lack of enforcement lor if they start jailing pple then it will stopOriginally posted by Manager433:No smoking @ various area starts on the 1st Oct. Yet why are there so many ppl ignored it and continue to smoke at bus interchange, bus-stops etc etc?
Hahaha... hisoka, after they smoke in jail how leh? =)Originally posted by hisoka:lack of enforcement lor if they start jailing pple then it will stop
actually i think raising of tax is more for deterring pple from takign up smoking lor.Originally posted by renorenal:Hahaha... hisoka, after they smoke in jail how leh? =)
But I agree lar, we passive smokers suffer the most, coz of the burnt products that are floating in the air and we inhaling it. The smokers get less risk of lung cancer compared to us second hand smokers... sighs...
Laws ought to be more stringent and enforced as well... Raising tax is one...
Yeah... personally do you think by using nicotine patches or the gums will remove the addiction?Originally posted by hisoka:actually i think raising of tax is more for deterring pple from takign up smoking lor.
if you addicted le not much choice right?
OOP strikes againOriginally posted by 0ut of P0int:The zoo is a place for animals to study the behaviour of human beings.
then if there is no cigarette n cigar then they can't smoke liao riteOriginally posted by ditzy:If there are no bus stops, no one can smoke at bus stops. Get the gist?![]()
Hmm... sounds true enough that the zoo should be a place for smoking so that the animals can study our behavior... I think that is what you meanOriginally posted by 0ut of P0int:The zoo is a place for animals to study the behaviour of human beings.
Originally posted by dragg:frankly i dont understand why people keep complaining about 2nd hand smoke.
i am not a smoker too. but how much 2nd hand smoke do you take in in a day?
walk away from the smoker if you cant stand the smoke.
thats all.
beat the sh!t out of themOriginally posted by dragg:i extracted this from the straits times forum.
Is it against the law to smoke outside designated areas in zoo?
My wife and I brought our baby son to the Singapore Zoo on Oct 12.
We were unfortunate to be caught in a sudden afternoon downpour and had to take shelter at the Children's World Animal Land.
While waiting for the rain to stop, a young man who was taking shelter with us lighted a cigarette and started smoking within 10 metres of us.
I requested that he put out his cigarette as we had a young child with us. He turned aggressive and loudly claimed that he was nowhere near where we were.
He continued to puff his cigarette while staring at us in a provocative manner. We had to endure his second-hand smoke until the rain stopped and we were able to leave the shelter.
The Singapore Zoo, according to the visitor's map, is smoke-free and has at least three designated smoking areas.
Is it against the law for anyone to smoke outside these designated areas? If yes, how do the staff enforce it?
If not, how can one protect oneself from smokers short of putting the cigarettes out for them?
Koh Pak Keng
then you have to either bear with the smoke or confront him.Originally posted by Kenashi:![]()
why must i move???
he is doing something that is illegal n I must move for him!
u must be kidding me
i always go into confrontation as long as i believe i am rite.Originally posted by dragg:then you have to either bear with the smoke or confront him.
which do you normally choose to do?
i normally walk away. because i am not prepared to go into a confrontation over some 2nd hand smoke.
in life it is not always about who is right but what you can do about certain situations.
hope you wont end up getting beaten up for your principles.Originally posted by Kenashi:i always go into confrontation as long as i believe i am rite.
i know it is always easier to walk away but it is against my principles.
if u don't even care about yrself, i wonder how much u will care about others?
I know what i can do n what i am capable of doing.![]()
haven't b4 n i don't think i will ever be.Originally posted by dragg:hope you wont end up getting beaten up for your principles.
anyway as far as this scenario is concerned i dont think i have much to lose by walking away.![]()