I understand your anxiety on this particular matter and whether it will be deal with fairly. But do note that MOM might choose not to write back through the press but instead to resolve this conflict directly.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:2 weeks liao and no reply from MOM.
This must be a tough case!
nope..Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Have your friends/colleagues/relatives suffered such treatment before?
From 25th Aug up till today(30th), there has been a number of letters appearing in Today about unreasonable sacking of pregnant mums in the workplace. It is nearly a week and yet MOM has not replied. Does it take so much time for MOM to reply? Or the issue is not important to MOM?
yesh man.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Funny with the GDP growth of 6% in 2004 and the projected growth of 3-5% in 2005, we are still facing poor salaries, and high unemployment. Who pocketed the $$ from the GDP growth? Ans - Employers!
If you are a boss, would you go hire and pay an extra employee when the current staff is doing fine doing 2 person job?
The gov and the employers forever say that economy not good, must cut cut cut salaries, must work free OT, must go for retraining, must increase job scope, must do contract work, and other employee-detrimental activitives. If 6% and 3-5% growth are considered bad, then what % is considered good? 100%?
That is prob the reason. 3 months maternity leave is a problem for many employers...how do you employ a temp for 3 months, even if you can find one? By the time the worker learns the job, it's time to leave...So most employers have no choice but force the remaining workers to take over extra duties. Everytime that happens, you can expect alot of cow pei cow bu in the office...Originally posted by seancannot:with current bad shape of economy how many employer (small time ones) can afford to pay 2 month of ML only 3rd month can be claimed from garment. So no choice the only soln is garment handout 3 mths of ML loh .... from all the $$$ they can afford from $$$ made from investment mah..
the growth meant when compared to the previous year i believe.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Funny with the GDP growth of 6% in 2004 and the projected growth of 3-5% in 2005, we are still facing poor salaries, and high unemployment. Who pocketed the $$ from the GDP growth? Ans - Employers!
If you are a boss, would you go hire and pay an extra employee when the current staff is doing fine doing 2 person job?
The gov and the employers forever say that economy not good, must cut cut cut salaries, must work free OT, must go for retraining, must increase job scope, must do contract work, and other employee-detrimental activitives. If 6% and 3-5% growth are considered bad, then what % is considered good? 100%?
then take in lao auntie n lao uncle?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That is prob the reason. 3 months maternity leave is a problem for many employers...how do you employ a temp for 3 months, even if you can find one? By the time the worker learns the job, it's time to leave...So most employers have no choice but force the remaining workers to take over extra duties. Everytime that happens, you can expect alot of cow pei cow bu in the office...
Will you be willing to take over extra workload in that situation even if the boss pays you extra for overtime?
I remember when I was employing a new staff my existing staff urged me not to employ young, newly married women 'cos they are likely to take maternity leave and not to take Singaporean males 'cos they have to do ICT. That is plainly ridiculous but people tend to be selfish.
a company can just axe an employee by giving him one month's compensation.Originally posted by Kermadec:Can i ask if there is anything like a redundancy pay-off here in singapore?
something like if the company decides to use redundancy instead of retrenchment?
but i have seen case when a company makes an employee redundant, they just paid that poor fellow his/her notice...that's all...Originally posted by dragg:a company can just axe an employee by giving him one month's compensation.
Sigh... what to do?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That is prob the reason. 3 months maternity leave is a problem for many employers...how do you employ a temp for 3 months, even if you can find one? By the time the worker learns the job, it's time to leave...So most employers have no choice but force the remaining workers to take over extra duties. Everytime that happens, you can expect alot of cow pei cow bu in the office...
Will you be willing to take over extra workload in that situation even if the boss pays you extra for overtime?
I remember when I was employing a new staff my existing staff urged me not to employ young, newly married women 'cos they are likely to take maternity leave and not to take Singaporean males 'cos they have to do ICT. That is plainly ridiculous but people tend to be selfish.
employer Hiam they work slow....Originally posted by shinta:then take in lao auntie n lao uncle?
they won't get pregnant, and they dun have to do ict.
sg employer and employment is too regulated and inflexible. Therefore the penality falls on the employee. Indeed the bb-bonus is crap but many people are short term oriented and get themselves lock into piling debts from their daily lives as well as now paying high prices for kids.Originally posted by Honeybunz:Sigh... what to do?
On one hand, the gahmen is desperate for all citizens to produce and multiply.
But on the other hand, the gahmen can do nothing to secure everybody's job.
So the best thing is don't respond to the gahmen's call for more babies. I am not telling everyone to be selfish. But at the end of the day, if you and the kids starve to death, the gahmen can't do anything.
The bullcrap about the baby bonus is really a bull. Yes, you get the money. But a simple mathematics will tell you that the bonus is nothing compare to what you need to pay for the kid. Even with the baby bonus, you will still burn a hole in the pocket. apart from the milk powder and food, medication fee is a killer. Trust me. Many working mothers are working their butts out just to pay for the medications. The bad news is : All kids will fall sick. The only way out is to buy heavy insurance for the kid (money again!).
The wiser thing for the gahmen to do is to pay the bonus to the employers rather than the employees. At least this will encourage the employers keeping young mothers in their company.
Also the gahmen will prioritise their duty in pleasing the employers rather than protecting the employees. This is sad for all working ppl, but is realistic. The gahmen's biggest nightmare is to see companies moving out of Sg.
Originally posted by sohguanh:not billions - trillions
[b]if i were an employer , i will jus get 'FTs'.
so is it worth it being a Singaporean???
Well spore govt is a pro-foreigner policy. By allowing them in, he is in fact asking we local singaporeans to compete with them. Only when you can do some thing they cannot do or do well can you hope to excel and secure a rice bowl. It is like wat they claim meritocracy. Those who can will be rewarded.
Look at other country govt where they have more pro-local policy. Msia govt intend to lower the toll charges and road tax cuz recent oil price has risen so high. This is just an example of their pro-local policy. Note they already have a deficit budget and to have this new scheme will sink the country into more debts. The people rejoice of course but then on the big picture the country cannot progress very far due to their mountain high debts to clear.
Ever wonder why our spore government foreign debts is N.A and the reserves run into billions? Hahahaha..... look at the policies they implement it is usually win win situation for them. Lose then think of new policies to take more money from us.
Conclusion: Spore good place to earn money but not so ideal for retirement[/b]
Another thing about FT. Certain FT are better at giving praise to certain people, which our locals are not so capable of. Take musakazim in his a Tribute to ..... thread for example.Originally posted by NuLife:sigh....
whos goin to employ locals when FTs :
1) are willing to accept lower n longer hours
cos they can back in their country, and have no life outside work, cos not frens
2) have no NS reservist ICT.
3) complain less since they shud already be happy to get a job here.
now another maternity leave issue.
if i were an employer , i will jus get 'FTs'.
..and employers don't have to pay FTs any CPF.Originally posted by NuLife:sigh....
whos goin to employ locals when FTs :
1) are willing to accept lower n longer hours
cos they can back in their country, and have no life outside work, cos not frens
2) have no NS reservist ICT.
3) complain less since they shud already be happy to get a job here.
now another maternity leave issue.
if i were an employer , i will jus get 'FTs'.
Why is that so? As long as you do not raise children I think you should be fine? And yes it is quite sad to see these old folks reaching into garbage cans for soft drink cans(I see this every day now).Originally posted by mistyblue:not billions - trillions
retirement.... look at the old folks cleaning tables, washing toilets and toiling away under the hot sun picking drink cans... I weep for them silently
I see my future is going to be worse them these current group...
The SG Govt sometimes reminds me of a prostitute and SPG combined. Likes to sleep with foreigners.Originally posted by Honeybunz:I have a friend... a Singapore citizen who went to USA to do a degree.
Last year he's been offered a job there. He shared with me that he was going to carry on working there until he gets a USA passport. Then he will come back as a FT. Smart huh?![]()