who have ORD tend to have this higher level of confidence what they speak. They are also more organised and mature. In many areas, I hate to admit this, these guys can do better jobs than their female peers. You guys may not realise this change and growth that have occured in you, but the gals are quite observant in these areas (maybe gifted or 6th sense???.... hehe).
I think last time there was this Army advertisement that goes like : Army makes you a better man. There is some truth in it, I guess.
So guys, nobody can change the fact that guys have to serve the country for that period of time. While we all try to understand the hell-like life that you may have, there are also some good (though may not be many) that NS has done to you.
I wish migration can be easy but it is not. If you are serious about migrating, plan for it and work for it.Originally posted by Finnz:funny how local citizens are almost a 2nd-class citizen in their own country compare to foreign talents who are treated like 1st-class citizen, just like the *** to do things without consulting the citizen, "democratic my foot". Given a chance to migrate i would have flew off faster than the eye can blink since u're 2nd-class citizen wherever you go.
Dun say prc we ownself also dun give a damn liao. We are here because we're born here by default thus stuck in this god-forsaken place.
Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:After reading thru the replies, i hope the thread starter can understand better wat NS is really abt, n wats the problems behind.
futher more still throw rank and threaten the NSF he will charge him! and he didnt even botehr to think who are the ppls contributing their mothly salary. MAJ big fark meh?Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:SAF is a place to waste resources, our tax payer money. the money tat go into the pocket of regulars but they in turn dun appreciate n keep treat NSF like shit. Without all the NSF MEN eg, clerks, drivers, storemens, clerks, medic etc. SAF can't operate, regulars and officers also cannot work but they r the one tat dun appreciate the shit job we did. Hence this type of environment n working culture worth our precious time to serve or not. Its not something do with the country its the problems with SAF.I hate to serve SAF but not the country.
Hello, I ORD already. I am not promoting NS or encouraging people to sign on. I just want to convince people that NS is not wasting our lives. Hmm, I think my mistake is the strong language I used in the topic. LOL. Anyway it's getting healthy feedback, you see the point. There are a lot of people trying to encourage those who are serving NS and those who served NS.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:After reading thru the replies, i hope the thread starter can understand better wat NS is really abt, n wats the problems behind.
hahaOriginally posted by Cindyfeh:The fact that we are borned here doesn't mean we will be stuck here. Singapore is not the best place to live in, neither is it the worse. Don't be too upset for the time you are living here. Anger will only hurt your kidneys and you don't wish to be a patient of NKF right? I always tell my kid brother that.
Who cares !!!Originally posted by Honeybunz:If you all dun serve NS, then who is going to protect the country?
Dun forget : Our nearest neighbourhood is not too friendly sometimes.
If you all dun go NS, then who is going to protect us???![]()
Never fear....there is Philip Yeo and his A*STAR women scholarsOriginally posted by Honeybunz:If you all dun serve NS, then who is going to protect the country?
Who the hell is Philip Yeo? Is he good enough to protect us or not?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Never fear....there is Philip Yeo and his A*STAR women scholars
Hey... apart from the "threat" hinted above, has anyone thought of why Hong Kong does not have NS? Or take another similar size country, Switzerland in Europe? They have a famous army (knife..Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Yet another idiot who fails to use his brain.
You think only armed forces can deter someone from invading?
Look at Israel!
The reason why Arab nations don't attack it is because they have nuclear weapons!
Bottom Line Stands!
No matter how many troops or defense you have , Malaysia and Indonesia someday will catch up in terms of technology and quantity over your soldiers!
you got only a 250,000 army..
If you all dun serve NS, then who is going to protect the country?look at it this way. At this rate nsmen are being treated how many ppl is willing to die for sg?
If you all dun go NS, then who is going to protect us???
you protect me lah , i surf sgforum , you take gunOriginally posted by Honeybunz:If you all dun serve NS, then who is going to protect the country?
Well, don't forget our enemies (5-10 times the size of our forces) couldOriginally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Singapore might end up like Kuwait , just look at how fast Kuwait fell to the Iraqi Forces...
You want this to happen?