who cares whether they can solve it given time? next time when they work the boss ask them to calculate something, they take one year to do, like that can?Originally posted by sgboy2004:Put it tat way... given time, the kids will be able to solve it...but under exam condition, it is different lor...
mi do recognise the fact of life... but some kids hav not, and for the first time in their current life, they could not finish or not know how to do some questions in an exam, and tat can be tramatic... u r good, cos u hav U degree, but mi o level nia, so can empathetize wif themOriginally posted by the.raven:who cares whether they can solve it given time? next time when they work the boss ask them to calculate something, they take one year to do, like that can?![]()
tat's an unfair statement.Originally posted by the.raven:who cares whether they can solve it given time? next time when they work the boss ask them to calculate something, they take one year to do, like that can?![]()
education is the least influential factor in a person's destiny.Originally posted by Icemoon:tat's an unfair statement.
are you implying those uni grads who couldn't finish their exam 'cos too hard liao are poor workers in the future?
All I know is .. we have google, friends and Matlab at our disposal in the workplace. You have those in the exam?
That's correct. Exam is what it truly is .. an exam.Originally posted by sgboy2004:Put it tat way... given time, the kids will be able to solve it...but under exam condition, it is different lor...
Remembr the hoo hahs over the PSLE science paper last year?Originally posted by CoolMyth:Then when PSLE results comes out, some kid who came from China will top the cohort again....
And then when they get interviewed, they'll say "because the paper is easy...."![]()
darn~!Originally posted by Icemoon:Remembr the hoo hahs over the PSLE science paper last year?
KNN .. one of the students who wept and reported in newspaper .. she got A I think. The rest also ok. None of those crying babies failed.
I thot it might be like....Originally posted by Xiao Jun:Oh dear...anyone knows whats e type of "creative" questions asked?
Is it on e lines of "in a farm there is 1 chicken, 1 duck & 1 hen....how many chickens are there?" hehe...![]()
Next time, they will have a 10 year series on all the creative questions done before.Originally posted by leon_lai89:in the end its the singapore education system... students are becoming more "textbook" rather than "creative"
after the book is publish they will do till like siao and people will cry every year that the ques dun come out or ask in another creative manner.. then another tys will be publish in the next ten yrs and .........................................................................................................................Originally posted by charlize:Next time, they will have a 10 year series on all the creative questions done before.
I think this is a naive view of things.Originally posted by leon_lai89:in the end its the singapore education system... students are becoming more "textbook" rather than "creative"
I didn't use google, I use yahoo.Originally posted by Icemoon:That's correct. Exam is what it truly is .. an exam.
In the real world, people collaborate. They cheat. They use google. They cut and paste from the web. They plagiarise to meet deadlines.
Our education system is politicized.Originally posted by charlize:Sad to say in Singapore, anything creative will be crushed by the one size fits all mentality of the people at the top.
I don't expect this to change anytime in the near future.