Originally posted by sohguanh:No leh.. company outsource cos it's the trend. And also, on paper they feel that it can save them money as they do not have to pay for benefit, salary, allowance and less management etc. But they are not looking at the consequences. Employees, for the sake of establishing their careers, they would want to perform. Whereas, vendors are a one-time thingy and even if they are the best, they are not showing (overloaded/not enough time to show?)
[b]Having a hard time managing vendors because they keep charging at every small thing. Also, they tend not to spend time understanding business objectives but have the do-and go attitude. They dun really care if they have made a mess out of it while the one managing them would have to pick the bits and pieces... shang nao jing
Hahhahaa.... now companies tat outsource feel the pain already huh? Correct. Charge for all changes hahahaha...... maybe it is better to get a talented employee then do outsourcing but the problem faced by employers is how to land that so called talented employee? Nowadays vendor try to keep their best to their side henceby deprive other companies and then they LL have to engage the vendor to do the job for them
It is the employees that make a company. Company alone without talent is nothing..... tat is why there is talent scouting going on throughout all industries.... heard M$ has a fulltime job just to do talent scouting and then lure those potential employee of their current employer and join the redmond gang hahaha[/b]
2 legs good 4 legs badOriginally posted by dragg:the ministers.
they wont be outsourced.
they wont be retrenched.
they pay themselves big bugs.
their job is not affected by age.
Hence many Singaporeans are doing their part by NOT having babies. We do not want our unborn/future children to be born into this mess. Our population can be renewed by the steady flood of immigrants the government is welcoming with open arms.Originally posted by dragg:i pity the next generation. at the rate we are going it will be more and more tough to get a job, let alone keep one.
Outsourcing... :IOriginally posted by av98m:Hence many Singaporeans are doing their part by NOT having babies. We do not want our unborn/future children to be born into this mess. Our population can be renewed by the steady flood of immigrants the government is welcoming with open arms.![]()
it is crazy to have babies unless you are really loaded. otherwise chances are your children will suffer. who knows what the economy is going to be like 20 years from now. it is already so difficult now.Originally posted by av98m:Hence many Singaporeans are doing their part by NOT having babies. We do not want our unborn/future children to be born into this mess. Our population can be renewed by the steady flood of immigrants the government is welcoming with open arms.![]()
Very true indeed. Knowing how I struggled through my studies and everything, I sometimes think twice about having children in the future because I would hate to see them suffer like me, if not worse.Originally posted by dragg:it is crazy to have babies unless you are really loaded. otherwise chances are your children will suffer. who knows what the economy is going to be like 20 years from now. it is already so difficult now.
lower salaryOriginally posted by Nikar:by the way, i noticed that some ads on the Straits Times say something like "Malaysians welcome".
what does this mean? that they prefer malaysians? because malaysians don't mind a lower salary? because malaysians are more hardworking etc.?
thanks,
nikar.
lower salary in this highly competitive commercial world, cutting cost becomes one of the major issues. if you can get two equal people and one is willing to take lower salary, why wait?that means that for those entry-level jobs(like admin assistant or shop assistant), and our "rivals" are malaysians, we would be at an disadvantage?????!!!!!
Originally posted by redmarble:is quite true, i notice that in the newspapers classified ads
IMO, this is what I feel about the job market now.
[b]Technology: Some people did raise a good point. Work nowadays are so easily replaceable, given that nowadays we have computers and stuffs to do certain tasks. For example, a person employed to do company administration in HR in those days are not as easily replaceable because in those days, everything is done on paper and the person will have to know the company inside out to do the payroll, leave and other stuff, as each company will have a different system. With the technology nowadays, (standard softwares like PeopleSoft and all those for HR adminstration) you just need to find someone who knows how to use the program and given that all of us youngsters nowadays with better compuater literacy, it's a matter of finding the cheapest person, not the most experienced person.
As for more specialised professions like engineers, companies nowadays are not that willing to spend money to train them properly for the job, because with the competition in industries nowadays, a day of training means a day of unproductivity, though there are companies who are willing to train newbies. But then again, to ensure that they won't run away after all that money spent on training, contracts are common nowadays. And without the benefits a contract has over normal permanent jobs, people may often feel "cheated" but had to carry on in the job because of the contract.
Therefore they often feel wanting to job-hop nowadays. and that gives rise to another issue. You may see that jobs may seem abundant nowadays, it's not beacuse the economy has improved that tremandously, but because many people are switching jobs, thus creating the so-called "job opportunities". The jobs created are not new jobs but rather jobs that will be replaced with the same number of people who left their jobs. And to add on, since companies are not willing to train new employees, they often require people with lots of experience. This leaves new grads no chance of landing in a job. [/b]
Everyday hordes of Malaysians wake up at ungodly hours to travel across the causeway and work here, and return home at late hours after work. Since they are still staying in Malaysia with its much lower cost of living, they can afford to take the lower pay. I applaud them for their willingness to travel long distances to work, many Singaporeans, even today, still turn down jobs because "distance too far, not convenient".Originally posted by Nikar:by the way, i noticed that some ads on the Straits Times say something like "Malaysians welcome".
what does this mean? that they prefer malaysians? because malaysians don't mind a lower salary? because malaysians are more hardworking etc.?
thanks,
nikar.
no, i refer to most jobs and doesn't limit to entry-level jobs.Originally posted by Nikar:that means that for those entry-level jobs(like admin assistant or shop assistant), and our "rivals" are malaysians, we would be at an disadvantage?????!!!!!
it is not right to compare that way. assuming they make $1k here, its $2.2k back in johor. in johor the most they can make is a few hundred ringgit a month.Originally posted by av98m:Everyday hordes of Malaysians wake up at ungodly hours to travel across the causeway and work here, and return home at late hours after work. Since they are still staying in Malaysia with its much lower cost of living, they can afford to take the lower pay. I applaud them for their willingness to travel long distances to work, many Singaporeans, even today, still turn down jobs because "distance too far, not convenient".![]()
congrats.Originally posted by sonicworld76:Yes, i find a job.... starting work on next monday......
All the best to u guys out there
thks draggOriginally posted by dragg:congrats.
as i already pointed out if you are young it isnt a problem.
btw what kind of job you got?Originally posted by sonicworld76:thks dragg
Sale exe ....Originally posted by dragg:btw what kind of job you got?
thru agency right?
your friend recommended or you are going to work for him?Originally posted by sonicworld76:Sale exe ....
from my friend
he recommend me to work for his friend's co.Originally posted by dragg:your friend recommended or you are going to work for him?