It is in ones mind only... There is nothing shameful to be with your parent no matter where you are. If you don't think it that way, why bother what people may think. For all you know, no one is bother and you are the one self concience about it. It does how ever show people you are filial and they may even look up to you... I used to bring both my mum and dad out jalan jalan. My dad was 80 plus. One day at OG department, a middle aged man came up and asked if the old folks are my parents and I said yes. He compliment me and said I did the right things. I don't know him but he re affirm my beleives.. I was glad I did it... Why shouldn't any body else ?Originally posted by silv3rgal:Shameless meh? it shows how filial they are mah......
Hehe but of course don't go to the wrong place bahz...go with parents to far east or some teeny place... a little bit funny...
Yeah I truely believe this... Just like my family... We just lack the comunications... Thats why I don't go out or share my things with them...Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:actually can't entirely blame youngsters...
parents too have role in maintaining what kind of relationship with their childrens e.g. more of a friend's approach though nt always...
takes two hands to make a clap.
i m not shamefull...just find it bit uneasy..maybe different mindset..like some things they do they think its ok but for me not..for e.g my parents always bring a bag with water bottle..so that no need to buy drinks...i find it abit odd lor..Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:It is in ones mind only... There is nothing shameful to be with your parent no matter where you are. If you don't think it that way, why bother what people may think. For all you know, no one is bother and you are the one self concience about it. It does how ever show people you are filial and they may even look up to you... I used to bring both my mum and dad out jalan jalan. My dad was 80 plus. One day at OG department, a middle aged man came up and asked if the old folks are my parents and I said yes. He compliment me and said I did the right things. I don't know him but he re affirm my beleives.. I was glad I did it... Why shouldn't any body else ?
dun worry...as time passes..things will start to change if you start the ball rolling...kekekeke...Originally posted by technoboy:Yeah I truely believe this... Just like my family... We just lack the comunications... Thats why I don't go out or share my things with them...
i dont mind accompanying them to places they like..but i just find it uneasy to follow them to places where youngsters hang out.. e.g bugis,hereen n stuff...cause so much ppl place this stare on us especially when we are in/near shops catering to youngsters..maybe i m too guilty consious or wad la...but any of u got this exp?Originally posted by silv3rgal:maybe ashamed isn't the word bah.... its the clashes in interest... if go orchard.. i would wanna go heeren shops but they prefer going robinsons , taka and specialist centres...like that going orchard is quite meaningless to me... i rather go chinatown with them... at least don't let me see any of such shops which i can see but cannot go in....hehehe
haha..used to have tt kind of mentality long time ago...but no more after realising i had taken for wat they have done for me for granted...Originally posted by borntolive:i dont mind accompanying them to places they like..but i just find it uneasy to follow them to places where youngsters hang out.. e.g bugis,hereen n stuff...cause so much ppl place this stare on us especially when we are in/near shops catering to youngsters..maybe i m too guilty consious or wad la...but any of u got this exp?
wad age u made that realisation? i m 19 n i still feel this way...its not that i dislike them or wad ... sometimes i also feel guilty that i do such stuff..Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:haha..used to have tt kind of mentality long time ago...but no more after realising i had taken for wat they have done for me for granted...
when in army...guess many sg boys out there wld feel the same...Originally posted by borntolive:wad age u made that realisation? i m 19 n i still feel this way...its not that i dislike them or wad ... sometimes i also feel guilty that i do such stuff..
so if you are someplace where you cannot buy drink and you are feeling thirsty, wouldn't the water bottles come handy. If it started raining and you are in the middle of the road, wouldn't the big umbrella be useful to shelter all of you. I mean, try to look at the bright and positive sight. I don't think carry water bottles and umbrella is odd if you don't want to think it that way. They are what they are and had bought us up the way they have deem fit. Are you now going to be judging them by the way they behave ? What goes round come around.... In time to come, would your children feel the same way. monkey see monkey do, you children will pick up the habit and the way you treat your parent as benchmark and they will treat you the way you treat the parent.Originally posted by borntolive:i m not shamefull...just find it bit uneasy..maybe different mindset..like some things they do they think its ok but for me not..for e.g my parents always bring a bag with water bottle..so that no need to buy drinks...i find it abit odd lor..
also when raining they tend to bring those big umbrella around then when they want u to carry ......
There is nothing odd. Cos when got children, the parents normally have to save up and so they bring water bottles when they go out.Originally posted by borntolive:i m not shamefull...just find it bit uneasy..maybe different mindset..like some things they do they think its ok but for me not..for e.g my parents always bring a bag with water bottle..so that no need to buy drinks...i find it abit odd lor..
also when raining they tend to bring those big umbrella around then when they want u to carry ......
going out with parent are not shameful, but if the parent treat, nag or scold at you in the public like at home...that FUCKING shameful!Originally posted by borntolive:is it shameful for u to go out with your parents?
wad u feel when u r out with yr parents?
wad u feel when they ask u to go out with them? wad u do? wad u reply?
dono why nowadays i seldom see youngsters with parents...even if i see youngsters with parents, the look on their face suggest that they dont like it..some even stay as far away from them while walking