Yes, and if your impression of good english is speaking with a ang mo accent?Originally posted by bout au revior:wht bout those nanyang gals who eats white rice frm a bowl every friggin meal? Do ya think ther CHEENA accent is fake?.. whn will they eva see da light.. whn will nanyang become newyork? HAha..i'm makin this sound stupid ya.. Anyhow i dont speak with a fake accent...N i minimize singlish as much as possible cuz i think it reflects bad on me.. wldnt associate it with somethin of high class. I speak english all da time N i'm tryin ta learn some french too frm my fren. :]
papercut87 i acknowledge tht many sgpeans of da older generation are indeed cheena educated so they only noe cheena N nothin else.. but many young sgpeans r becomin cheena as in bengs N lians.. They only noe how ta take neoprints N act cute.. talkin in cheena N hokkien only. It's low class in my opinion... Hate ta say it but i feel tht my parents are so damn CHEENA too.. lil traditional at times.. lyk my dad still askes me ta go for chinese meds N some of my relatives are strong buddhists.. wht da crap. But all tht cheena-ness ain't influencin me cuz im not a bit cheena, in fact i hate it. No offence to ya but i feel tht english is much betta N has much more value thn cheena cuz look arnd u.. everywhere is english ya? N if ya wanna noe.. i neva eat rice on its own..only mos burger or sushis.. cuz i'm kinda in jap as well. lurf their fashion trends..western ones too N jap food i so yummmy. :]Originally posted by papercut87:bian, as singaporeans we gotta live with the cheena-ness (which u loathe) in our society since majority of the population here is chinese. so u have to accept that. also, some of us have parents hu r chinese-educated too. u cant simply expect everyone to be un-cheena becos we're brought up this way.. and one more thing, what wrong with being cheena, anyway? what wrong with eating rice? i prefer rice than baked potatoes hehe.
well said, if we all can follow this written example.Originally posted by pisspisspiss:I'm brought up in an English speaking environment too. But no, I dun fake my accent, nor do I look down on people who speak mandarin. I switch (English/mandarin) when speaking with different people, whichever makes them feel more comfortable, because IÂ’m relatively comfortable with both.
I admit, initially I used to loathed the mandarin community of Singapore. But that was in my secondary school days (I had a lot of friends from ACS and other English speaking schools, resulting in my relatively condescending attitude then). But now just a few years later, I realized its what defines Singapore. Its what makes Singapore so special. And slowly, I embraced people who for they are, not by their language they speak nor the culture they were brought up, but as human beings special in their own right.
This is a good example to follow.Originally posted by pisspisspiss:I'm brought up in an English speaking environment too. But no, I dun fake my accent, nor do I look down on people who speak mandarin. I switch (English/mandarin) when speaking with different people, whichever makes them feel more comfortable, because IÂ’m relatively comfortable with both.
I admit, initially I used to loathed the mandarin community of Singapore. But that was in my secondary school days (I had a lot of friends from ACS and other English speaking schools, resulting in my relatively condescending attitude then). But now just a few years later, I realized its what defines Singapore. Its what makes Singapore so special. And slowly, I embraced people who for they are, not by their language they speak nor the culture they were brought up, but as human beings special in their own right.
My pleasure young man.. English vocabulary is my cup of tea.. caucasians are my forte. As much as i adore em so much i dont do such foolish things such as wht ur 'friend' did ya..it's kinda pointless come ta think bout it. I dont care how bad my cheena is.. it's good nuff ta understand if pple are scoldin me. but i do mind my english N it's somethin i'm proud of..I felt so flattered whn a young caucasian guy told me it's quite rare ta haf a girl lyk me ta speak with such class.. he actually said tht!! if i were ta choose, i'd never step foot into cheena.. damn parents keep tellin me bout cheena N how it's a rising star. maybe in a hundred years ya.. We wont live ta tht day thts fo sure. :]Originally posted by seow:Yes, and your impression of good english is speaking with a ang mo accent?
If so, you're really misguided.... I have some girls in my class who are just like you, ang mo worshipping, and man.... they behave like biatches, calling people names and everything.
But in the end? they are just pathetic attention seekers, and attention seeking up till the point one of them posts up pictures her her "desirable" cousin instead of her own to get people to talk with her.
Oops, out of point, but you made by day by giving me something to rant on.![]()
Nanyang as in what?Originally posted by bout au revior:wht bout those nanyang gals who eats white rice frm a bowl every friggin meal? Do ya think ther CHEENA accent is fake?.. whn will they eva see da light.. whn will nanyang become newyork? HAha..i'm makin this sound stupid ya.. Anyhow i dont speak with a fake accent...N i minimize singlish as much as possible cuz i think it reflects bad on me.. wldnt associate it with somethin of high class. I speak english all da time N i'm tryin ta learn some french too frm my fren. :]
Whats wrong with being a chinese? There is nothing to be ashamed of being chinese, or generally, asian.Originally posted by bout au revior:My pleasure young man.. English vocabulary is my cup of tea.. caucasians are my forte. As much as i adore em so much i dont do such foolish things such as wht ur 'friend' did ya..it's kinda pointless come ta think bout it. I dont care how bad my cheena is.. it's good nuff ta understand if pple are scoldin me. but i do mind my english N it's somethin i'm proud of..I felt so flattered whn a young caucasian guy told me it's quite rare ta haf a girl lyk me ta speak with such class.. he actually said tht!! if i were ta choose, i'd never step foot into cheena.. damn parents keep tellin me bout cheena N how it's a rising star. maybe in a hundred years ya.. We wont live ta tht day thts fo sure. :]
hmm just wondering, do you prowl the grounds of balaclava looking for white men?Originally posted by bout au revior:My pleasure young man.. English vocabulary is my cup of tea.. caucasians are my forte. As much as i adore em so much i dont do such foolish things such as wht ur 'friend' did ya..it's kinda pointless come ta think bout it. I dont care how bad my cheena is.. it's good nuff ta understand if pple are scoldin me. but i do mind my english N it's somethin i'm proud of..I felt so flattered whn a young caucasian guy told me it's quite rare ta haf a girl lyk me ta speak with such class.. he actually said tht!! if i were ta choose, i'd never step foot into cheena.. damn parents keep tellin me bout cheena N how it's a rising star. maybe in a hundred years ya.. We wont live ta tht day thts fo sure. :]
1. What is wrong with being Chinese educated? What if its like say, French or German educated? Are they supposed to be inferior to English speaking people?Originally posted by bout au revior:papercut87 i acknowledge tht many sgpeans of da older generation are indeed cheena educated so they only noe cheena N nothin else.. but many young sgpeans r becomin cheena as in bengs N lians.. They only noe how ta take neoprints N act cute.. talkin in cheena N hokkien only. It's low class in my opinion... Hate ta say it but i feel tht my parents are so damn CHEENA too.. lil traditional at times.. lyk my dad still askes me ta go for chinese meds N some of my relatives are strong buddhists.. wht da crap. But all tht cheena-ness ain't influencin me cuz im not a bit cheena, in fact i hate it. No offence to ya but i feel tht english is much betta N has much more value thn cheena cuz look arnd u.. everywhere is english ya? N if ya wanna noe.. i neva eat rice on its own..only mos burger or sushis.. cuz i'm kinda in jap as well. lurf their fashion trends..western ones too N jap food i so yummmy. :]
love, Bianca
So talking in chinese or hokkien is being low class?Originally posted by bout au revior:papercut87 i acknowledge tht many sgpeans of da older generation are indeed cheena educated so they only noe cheena N nothin else.. but many young sgpeans r becomin cheena as in bengs N lians.. They only noe how ta take neoprints N act cute.. talkin in cheena N hokkien only. It's low class in my opinion... Hate ta say it but i feel tht my parents are so damn CHEENA too.. lil traditional at times.. lyk my dad still askes me ta go for chinese meds N some of my relatives are strong buddhists.. wht da crap. But all tht cheena-ness ain't influencin me cuz im not a bit cheena, in fact i hate it. No offence to ya but i feel tht english is much betta N has much more value thn cheena cuz look arnd u.. everywhere is english ya? N if ya wanna noe.. i neva eat rice on its own..only mos burger or sushis.. cuz i'm kinda in jap as well. lurf their fashion trends..western ones too N jap food i so yummmy. :]
love, Bianca
i agree with the part when u said that english does have more value than chinese.. but i think as chinese, we should at very least value the language and take some pride in our language. i admit that im totally not the cheena side too cos i cant even speak a sentence of chinese properly but i dont hate cheenafied people cauz, its their choice to speak that language so we should respect that. oh ya, i dont feel that bengs and lians are cheenafied people... they just speak chinese more frequently than us.. hmm yars to offence to u too.. not here to pick up a fight. just my 2cents worth.Originally posted by bout au revior:papercut87 i acknowledge tht many sgpeans of da older generation are indeed cheena educated so they only noe cheena N nothin else.. but many young sgpeans r becomin cheena as in bengs N lians.. They only noe how ta take neoprints N act cute.. talkin in cheena N hokkien only. It's low class in my opinion... Hate ta say it but i feel tht my parents are so damn CHEENA too.. lil traditional at times.. lyk my dad still askes me ta go for chinese meds N some of my relatives are strong buddhists.. wht da crap. But all tht cheena-ness ain't influencin me cuz im not a bit cheena, in fact i hate it. No offence to ya but i feel tht english is much betta N has much more value thn cheena cuz look arnd u.. everywhere is english ya? N if ya wanna noe.. i neva eat rice on its own..only mos burger or sushis.. cuz i'm kinda in jap as well. lurf their fashion trends..western ones too N jap food i so yummmy. :]
love, Bianca
Ya i visit bala sometimes but i've got coupla contacts so i dont 'prowl'.. fyi i'm nt tht desperate.. usually i get introduced ta new pple whneva i go clubbin.. Nt as active now cuz of sch. N yea.. wuz hangin out at momo last fri.. first time there but nt many caucasians.. Fun nevertheless.. gonna be real crazie afta my promos. :]Originally posted by vito_corleone:hmm just wondering, do you prowl the grounds of balaclava looking for white men?![]()
Originally posted by Ito_^:i knw a lil bit. need my help?
3. What is wrong with Hokkien? KNN. I want also don't know how leh!!
1. Your usage of vocabulary has no difference from primary six children.Originally posted by bout au revior:My pleasure young man.. English vocabulary is my cup of tea.. caucasians are my forte. As much as i adore em so much i dont do such foolish things such as wht ur 'friend' did ya..it's kinda pointless come ta think bout it. I dont care how bad my cheena is.. it's good nuff ta understand if pple are scoldin me. but i do mind my english N it's somethin i'm proud of..I felt so flattered whn a young caucasian guy told me it's quite rare ta haf a girl lyk me ta speak with such class.. he actually said tht!! if i were ta choose, i'd never step foot into cheena.. damn parents keep tellin me bout cheena N how it's a rising star. maybe in a hundred years ya.. We wont live ta tht day thts fo sure. :]
very wrong. i eat with vegatables, meat and other dishes.Originally posted by seow:Whats wrong with eating rice on its own?
1. nth's wrong but i seriously thnk tht traditional values are too enforced dont ya agree? I heard in cheena high sch students hafta BOW ta teachers whnevr they see em.. is tht friggin true? it's totall bullcrap..makin use of authorities. N wht bout those useless festivals? personally i hate it whn pple haf tht stage thingy where it's lyk a goddamn concert N lotsa pple crowd arnd during da hungry ghost fest. Farkin noisy N dirty too.. those rubbish N thrash they created.. N da candle waxx..simple EWWW. thnk god i stay in private hse.. if nt i'd haf moved out.. some cheena pple haf no consideration fer others.. i pity my fren.. she complains tht she cant even study or slp wif tht noise.Originally posted by Ito_^:1. What is wrong with being Chinese educated? What if its like say, French or German educated? Are they supposed to be inferior to English speaking people?
2. What is wrong with taking Neoprints and acting cute!? Okay, so its abit irritating at times, but, so what is so wrong about that?
4. What is wrong with Chinese medication? Alternative healings and medications are very popular in western cultures for quite some time, those include the "chinese meds" you mentioned.
5. What is wrong with Buddism!? Its catching on in western cultures too, do you know Faithless? He is a devout Buddhist too!
6. What is wrong in placing value into Chinese? Many people are rushing to learn mandarin and I have plans to study in China after my NS too! *although my mothertongue teacher would probably have a heart attack if she hears this*
7. You know, western culture doesn't only revolves around the English language, do you?
8. What is wrong with rice!? Never mind, its personal preference. I like em all.
ya but nothing in particular, its always wanna say one phase but nothing comes out.Originally posted by papercut87:i knw a lil bit. need my help?![]()
you don't like wayang your ang moh idols like it leh. the french absolutely love lion dances.Originally posted by bout au revior:1. nth's wrong but i seriously thnk tht traditional values are too enforced dont ya agree? I heard in cheena high sch students hafta BOW ta teachers whnevr they see em.. is tht friggin true? it's totall bullcrap..makin use of authorities. N wht bout those useless festivals? personally i hate it whn pple haf tht stage thingy where it's lyk a goddamn concert N lotsa pple crowd arnd during da hungry ghost fest. Farkin noisy N dirty too.. those rubbish N thrash they created.. N da candle waxx..simple EWWW. thnk god i stay in private hse.. if nt i'd haf moved out.. some cheena pple haf no consideration fer others.. i pity my fren.. she complains tht she cant even study or slp wif tht noise.
ok that's ONE. i'll answer da rest.
no. but we come from different family settings. my parents are traditional people, but never enforce me with anything. my temper used to rox too. but, you do remind me of a friend whose parents enforce rules on everything like insane. he is 19, and he can't even go over to JB.Originally posted by bout au revior:1. nth's wrong but i seriously thnk tht traditional values are too enforced dont ya agree? I heard in cheena high sch students hafta BOW ta teachers whnevr they see em.. is tht friggin true? it's totall bullcrap..makin use of authorities. N wht bout those useless festivals? personally i hate it whn pple haf tht stage thingy where it's lyk a goddamn concert N lotsa pple crowd arnd during da hungry ghost fest. Farkin noisy N dirty too.. those rubbish N thrash they created.. N da candle waxx..simple EWWW. thnk god i stay in private hse.. if nt i'd haf moved out.. some cheena pple haf no consideration fer others.. i pity my fren.. she complains tht she cant even study or slp wif tht noise.
ok that's ONE. i'll answer da rest.
2. It's nt as simple as actin cute.. da problem's up ta a new level whn these ignorant lians type.. my gawd. look at their frenstas.. i'd give a link if ya not convinced.. There usin tht goddamn service as a mailbox.. see their testis N u'll die of a bloodclot in ya brain. cant friggin understand a word they're talkin.. N it's so damn act cute. Dont be surprised guys are also doin it.. I dont haf a prob wit neoprints but under my obseravtions.. most lians lurf ta use nps as their disp pics.. N whenevr i see some with cheena wordings esp or act cute bloated faces, I will definately nt click em.. for sure.Originally posted by Ito_^:1. What is wrong with being Chinese educated? What if its like say, French or German educated? Are they supposed to be inferior to English speaking people?
2. What is wrong with taking Neoprints and acting cute!? Okay, so its abit irritating at times, but, so what is so wrong about that?
4. What is wrong with Chinese medication? Alternative healings and medications are very popular in western cultures for quite some time, those include the "chinese meds" you mentioned.
5. What is wrong with Buddism!? Its catching on in western cultures too, do you know Faithless? He is a devout Buddhist too!
6. What is wrong in placing value into Chinese? Many people are rushing to learn mandarin and I have plans to study in China after my NS too! *although my mothertongue teacher would probably have a heart attack if she hears this*
7. You know, western culture doesn't only revolves around the English language, do you?
8. What is wrong with rice!? Never mind, its personal preference. I like em all.
Heck, why didn't i think of that?Originally posted by vito_corleone:lemme make a guess, you're from acjc and go to city harvest?![]()