Don't need to look down. It is a DISGRACE!Originally posted by Gordonator:i look down on people who can't speak their mother tongue.![]()
Hokkien even worse. Some say you are Barbaric if you speak Hokkien.Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:hokkien is the best!!!
Cantonese the best of all.Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:hokkien is the best!!!
diu lei lo mo hum kah chum....Originally posted by Manager433:Cantonese the best of all.![]()
sei pok kaiOriginally posted by teekh:diu lei lo mo hum kah chum....![]()
My lect said accordin to our dna, scientist have found out that we all came from AFRICA!! Yeah!!! And we change skin colour and facial features cause of the environment. And that happens over long periods of time thats why everyone look different. And our eyes have got somethin to do with sand blowin into it. It sounds funny... Any idea what I'm sayin?Originally posted by chinese-ed:When a chinese meet a fellow chinese of any nationality, both should try to speak in mandarin or putonghua, if not should be in their own dialect e.g hokkien, cantonese, teochew etc. When we are with other races, we should use english. Its a basic respect for other races.
To the PRC, Taiwanese and HK people, they feel very strange how come Singaporean Chinese talk to each other in English. They feel that we look snorbish and not respectful and the most important Wang4 Ben2.
I was a so called Chinese Helicopter and English Submarine before. Luckily english submerged only and never sink all the way to the bottom. Today a lot of SG Banana man/woman have their Chinese sink all the way to the bottom and still very proud of it. The Ang Moh arent happy with the way they speak English either. They r just neither here nor there. Only have themself to blame.
For those that is learning chinese,
Start learning Chinese today, its never too late. Start writting chinese with a writting pad also if u can. PRC can never automate everything as they need to create jobs, so somehwere, somehow, u still need to write chinese if u want to do business with PRC*. Forget about the keyboard hanyupingyin, the chinese characters are just like a painting, u need to draw(write) in order to remember the character. I only use hanyupingyin when I really cannot remeber the character Im writting. Forget about what the old men tells you by typing hanyupingyin on the keyboard is enough to learn chinese. Thanks to his help, most youngsters now cant even speak their own dialects. Their chinese also never improved even without the influence of dialects for the pass decades. Killed and chopped everything. Sigh. Im proud to speak to my grand uncle in China in Cantonese.
*And also, u learn a language not just because u want to do business with that country, it should not be started like this. U learnt a language because u want to know what the other party(the language u are learning) is thinking, for the same issue written in several languages in diffferent countries, and most importantly u want to know their culture, values n etc.
If I offended anybody here, say sorry first.
To mod: BTW, I cant post chinese in this forum? Hope its not too troublesome for u. Thanks.
Originally posted by chinese-ed:your lecturer a bit slow man...this is ancient news.
[b]From BizarreRocksD12:
My lect said accordin to our dna, scientist have found out that we all came from AFRICA!! Yeah!!! And we change skin colour and facial features cause of the environment. And that happens over long periods of time thats why everyone look different. And our eyes have got somethin to do with sand blowin into it. It sounds funny... Any idea what I'm sayin?
Imagine black Adam and Eve...
Regarding the above u may wish to check this out.
http://www.china.org.cn/chinese/2003/Jun/343591.htm
According to the report, there are a group of ancient Peking man and Nanking man originally staying in the ancient Beijing Zhoukoudian and Nanking Tangsan respectively. The scientist suspect that, as time pass there may be some crossing between the Nanking man and European & African that moved to ancient china which resulted the Nanking man to look different from the Peking man.
Until today people are still moving about from countries to countries. I hope that does not affect u from calling yourself a chinese. Just joking.
From Zhu Tou:
Maybe they'd respect you guys more if you spoke better English
Accoording to my Ang Moh friends learning chinese now, they feel irritated by local Chinese that speak broken english (people like me), but they look down on local chinese that cannot speak proper mandarin or cant speak mandarin at all (some cant speak their own dialect also).
huh? speak english one gammar so bad one de meh? beh tahan.Originally posted by Ayukat:Not only gals wat... guys also... you can always see the different pai around...
Tamade, actually I is speak english one... my whole family is speak english one.. although I go school, most of friends speak Chinese, I still speak english at home...
But tamade... my sister born out that time... then she go school... she influenced by friends easily... now come influenced us... now our family is 3/4 Chinese speaking 1/4 English speaking...make me feel so low class... tamade...
Excuse me.. i didn't fail my Chinese both O and AO.Originally posted by Honeybunz:From my experience, based on majority (not all lah!)
Mandarin speaking students pass both English and Chinese during O level.
English speaking students pass English but flunk Chinese.
So who is more high class now?
aiyo...tssk tssk tssk...barbaric acts comes from the character within yourself not from the language itself...Originally posted by ne0matrix:Hokkien even worse. Some say you are Barbaric if you speak Hokkien.![]()
but acceptance into poly n uni is based on Ang moh tmd ~!!!!Originally posted by Honeybunz:From my experience, based on majority (not all lah!)
its alright, im the type they would label as "cheena" but i got as for english.Originally posted by vito_corleone:im what you guys would label as a "potato eater" and i got a b for chinese...i know chinese speakers who only got c's.![]()
I did not flunk my Chinese, got a distinction in fact.. last minute work help.sOriginally posted by Honeybunz:From my experience, based on majority (not all lah!)
I've heard that beofre. Jesus is supposed to be black. I don't see anything wrong with that.Originally posted by BizarreRocksD12:My lect said accordin to our dna, scientist have found out that we all came from AFRICA!! Yeah!!! And we change skin colour and facial features cause of the environment. And that happens over long periods of time thats why everyone look different. And our eyes have got somethin to do with sand blowin into it. It sounds funny... Any idea what I'm sayin?
Imagine black Adam and Eve...
I try to speak better chinese when I am talking to Chinese and Taiwanese business partners. So far, they understood everything I said and even commented I speak good chinese (dunno if it's true)Originally posted by findingnewidea:i think quality is important.
so many times i encountered those tv interview passers-by. Many Singaporeans simply can't express themselves good. Empty, pointless and meaningless. Mix lots of English words in even one sentence.
This really makes them low class.
Speaking proper mandarin is equally important as speaking proper English. Read more Chinese culture book.
Zhong Hua Wen Hua, Wu Qian Nian, Bo Da Jing Shen (Chinese culture, 5 thousand years, broad and deep)
Always use ah beng mandarin to talk, no wonder english speaking gal so lazy to care about you lah.
To be honest, my friend was totally pissed I scored much better than him in AO Chinese (I got A2, he got B4) even though he liked to spout lots of cheng yu and I would be like wtf.Originally posted by aHGer^83:my fren oso.. family history of peranakans...
but her dad din take up malay...
she scored better den me in her chi... omg.. haha~
she's got frens from all races lor.. chi (eng n chi speaking), malays, indians... she's a great person i wld say![]()
This was in response to someone saying that we english speaking girls fail in Mandarin when it is clearly not the case.Originally posted by findingnewidea:very shallow...
always use exam result to judge a person's ability.
so what if you get A?
i don't see the point.