nothin' ...Originally posted by kopiosatu:just to sweep roads.
first year, general cleaning...
lesson 1 : how to hold a friggin broom
lesson 2 : proper posture when sweeping...
What is this world coming to??
haha.. actually, this phenomeon is only happening in asia... take the case of one country for instance... Holland... the country doesn't look at ur qualifications even if u have master or pHd... they just want to know whether u can do or get the job done at the end of the day...Originally posted by stormax:No matter what they studied, as long as they are a degree holder then are they allow for interview. In HKG, also increase facing this problem
For Singapore, it's just matter of time now.......
well, either they ended up wokin' overseas or the gahmen will be trying to attract some companies to try to hire these 'others' in which u mentioned...Originally posted by kopiosatu:Ok, now... if everyone wants a degree holder for any job.
What happens to the others?
there is always a cause and effect...Originally posted by kopiosatu:problem is, singapore is too saturated... gotta head overseas...
true.. maybe these rumours are trying to help schools to increase their enrollment in their degree courses... hence, these so-called complusory degree needed in every individual.... haha...Originally posted by terohoh:Yah employers want every employee to be a degree holder. But maybe you'll feel better if you realise that almost everyone's a degree holder nowadays. It's no big deal. Just like maybe 10 years ago, diploma holders or A level cert holders were considered "up there". It's considered nothing nowadays.
are you serious about this?Originally posted by kopiosatu:They want a clerk... with a degree.
They want a officeboy... with a degree.
Do they know what they are asking for???
i don't think so... it depends... some o lvl holders are managers in some private companes...Originally posted by terohoh:Haha...bo bian lor, degree holder work as clerk, poly grad still ok cos' they're specialized in a field. "A" level & "O" level cert holders become roadsweeper and kopi kia lor. Anything lower...too bad. Well, that's Singapore.
i think he's creating rumours or somethin'...Originally posted by dragg:are you serious about this?
in singapore?
it happened in japan a long time ago. thats why only people from the top universities are offered jobs at big corporations. to the japanese, not joining a big corporation is like 'career over'. i think the koreans thik likewise.Originally posted by mistyblue:Its like this in Japan already... its going to happen here.
some without just go start their own biz, work in jobs that don't ask to be degree
but it does not mean earn less in these jobs...
i think he's creating rumours or somethin'...Originally posted by dragg:are you serious about this?
in singapore?
nope, read our classifiedsOriginally posted by organization:i think he's creating rumours or somethin'...![]()
true.. sometimes, i wonder why take us along when in the end it abandons us... s'pore education system can be attested to that... less promising degree graduates have to take up less promising jobs... haix...Originally posted by dragg:it happened in japan a long time ago. thats why only people from the top universities are offered jobs at big corporations. to the japanese, not joining a big corporation is like 'career over'. i think the koreans thik likewise.
so the rest have to take less promising jobs or go overseas.
i see... thanks...Originally posted by kopiosatu:nope, read our classifieds
come to think of it, these people who are less promising degree graduates make up the bulk of the 'quantity' who failed to make it to the top...Originally posted by kopiosatu:They want a clerk... with a degree.
They want a officeboy... with a degree.
Do they know what they are asking for???
maybe... but i guess the one who stands out is the one who has work experience regardless of whatever qualification one has... if u can't perform , then what's the use of hiring a poly grad or ite or o lvl... i think scenario will be like this... if u can't perform, u will have to pick any job that comes along... if u can, u make it to the top...Originally posted by dragg:it is true that society has changed.
it is only a matter of time our market is saturated with degree holders. so the only way out is shift down or shift out.
degree holders take the jobs of poly grads.
poly grads take the jobs of ITE grads.
ITE grads take the jobs of o levels grads.
o levels grads take the jobs of the uneducated.
yes.Originally posted by kopiosatu:Do they know what they are asking for???
also got poly grads taking on degree holders' jobs lehz...Originally posted by dragg:degree holders take the jobs of poly grads.
poly grads take the jobs of ITE grads.