my internal very poor.. ddnt come to class much..but in the end still can get distinction..wat u think leh?so easy meh? i see the book like really cannot remember. over 100 pages of full text and......how to memorize by heart?
Btw, wat book u use? Kotler one? Mktg 6ed one?no lah, i from MDIS mah, so i use their bounded book. it's something more like a set of binded lecture notes, whereby there's 5 pages of text and 10 pages of powerpoint primted slides for each chapter.
I memorize AND understand. If you can link all the topics together then you got itOriginally posted by Nikar:hi all,
i'm currently in a marketing course now and the exams are coming in a few months time.
just curious, though.
for those of u who've studied marketing before and got your cert, how do you memorize the stuff? do u read the textbook and memorize everything, like the 4Ps of marketing, the indiviual strategies of pricing, everything about the SWOT analysis and the sentences of theories etc.?
because i saw a sample exam paper yesterday and the questions seem to require you to write down facts on the textbooks.
is it like history, where you've to understand what happens and then memorize everything?
because the textbook is quite monstrously thick, so surely it cannot be pure memorizing? thanks.
Marketing is relatively easy to score. Just remember all the major pointers lor.Originally posted by Nikar:hi all,
i'm currently in a marketing course now and the exams are coming in a few months time.
just curious, though.
for those of u who've studied marketing before and got your cert, how do you memorize the stuff? do u read the textbook and memorize everything, like the 4Ps of marketing, the indiviual strategies of pricing, everything about the SWOT analysis and the sentences of theories etc.?
because i saw a sample exam paper yesterday and the questions seem to require you to write down facts on the textbooks.
is it like history, where you've to understand what happens and then memorize everything?
because the textbook is quite monstrously thick, so surely it cannot be pure memorizing? thanks.
Marketing is relatively easy to score. Just remember all the major pointers lor. And give examples. They are more concern if u know how to apply.Thanks Ice! ha ha......u're so far ahead of me; i just started chapter 1 today.
My exams are on next thurs..haven't read yet.
The way I intend to study mine is:
- Know what marketing concepts are available (application)
Such as:
(e) Societal Marketing concept (I think)
This helpful enough? I haven't studied much for my paper yet...so this is the only thing think of "off-hand"
Thanks Ice! ha ha......u're so far ahead of me; i just started chapter 1 today.Depends on ur target audience is who lor.. Different audience different strategy.. if the audience is btw 18- 25, they see certain advertisement on certain time of day.. devised a plan delegate to tat type of ppl.. 35% profits? marketing has a fading effect on its customers.. soo if u don't remind them to buy, they will tend to forget u.. u hav to develop a plan, when they hav a need to use.. they straight away know where to get it from..! and Tats the Trick! The company itself plays another part into the project, the funds make available.. IS the company able to undertake to go for long-term advertisement..? [/quote]
anyway, yes. marketing is rather easy to understand, but i got one question u may have the answer to.
in future, if we wanna become marketing executives/marketeers, wouldn't it be very hard to apply the knowledge into the real world?
because marketing is very theoretical and the real world(real companies) are very practical.
imagine : u join a company as a marketing assistant/executive(just fresh out of school) and the company is working on a project to bring out the new product and increase the company's profits by 35%. like that how?
u got any views and advice on this?
thanks,
nikar.
marketing is all about you own intuition... hhaa.. marketing is all Bull #%^! ! its true.. saying impossible into possible.. i usually write a whole crap of marketing for jus one question.. You will eventually incorporate all the theory u have learnt.. product life cycles, all sort of promotions to sell ur products.. (Some of the questions require u think hw to market the product itself)but is it when u join a company, the lao-jiaos there will teach you?
i like marketing becos it gif me the ability to present.. i like more on presentation instead.. doing stun in front of the class build confidence in me and my personal well-beingyeah lah, i like that also. can be hero and impress girls somemore.
Tis traits u will eventually pick up on ur way in ur 3 yrs of POLY... by the way.. which poly are you from?no lah, i'm from MDIS, studying part-time marketing diploma mah.
you in a more advantageous position to make more wise decision with accordance of the competitive postioning in the market..compare the other guys who do know or little knowledge of marketinglike that i even more stress. imagine : 1st day go company, got a team of the boss's favorite marketing team, all giving you du-lan face, especially the guys, think they're experts.
By the way, You completed ur NS liao mah?yeah lah, a few months ago. u leh? u're in university now is it?
wat is there to memorise? only the different kind od pricing strategies?huh????!!!!
wat are the 4Ps? what is SWOT? U should already know all these at ur finger tips liao mah.no lah......the teacher now at chapter 10 and i haven't even self-study chapter 1 until today. a bit late, but still got time if i try very hard.
Woah nice! that was wat i was thinking to write when i 1st read the topic starter post. Hmm... basically u have already listed the mail things that can score~ which means that with all these remember in mind, the topic start can sure pass liao. It's only the additional facts that his syllabus has that got to be read on addition.Originally posted by icebaby0:Marketing is relatively easy to score. Just remember all the major pointers lor.
And give examples. They are more concern if u know how to apply.
My exams are on next thurs..haven't read yet.
The way I intend to study mine is:
- Know what marketing concepts are available (application)
Such as:
(a) Pdt concept
(b) Production Concept
(c) Sales Oriented Concept
(d) Customer Oriented concept
(e) Societal Marketing concept (I think)
- How u apply marketing to a marketing plan? (Cos marketing plan u must know marketing) Such as:
(a) Internal Environment
(b) External Environment (Macro environment)
(c) Core Capabilities
(d) Market Trends/Market Research (such as primary research/secondary research)
(e) SWOT analysis
(f) Segmentation
(g) Marketing Strategy
(h) Marketing tactics/mix (4 Ps or services 7Ps)
- Then read up on the rest such as relationship marketing
- Buyers and Sellers behaviours?
- Understand how to apply the marketing mix
(i.e. (i) Pricing strategy will depend how u wanna price ur items. As luxury item/Affordable/Cheap to enter the market place. (ii) Product strategy - is it a niche product/differeniated product. Or you just wish to product more for economies of scales sake. (iii) Promotion strategy - thru media/advertising/newspapers/direct marketing, etc (iv) Place strategy - where u wish to place ur product or sell your product. Convinence? etc?)
This helpful enough? I haven't studied much for my paper yet...so this is the only thing think of "off-hand"