Even the 'barbaric Englishman' theory is being questioned, mainly due to the existence of Stonehenge.Originally posted by Honeybunz:There was also a book that says Jesus was brought to India when he was a kid. The author was called Elizabeth something or what.
About Jesus visiting England is even more ridiculous now. We all know that even in Tang Dynasty (about AD 700), the English people were still barbarians hunting animals in jungle for a living. So Jesus went there for what? To learn hunting ah?
All these ppl are trying to prove that people in Jesus' time could widely travel around the world, without the use of steam ship or aeroplane.
Actually the Church does have records here and there of Jesus' childhood. But it is not in the bible because it is not relevant to His teaching. But some think that if the bible doesn't contain the book, the book doesn't exist at all.
eh... why would his parents let him go to England with his uncle?Originally posted by laurence82:Even the 'barbaric Englishman' theory is being questioned, mainly due to the existence of Stonehenge.
And, its thought that he followed his uncle, joseph of arimathea(?) to england
in cornwall, the miners there even had an old song
wait while i go look for it....
and that he learnt rituals n magic spells from the priests there. wow.Originally posted by iveco:It is known that Jesus speant part of his early childhood in Egypt.
better den speaking chinese.. though.Originally posted by Honeybunz:eh... why would his parents let him go to England with his uncle?
England was not a nearby country in those days.
Assuming that he went to England, so how does this reconcile with the theory on him being brought to India to learn Buddhism?
Where did you get all these info from? Don't tell me you saw a book on this and you bought it.And don't tell me your source also say Jesus speaks English. I sure faint one.
Lived in Egypt means he must have learnt magic spells ah?Originally posted by Ito_^:and that he learnt rituals n magic spells from the priests there. wow.![]()
ting suo de la.. gt more sia. i read dunnoe where he was actually an initiate of the religion or cult there. dats y he learnt those rituals. why he joined, i dunnoe le.Originally posted by Honeybunz:Lived in Egypt means he must have learnt magic spells ah?
Then you live in Woodlands, does that mean you learnt to smuggle cigerattes and chewing gums from JB? wow.
I also ting suo he was just a carpenter, making tables and chairs for his customer's homes. Joseph, his mother's husband was also a carpenter. But I ting suo from the bible one, NOT from a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of my next door neighbour's ex-mother-in-law's 8th husband's 2nd cousin's 3rd husband's ex-wife's mother's beautician!Originally posted by Ito_^:ting suo de la.. gt more sia. i read dunnoe where he was actually an initiate of the religion or cult there. dats y he learnt those rituals. why he joined, i dunnoe le.
eh, for one thing, i says speculations, or rather, one of the possible guesses historians made in their research, this among the theories he was brought to India to learn BuddhismOriginally posted by Honeybunz:eh... why would his parents let him go to England with his uncle?
England was not a nearby country in those days.
Assuming that he went to England, so how does this reconcile with the theory on him being brought to India to learn Buddhism?
Where did you get all these info from? Don't tell me you saw a book on this and you bought it.And don't tell me your source also say Jesus speaks English. I sure faint one.
Wait, I tot you know this, that the family escaped to Egypt to escape Herod if i am not wrong....Originally posted by Ito_^:and that he learnt rituals n magic spells from the priests there. wow.![]()
no i read on a book in the library a long time ago.Originally posted by Honeybunz:I also ting suo he was just a carpenter, making tables and chairs for his customer's homes. Joseph, his mother's husband was also a carpenter. But I ting suo from the bible one, NOT from a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of my next door neighbour's ex-mother-in-law's 8th husband's 2nd cousin's 3rd husband's ex-wife's mother's beautician!
dun remember dat part.. i noe it says somehow they ended there.Originally posted by laurence82:Wait, I tot you know this, that the family escaped to Egypt to escape Herod if i am not wrong....
Actually i got one book which try to dispel some myths, some on christOriginally posted by Honeybunz:I also ting suo he was just a carpenter, making tables and chairs for his customer's homes. Joseph, his mother's husband was also a carpenter. But I ting suo from the bible one, NOT from a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend of my next door neighbour's ex-mother-in-law's 8th husband's 2nd cousin's 3rd husband's ex-wife's mother's beautician!
and pastor kong says he was quite rich too, like a successful businessman because his family was the only person doing it in town.Originally posted by laurence82:Actually i got one book which try to dispel some myths, some on christ
Is he really a carpenter? In those days, a carpenter means something more of a general builder.
I think pastor kong is prolly using this sort of thing to bull his way around about faith and wealth to enrich his coffers...Originally posted by Ito_^:and pastor kong says he was quite rich too, like a successful businessman because his family was the only person doing it in town.![]()
eh... actually the book that I mentioned about him going to India did say that he was brought there by a group of merchants to learn Buddhism. This may be dumb. But the author is smart. This is the best way to make money.... con ppl with this kind of fantasy stories and make them pay for the book.Originally posted by laurence82:eh, for one thing, i says speculations, or rather, one of the possible guesses historians made in their research, this among the theories he was brought to India to learn Buddhism
second, its possible, by that time, the Roman Empire is pretty well connected by roads
And, English wasnt invented at that time. if i see a book that says he speak english, u think i so dumb go believe meh?
How u noe these guys are just doing it for fame? How u noe not true?Originally posted by Honeybunz:eh... actually the book that I mentioned about him going to India did say that he was brought there by a group of merchants to learn Buddhism. This may be dumb. But the author is smart. This is the best way to make money.... con ppl with this kind of fantasy stories and make them pay for the book.
Roads were well connected but travelling was not cheap. Somemore it's all the way to Britain. In those days context, that was a very long journey. Jesus and his family were not rich ppl. Somemore he was to base there for so many years. Joseph was just a carpenter and his wife a housewife. Who was going to bear his travelling expenditure?
Somehow all these historians or scientists tend to make up all kinds of wild guesses when they are too desperate for fame. I have read too many of such things. They can sound really convincing. Last time Wanbao used to have one section dedicated to this kind of "findings" invented by historians, scientist etc. Whatever speculations or writeup on Jesus being in China, Indian or England, I will just read it as though I am reading some fanciful stories like Lord of the Ring or Harry Potter.
He was, unless the people mentioned in the bible lied.Originally posted by laurence82:Actually i got one book which try to dispel some myths, some on christ
Is he really a carpenter? In those days, a carpenter means something more of a general builder.
Whatever occupation he had, he was living amongst poor commoners such as us.Originally posted by laurence82:Actually i got one book which try to dispel some myths, some on christ
Well, why cant people in the bible lied?Originally posted by Honeybunz:He was, unless the people mentioned in the bible lied.
What general builder?
He made tables and chairs one lah. Ya lah. General builder of tables and chairs lor.
You actually bought a book on that? My goodness. How much did you pay for that??!?!??!
Sheesh, a general builder, did i say, tables and chair builder?Originally posted by Honeybunz:He was, unless the people mentioned in the bible lied.
What general builder?
He made tables and chairs one lah. Ya lah. General builder of tables and chairs lor.
You actually bought a book on that? My goodness. How much did you pay for that??!?!??!
by the way, how much u pay for ur bible? got tok or not?Originally posted by Honeybunz:He was, unless the people mentioned in the bible lied.
What general builder?
How I know it's not true ah.... See the logic that I pointed out lor.Originally posted by laurence82:How u noe these guys are just doing it for fame? How u noe not true?
Besides, then how u explain the whereabouts of jesus from childhood till he enter jerusalem?
ehhhh it was not just one person who said that he was a carpenter.Originally posted by laurence82:Well, why cant people in the bible lied?
Oh, my bible, free one from the church when I attended my class.Originally posted by laurence82:by the way, how much u pay for ur bible? got tok or not?![]()
No you didn't. But He was a carpenter that made tables and chairs.Originally posted by laurence82:Sheesh, a general builder, did i say, tables and chair builder?