impossible, cos economy might fall and fall and fall...then people automatically stop smoking and gahmen oso lose out....Originally posted by Mr Fugue:from the 90s to now, price alreadi raised from $2.50 per pack to now $10+ per pack.
you tell me, $50 is impossible??
Hey that sounds like a good idea!Originally posted by octega:My suggestion better:-
Why not use COE as an example and implement a Certificate Of Smoking. Where u bid for a piece of paper to let u be entitle to smoke.
i hate it when smokers kpkb about how non-smokers should stay clear of smokers when the area is usually a common placeOriginally posted by dracky:I hate it when people kpkb about cigarette smoke in open air environments. Non-smokers already pay more taxes still kpkb.
geez..Originally posted by gorby107:hmm.....
FireIce never reply here
Seems she object to the raise of cigaratte price
it's you smokers who buay zi dong, along the pavements/corridors/walkways, you all see people coming, you quickly ''store power''.Originally posted by dracky:You don't smoke doesn't mean that smokers must pay more for their cigarettes. I say either you join the smokers or you get out of our way. There are already many places which are smoke free. Go there and stay there.
Originally posted by octega:My suggestion better:-
Why not use COE as an example and implement a Certificate Of Smoking. Where u bid for a piece of paper to let u be entitle to smoke.![]()

even if got inforcement, people still smokes.Originally posted by Aveme:Imo,the govt should step up on the enforcement more before considering more places to ban.
You see lots of people now bo chup the ban in places that are now supposed to be smoke free.
if enforcement is not there,list all sorta places out is still useless.
nope.Originally posted by dragg:fugue,
have you ever try telling telling your smoking-colleague/friends about your indea of a higher cigarette price?
Originally posted by sohguanh:$50 per pack is not un-achievable but gahmen has to be very careful in having such a big jump in such a short time. It could cause some public uproar and if election is coming soon, there maybe a swing in votes cuz I belif smokers are very dedicated and passionate about their hobby and will fight tooth and nail for their rights to smoke at a more affordable price.

If raise so much..the pple will angry with the Gahmen! Den later lesser pple will vote for PAP! Old Mr. Lee Wun want that!Originally posted by Aveme:the govt must be clever mah.You think they do not want it at $50 meh.
The point is to slowly but not that infrequently increase the price so that the people get used to the price and will still buy.(increase in price make up the short fall from small % of people who quit so that revenue remain constant or maybe increase)Like that to them is good mah,They can retain revenue and at the same time,they can boast they they sucessfully made some people quit.
Also cannot increase to $50 at a go as this will create an uproar
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hahaha. my friends go to msia to buy packs of ciggys
Originally posted by no_1_idiot:Aiyah ,ppl will smuggle in frm MAlaysia lah or go dere smoke.![]()
Idiots
Originally posted by WiNtEr'SkiLL:smoking cannot be controlled..
the smokers will find some way or another to bring in the cigarettes
they will die if they dont smoke