Oh ... woodsville no more liao lah???Originally posted by mistyblue:wah then we better comment more...
Actually I tot Geylang Methodist is not too bad...
the former bad-boy school Woodsville is already close down liao..
See my first msg in this thread, please!Originally posted by Xcert:ok...points taken.but I still dont know what U want actually...general crowd here is too young to have kids in secondary school...those in the secondary school age bracket would have their own schools and even if they are from manjusri...what U want them to do?transfer out ASAP?
Woodsville ever since the PIE re-work was closed down many years ago.Originally posted by Honeybunz:Oh ... woodsville no more liao lah???
I am surprised Geylang Methodist is still maintain not too bad conduct lor.
But what is wrong with MJR??
From GMSS you got to Anglican High? Wow, not bad leh. Both are good schools.Originally posted by mistyblue:Woodsville ever since the PIE re-work was closed down many years ago.
GMSS - my sec1-2 school is one of the strictest school I've been. The discipline was very strict but they also explain the rights and wrong about many things. They even had their own bible based sex ed back then as they realised there was kids starting to experiment. Not much SS activities although there are more playful student and they don't study very well. Overall... I feel quite good and safe in there. But there are teachers there that are not good at teaching as there are fantastic teachers there who throw in their heart and passion. The one who cannot teach unfortunately was my form teacher back then. So i change school to Anglican high.
MJR is quite a unknown school with no super performance and no bad news from them. They were very close to woodsville back then. I feel that perhaps its the teachers or the school culture. Otherwise there's nothing much about the students. I tot its just an average school. Nothing spectecular about it
I have a couple of friends from there...pretty normal people...not ah-beng like and not exactly a sissy.Originally posted by Honeybunz:See my first msg in this thread, please!
I want comment, comment and comment on the school, if you know about it.
I may not be the one who know the most. In fact I am not.. otherwise why am I asking.
I want to hear comment like.... "I have seen good students from Manjusri who are now in NTU/NUS/working in some Ministries" to counter my criticism on the school. If you still dun get it, see FI's reply on her neighbour.
Do you have anything like that to input? Please feel free to do so.
I just want to know whether i am wrong about this school. Other school kids, I dun care.
If I am right about what I said, then I want to know whether it has been like this from Day one. Or since when it has become like this?
Huh .. so serious ah. yeah in the past is a quite school cause its in the middle of no where.Originally posted by Honeybunz:From GMSS you got to Anglican High? Wow, not bad leh. Both are good schools.
I know MJR during my time was also pretty quiet. Except that all my friends who went in there somehow change into dunno what. The guys si bei humsup. and the girls only care about BGR. But I thought it was only then and these were just a few of them.
But it has been many years later now. last time I used to hear neutral comments... like It's a very average standard school.... It's standard so so only. But now I only hear bad things.
So I am just wondering... is it the people who feedback to me plus what I observe
OR is it something wrong about the school and it's surrounding environment (Geylang) ???
Originally posted by Honeybunz:So I am just wondering... is it the people who feedback to me plus what I observe
OR is it something wrong about the school and it's surrounding environment (Geylang) ???
Ok lah.. review a little bit more lahOriginally posted by Xcert:I have a couple of friends from there...pretty normal people...not ah-beng like and not exactly a sissy.
why U get so agitated?good school/bad school is just a difference in viewpoints...
put your pic here lah. then you become famousOriginally posted by ppinkpponk:wei wei wei, write shorter, easier for the reporter to read leh.![]()
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Their feedback is : all the students there are like that one. That's why my ex students changed so much.
I am afraid to see this being true.Originally posted by choco B:In this case I think it's a problem of too large a population of students "gone bad", peer pressure being so strong that it affects all the students and the school is incompetent to help or change them.
well....U taught the kids in primary school...I think U would agree with me that people do get personality changes in secondary school due to hormone changes...how they turn out to be might not be related to the school...Originally posted by Honeybunz:The whole story starts from : In recent years, bumped into their parents who dunno what to do with them.
I didn't go into finding out what happened cuz I thought maybe small matter over a small number of students. But just happened to meet my counsellor friend and some of my ex students' friends (who are studying in other schools) while still hearing from the parents. Their feedback is : all the students there are like that one. That's why my ex students changed so much.
hmmm... ok. noted.Originally posted by Xcert:well....U taught the kids in primary school...I think U would agree with me that people do get personality changes in secondary school due to hormone changes...how they turn out to be might not be related to the school...
I am not from a top school....my secondary school is a neighbourhood school in the west...also bad reputation one lar...see police in the school compound once every few months that kind...I think I turned out OK(not the best around but should be quite acceptable lar)
anyway...there is this thing about feedbacks...part of ur info comes from the parents...and I presume the parents get their feedback from their kids...now...if U are the kid...would U tell ur parents something like "I have a stead but my other classmates all dont have"?My guess is that the kids tell their parents "My classmates all have steads so there is nothing wrong with me having one too.U are too old-fashioned"(or something like that...just to make the situation look nicer)....
and for ur counsellor friend info...I dunno...sometimes during chats...people do exaggerate a little to make their working life tougher than anyone else(maybe so that they can whine and complain about their jobs?)....I am not saying ur friend is also doing that....its just a possibility...and assuming that there is no exaggeration...ur friend...as his/her job scope require...deals with the more problematic students in the school...how objective would it be if the sample itself is biased?I dont think ur friend would just grab any student off the canteen and ask about his/her day in school,right?
for ur student doing PSLE and would be going into secondary school...my advice is to to take all comments with a pinch of salt and not worry too much about it.
welcome.Originally posted by Honeybunz:hmmm... ok. noted.
Thanks.![]()
Ermm... I had friends from Manjusri and they all went NUS... they are not that bad lahOriginally posted by Honeybunz:Oh really? First time I hear a ex MJR enter a local Uni. It is a good thing to hear lah, of course.
Which batch is it (which year?)
never even heard of it before, must be teh suxorz.Originally posted by Honeybunz:In terms of standard?
In terms of conduct?
location is not important , wat u do mean by lousy school in the heart of Red Light district ,are u trying to said the neighour school Geylang Methodist also lousy....??Originally posted by Honeybunz:I have never seen any good student in Majusri. (Sorry hor, if anyone here is from there. You may want to correct me, if you feel wrong).
My parents, aunties etc kept insisting that it is a good school just because of its Buddhist based. So what if it is a Buddhist school? It is not run by the monks. They don't impose strict rules and discipline like Shaolin Temple.
My mom even forced me to choose this school in case I don't get into the SAP schools around the East side.
From what I know (from the ppl there), every student will "go steady" as early as Secondary One. And by Sec Two, every other student will "join secret society". Nowadays still got this kind of thing one ah?
I have seen good students from Gan Eng Seng. I have also seen civilised students from Bowen. But what the farking hell is wrong with Majusri???
Is it because of its "strategic location" (being in the heart of Red Light District)????
bias ... pls dun made sweeping statement unless u are 100 % sure , i come from neighbourhood schoolOriginally posted by mistyblue:Huh .. so serious ah. yeah in the past is a quite school cause its in the middle of no where.
I guess the naughty kids who aim Woodsville now aim MJS?kiddin'
I don't think Geylang has such big influence on MJS and they are a bit off nearer to Sims Drive/Ave. However, having been in GMSS and Anglican - yeah school culture, environment and teacher/principal's passion matters a lot. Perhaps that corner of sg finds it hard to attract good teachers and motivated principals.
I think that its best to be safe than sorry ... I believe Sec education is very important to find a good school. If there's doubts, its best to go elsewhere since there's lots of schools around...
And being Buddhist or mission school does not guarantee its going to produce good studnents. My mom was pratical. She told me Mission school is very strict so I go even though she's a buddhist.
yah , i standby ur opinionOriginally posted by xfool:I m from Manjusri (1992-1996), its quite ok with some occasional bad eggs,only witness one public canning.Some are playful esp in lower sec ,I remembered some of my classmates used to make fun of Robert G the arts teacher lol.However the dicipline headmaster(DM) Mr Eng is very fiecre,almost everyday u can hear him shouting loudly.Once he got so angry over something(cant rem) that he punched a hole on a wooden desk(last time have a few but most are plastic ones) in front of the class.
And when hes teaching(physics) and hear the other class making noises(when tacher not around),he would go and give them a scolding(can hear his shouting) then come back and resume teaching. Sometimes I hink I saw him chase one of the naughty student around the school![]()