Originally posted by Gackt247:I have no problems serving NS. In fact I'm supportive but of course, nothing beats sitting in front of the PC right now.
Abt foreign students. The hope is to create contacts with China for economic reasons. If we r lucky, or not to some singaporeans, some will decide to take up residency here. That's when their children will have to serve their NS. There is a reason for everything, whether it's relevant or not.

make sure u yourself speak with maturity before you post that, clearly you dunOriginally posted by ha8n:NS for tat 2yrs period is still considerably short as some boys dun "grow up"
so fast to becum MEN![]()
Now the allowance not bad liao still Kp.Originally posted by jianfish:Everyone knows NS is a necessary evil. I quite sure if there was no need there would not be NS.
However its the way that the govt handles and treats the NSF that irks me. Are we after all not citizens of singapore making the sacrifice?
Why then is so much money spent on attracting China students to study here?
Why isit that in school I see China students all around and in NS i can hardly find even one?
Where do they go after their state sponsered studies?
And why the poor pay? I mean if you increase the pay of NS men, is it not like sort of returning the money to the citizens of the country. Where is the loss of money then?
2years is not a short time. We are mentioning Years here, not months. Especially when we are not the privileged class that have parents in high places. Life is not so easy and I doubt those policy makers have gone through the life of just a man.
Do not blame us for being so Non-commital.
For the record, I am serving my NS.
Den wad abt girls growing to become woman?why is it dey dont serve 2 yrs as well to become mature ppl ???Rubbish...actually, i prefer girls don't serve NS lah.
wow piang this is called too much... guard duties still considered extra allowances...Originally posted by Nikar:actually, i prefer s don't serve NS lah.
us guys serve NS and end up in this state liao......if s also serve, they lagi more jia-lak loh. end up being like pigs and boars......u all got see those female sergeants/officers anot? even DXOs very rough one, due to army atmosphere and influence mah.
also, regarding overnight guard duties during NS.......i insist that the government pay us extra allowances for that. it's not "li shuo dan ran" hor. KNN.
all israeli girls serve ns..does it mean all are ugly?Originally posted by Nikar:actually, i prefer girls don't serve NS lah.
us guys serve NS and end up in this state liao......if girls also serve, they lagi more jia-lak loh. end up being like pigs and boars......u all got see those female sergeants/officers anot? even DXOs very rough one, due to army atmosphere and influence mah.
also, regarding overnight guard duties during NS.......i insist that the government pay us extra allowances for that. it's not "li shuo dan ran" hor. KNN.
I agree that this concept that "NS make better, more mature men out of boys" is quite outdated & inaccurateOriginally posted by limpshaggy:if u think ns can help u become men,outdated concept. In modern society, not man also nvm, can earn money can liao. A muscle man with no papers can onli work crap jobs.
All i learn in ns is chao keng and poltics and wayang. If i serve with a unwilling attuide and dun give a fuck attuide, dun blame me, blame the ns structure and system. Only reason i serve is because finish the 2 year millitary prison is better than the 2 year legal prison, next time can find job mah.
I think girls should contribute their bit in National Service to the society in term of medical or social welfare... No need to be in the army or fight...Originally posted by Nikar:actually, i prefer girls don't serve NS lah.
us guys serve NS and end up in this state liao......if girls also serve, they lagi more jia-lak loh. end up being like pigs and boars......u all got see those female sergeants/officers anot? even DXOs very rough one, due to army atmosphere and influence mah.
it does not take sai kangs to propel a boy into marutiy. it depends on the individual's mindset...i still see some adults playing card games and wasting their life away at video arcades.Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:I agree that this concept that "NS make better, more mature men out of boys" is quite outdated & inaccurate
Today's NS is so comfy that it's jus like attending some sport schools... And why wld anyone become "more mature" after doing all the sai-kangs & blindly taking orders frm ppl who are not very intelligent (MOst BSM, RSM, sergents etc not veri well educated either.. ) ??
I used to dread most of my time in camp too...
But lookin bac, i think havin a well prepared armed force make out of local ppl is the only way we can safe guard our sovereignty.. how else can we ensure our survival in times of real challenge..
Buy a armed force or out-source the jobs to foreigns ?