1), it's perhaps that JCs are under the charge of MOE while polytechnics are considered private institutions. that's why we still receive bus fares subsides from the govt. also, could be due to the no. of "overage" and foreign students there. u dun expect adults of 25 yrs old and those foreigners who only came for poly education to pay 45c for bus faer right?Originally posted by R3SsH|n:Just now saw the news...was about the poly forum 2005 at ngee ann poly...
some of the students commented that:
1)why poly students have to pay a higher bus fare compared to jc students even though we are all the same age and still studying...
2)some jc students are "yaya" when they see poly students just because it seems that jc students have a higher chance of going to university...
The minister at the forum,Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, had this to say about comment 1...
1)some people gets to pay lesser for the bus fare...therefore others will have to pay more...
why is it poly students have to pay more?
because our parents earn more?because quite alot of poly students work?or because jc students suppose to be the cream of the crop and they have to be spoon-fed?
and this long-going prejudice of only jc students get to go to university...has apparently made jc students a little bit proud...
wat u think?![]()
ya lohz...but think about it...if you are studying...chances are you don't work full time or regularly...even those 22-28 years old...the most they do is part-time jobs or mlm companies...seriously...how much can you earn from it?with this amount...enough for you to pay for transport...makan...and school fees?Originally posted by Depressed...*sigh*:But JC is for ppl of age 16-18 (when u first enter J1, if your are beyond that age, no matter how good your studies is, you can't get in) So maybe they get to pay student fare?
For poly, the age is not limited so they have to adult fare, oh well, but still not fair for ppl og age around 16-18 too![]()
I think its more like they chose not to make Poly under MOE,so they can charge us more..Yaa ok about the overage stuff explain to me why 20+ ITE students are using bus fares..Originally posted by skyfoo:1), it's perhaps that JCs are under the charge of MOE while polytechnics are considered private institutions. that's why we still receive bus fares subsides from the govt. also, could be due to the no. of "overage" and foreign students there. u dun expect adults of 25 yrs old and those foreigners who only came for poly education to pay 45c for bus faer right?
FYIOriginally posted by RockeY:tell me whats the difference between an ITE and a Poly?And you think no one tried running a petition before??They kept giving the same reasons which is why this problems continue to exists,cause they couldn't give us a definite enough answer to shut us ups..![]()
Starblue you very mature right?Give me a reasoning deem worthy of your "maturity"..Originally posted by RockeY:So if you can give your own opinion about us being immature,why can't we give opinions about the JC students..And since you seem to think of yourself as mature,give us a reason on this scenario..Cause uptill now your post has to be nominated as the most off topic post..![]()
I only flame those that give stupid reasons..Notice how some people that gives logical reasoning are indeed agreed on?Originally posted by Blueicez:FYI
There is a HUGE difference between ITE and Poly by the way, and there's also a difference between JC and Poly, in fact a poly diploma stands out better in comparison to just an A level cert. However, both can still get students into a uni. So whats with all these stereotype.. in the end when people graduate, they still gotta start their career from scratch when in most cases, experience weighs more than just qualifications.
Out of topic anyway..
As everyone knows.. this world is just unfair... when govt sets a regulation, there's nothing much we can do... flaming JC students won't change such a fact either
Alot of poly students go on to universities tooOriginally posted by sinicker:hello, i'm a JC student. the reason as to why jc students pay student fares is simple.
JC students are ALL in a 2-year range. afterwhich, they may quit aft As (not suggested) or go to a local uni (where they pay adult fares).
try to look at it this way. see "how near you are to entering the workforce". a jc student, upon embarking jc education has abt 6yrs (gals)/8yrs (guys) b4 they start working if they take the jcuni route. when these jc students are in uni/NS, they are already paying adult fares. thus, they pay 4yrs/6yrs of adult fare b4 they start working!
a poly student, if they start work aft obtaining their diploma, has only 3yrs (gals)/5 yrs(guys) b4 entering the workforce. they pay 3yrs/5yrs of adult fare b4 they start working!!
poly students are at an advantage? it's evident.
Ok this has to be the best reasoning from a JC student i have seen thus far, however it should be noted that when you enter the uni,you are already an adult and therefore liable to pay the adult fares..So you cannot use the number of years as a computing point.. But good reasoning though..Originally posted by sinicker:hello, i'm a JC student. the reason as to why jc students pay student fares is simple.
JC students are ALL in a 2-year range. afterwhich, they may quit aft As (not suggested) or go to a local uni (where they pay adult fares).
try to look at it this way. see "how near you are to entering the workforce". a jc student, upon embarking jc education has abt 6yrs (gals)/8yrs (guys) b4 they start working if they take the jcuni route. when these jc students are in uni/NS, they are already paying adult fares. thus, they pay 4yrs/6yrs of adult fare b4 they start working!
a poly student, if they start work aft obtaining their diploma, has only 3yrs (gals)/5 yrs(guys) b4 entering the workforce. they pay 3yrs/5yrs of adult fare b4 they start working!!
okie...so the 1 year difference right...but poly students have to pay for some many other stuff...school fees cost nearly $1000 each time...i do not think we oso have edusave to use for enrichment courses...this is evident enough they we have to eventually spend more....you agree?Originally posted by sinicker:hello, i'm a JC student. the reason as to why jc students pay student fares is simple.
Well we are both considered as tertiary education systems under the government eyes..Originally posted by Blueicez:FYI
There is a HUGE difference between ITE and Poly by the way, and there's also a difference between JC and Poly, in fact a poly diploma stands out better in comparison to just an A level cert. However, both can still get students into a uni. So whats with all these stereotype.. in the end when people graduate, they still gotta start their career from scratch when in most cases, experience weighs more than just qualifications.
Out of topic anyway..
As everyone knows.. this world is just unfair... when govt sets a regulation, there's nothing much we can do... flaming JC students won't change such a fact either
a lot is a numerical value. but what is the percentage?Originally posted by Blueicez:Alot of poly students go on to universities too![]()
alot?Originally posted by Blueicez:Alot of poly students go on to universities too![]()
Intakes this year is pretty much high this year that make the uni overcrowded.Originally posted by sinicker:a lot is a numerical value. but what is the percentage?
Go check urselfOriginally posted by sinicker:a lot is a numerical value. but what is the percentage?
if poly were to be under MOE, taxes will go skyrocket. for ITE, my assumption is that most of the students there are either (face it) malays, ah bengs, ah lians or poor. u expect them to get allowance of $200 per month? even they do, they think they can handle the transport fees in addition to their leisure, especially smoking? maybe this is why the govt is just trying to "help" them.Originally posted by RockeY:I think its more like they chose not to make Poly under MOE,so they can charge us more..Yaa ok about the overage stuff explain to me why 20+ ITE students are using bus fares..![]()
yes, i do agree wiv u.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:okie...so the 1 year difference right...but poly students have to pay for some many other stuff...school fees cost nearly $1000 each time...i do not think we oso have edusave to use for enrichment courses...this is evident enough they we have to eventually spend more....you agree?
Actually i thought of that too,but i didn't wana say it cause later people say i discriminate them..Originally posted by skyfoo:if poly were to be under MOE, taxes will go skyrocket. for ITE, my assumption is that most of the students there are either (face it) malays, ah bengs, ah lians or poor. u expect them to get allowance of $200 per month? even they do, they think they can handle the transport fees in addition to their leisure, especially smoking? maybe this is why the govt is just trying to "help" them.
Ok loh.. maybe the people whom i know from poly are cleverer loh.. coz most of them are in uni now.. which does not represent the whole poly population...so in this case, that reason's quite logical... you all gotta accept it... and be happy with ur adult fares : )Originally posted by R3SsH|n:alot?
only max about 20% constitutes poly students...give and take 15% are foreign students...the rest 65%?
wat do u tink?
The newest ITE is soo freaking grand la..Originally posted by skyfoo:if poly were to be under MOE, taxes will go skyrocket. for ITE, my assumption is that most of the students there are either (face it) malays, ah bengs, ah lians or poor. u expect them to get allowance of $200 per month? even they do, they think they can handle the transport fees in addition to their leisure, especially smoking? maybe this is why the govt is just trying to "help" them.
i think lately, there has been too much emphasis on the reputation of ite students. let's take a look. at least twice a week, there's an article in the straits times talking abt how successful an ITE graduate has become.Originally posted by skyfoo:if poly were to be under MOE, taxes will go skyrocket. for ITE, my assumption is that most of the students there are either (face it) malays, ah bengs, ah lians or poor. u expect them to get allowance of $200 per month? even they do, they think they can handle the transport fees in addition to their leisure, especially smoking? maybe this is why the govt is just trying to "help" them.
Erm maybe its up to people like you to inspire them to go into the JCs..But i have to disagree with you on one thing,its that if you take the JC/Uni route you have to pay the adult fees more den the poly students,simply because when you enter uni,you are already an adult and therefore liable...Originally posted by sinicker:i think lately, there has been too much emphasis on the reputation of ite students. let's take a look. at least twice a week, there's an article in the straits times talking abt how successful an ITE graduate has become.
honestly, i, as a jc student, do not have any prejudice/discrimination against them. but a minority of them, their behaviour just irks me. black sheep destroys the whole reputation.
and as a malay, i too am quite sad to know of the large % of ITE students being malays. malays have this "as long as i get thru" attitude which is not helpful at all.
Yah.. simei campus right.. its damn near my house.. but what i heard.. some of the students don't know how to appreciate all these good stuffs... they vandalise etc.Originally posted by RockeY:The newest ITE is soo freaking grand la..![]()