There is a distinction to be made between those who live in a English speaking environment and those who do not, but take on this english-ness as a false affectation.Originally posted by Honeybunz:From my experience, based on majority (not all lah!)
Mandarin speaking students pass both English and Chinese during O level.
English speaking students pass English but flunk Chinese.
So who is more high class now?
Hey I get that too.Oh well, the fruits of a Malay-educated ancestry I suppose.Originally posted by ditzy:When I speak mandarin, people tell me to shut up.![]()
If your comment is directed at me, sorry if it looks too ancient to u. Im not into archeology and I dont lecture also. Just stating the truth.:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From BizarreRocksD12:
My lect said accordin to our dna, scientist have found out that we all came from AFRICA!! Yeah!!! And we change skin colour and facial features cause of the environment. And that happens over long periods of time thats why everyone look different. And our eyes have got somethin to do with sand blowin into it. It sounds funny... Any idea what I'm sayin?
Imagine black Adam and Eve...
Originally posted by chinese-ed:
Regarding the above u may wish to check this out.
http://www.china.org.cn/chinese/2003/Jun/343591.htm
According to the report, there are a group of ancient Peking man and Nanking man originally staying in the ancient Beijing Zhoukoudian and Nanking Tangsan respectively. The scientist suspect that, as time pass there may be some crossing between the Nanking man and European & African that moved to ancient china which resulted the Nanking man to look different from the Peking man.
Until today people are still moving about from countries to countries. I hope that does not affect u from calling yourself a chinese. Just joking.
From Zhu Tou:
Maybe they'd respect you guys more if you spoke better English
Accoording to my Ang Moh friends learning chinese now, they feel irritated by local Chinese that speak broken english (people like me), but they look down on local chinese that cannot speak proper mandarin or cant speak mandarin at all (some cant speak their own dialect also).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by vito_corleone:your lecturer a bit slow man...this is ancient news.![]()
this is considered pointless and meaingless attempt too.Originally posted by vito_corleone:je parle francais, c'est tres haute couture. non?![]()
What's wrong with finding a language too difficult to learn?Originally posted by chinese-ed:If your comment is directed at me, sorry if it looks too ancient to u. Im not into archeology and I dont lecture also. Just stating the truth.
What Im trying to convey here is, nowadays, some sg chinese they forget about their roots, they refused to speak their own langauge n dialects. The reasons being they r too difficult to learnt, too time consuming to learnt, boring, LOW CLASS, and the list goes on. This worries the older generation here.
With what u mentioned below, Im aware of this minority group.Originally posted by MrBach:What's wrong with finding a language too difficult to learn?
Hasn't it occurred to you that even though I might be Chinese, I might yet lack an aptitude for my own language?
And what of the Chinese who are brought up by Indians (there used to be quite a few of those, almost all of whom, were girls who were unwanted by their own parents) and who eventually come to see themselves (after learning Tamil) as having more of an affinity with the culture of the Indians than with that of the Chinese?
Are you going to persecute them as well, and suggest that they are inferior to you?
I do agree that looking down on any given language as 'low-class' is obviously an illegitimate reason for your decision not to learn how to converse in it; but saying this is not the same thing as saying that I have got a moral obligation to learn a certain language and to acquire a certain level of proficiency in it, just because my skin happens to be of a certain colour, or because I happen to be classed within a certain ethnic group.
Your intolerance amazes me.
And what if I lack the time to learn the language in question simply because I have to meet other ethical demands; why cannot I then be morally justified in holding that I simply cannot learn this language so long as my time is taken up in meeting these various demands?
And don't lecture me about 'roots'; for I utterly denounce the view that what I fundamentally am, is to be accounted for wholly in terms of whatever I may be said to be genetically; that sort of redunctionism is condemned by Christianity, which teaches that 'to those who believe on His Name, he gave the power to be children, NOT MERELY BORN OF BLOOD OR OF A HUSBAND'S WILL, BUT BORN OF GOD.'
I have found my freedom and ultimate identity in Christ and you can take your propaganda about 'roots' (although of course as a matter of fact I do cherish stories about the doings of my ancient ancestors and do indeed feel a measure of kinship with them) and stuff it.
In Christ, there is no Greek nor Jew; and that is one of the reasons why, in the earliest era of Christianity, the Church came to be known as Catholic (i.e. Universal).
Ben
may i know what's your dialect?Originally posted by daphne_1802:my personal opinion is that chinese is tolerable to certain extent but hokien is low class to me..
probably it is SinglishOriginally posted by lamo:may i know what's your dialect?![]()
Got this English speaking gal on bus.When the 1pm Chinese news on,she didnt watch and turned away to look outside the window.Knn!good!!!!!!! i really cannot stand this kind of phucking bastards. i kan her, you kan her mom. after that, we exchange. really KNN eh!!!!!!!!!
pourquoi? je croix, c'est tres bien.Originally posted by findingnewidea:this is considered pointless and meaingless attempt too.
no one cares about it
haha![]()
Ya lor... Girls always avoid me because I 'Chinese spitting'....Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Ermmm...maybe not the word look down,but just don't like to mix with them(the chinese speaking guys) la.
Conculsion: Gals are just as cheap as 3 for $1.really ah? pretty or not? where got sell? but please lah, i only want SG brand hor, not China or Vietnam ones.
as my professor used to say: " en francais "Originally posted by BadzMaro:Next thing u know.. speaking Frenchy is the in thing n we all become low class n losers !![]()