This is wholly based, esp ur 3rd para, on the assumptions the bible is totally true, and written by honest men, in a way it can negate the 'unimportant' part of his teenage years, and concentrate wholly on his teachings,Originally posted by Honeybunz:How I know it's not true ah.... See the logic that I pointed out lor.
If they are not doing it for fame, then they do it for what?
See my earlier reply on Jesus' childhood. The Church does have records here and there about that.
To further dispel the saying about Jesus "travel around the world" before he entered Jerusalem....
1) if he travelled when he was a kid or teenager.... Travelling is risky, whether it's during Roman time or today. Will His parents want to risk their child's life like this? This was not a game. The only time they made him travel was to run away from King Herod.
2) if he travelled at a much older age.. let's say... 20 plus. Joseph was a carpenter and later Jesus became a carpenter, should around that age (plus or minus).
So at what age should the travelling been taken place? Note: Travelling took a long time at that time cuz of the mode of transport they used, regardless of whether the road was well connected or not. Somemore now those soon-to-be-famous historians are saying that he went to England and lived there. That was almost reaching the Northern part of European.
3) If he had travelled to England, that should be something significant or worth talking about. But why didn't he mention it to anybody? Or why didn't anybody add this part into the Gospel or any other books? Don't tell me this is supposed to be kept secret?
The reason why his childhood was hardly or even never mentioned in most of the teachings is because that was very insignificant to His purpose of coming to the world and to His teachings.
i got my book during my childhoodOriginally posted by Honeybunz:Oh, my bible, free one from the church when I attended my class.
So how much did you pay for your book?
I said general builder, which part of my earlier post says i didnt say he was a general builder?Originally posted by Honeybunz:No you didn't. But He was a carpenter that made tables and chairs.
Not some general builder. I was just trying to correct you.
AbudenOriginally posted by M©+square:Heh. Another bait topic...
Originally posted by laurence82:This is wholly based, esp ur 3rd para, on the assumptions the bible is totally true, and written by honest men, in a way it can negate the 'unimportant' part of his teenage years, and concentrate wholly on his teachings,
Secondly, why, and prove travelling around the Roman empire is dangerous, especially when some reports mentioned he was accompanied by his uncle? You think wad, Singaporeans har, who treat their child like some precious treasure?
And lastly, still havent conclusively tell us why historians write for fame leh...
This is wholly based, esp ur 3rd para, on the assumptions the bible is totally true, and written by honest men, in a way it can negate the 'unimportant' part of his teenage years, and concentrate wholly on his teachings,That will be your own assumption lor.
Thanks SgMacrosOriginally posted by SingaporeMacross:Whatever occupation he had, he was living amongst poor commoners such as us.
Oh you were a kid then. So u did pay for the book lah?Originally posted by laurence82:i got my book during my childhood
so dont noe the price....
How would i noe? I already said historian put guesses, that means from his early childhood. I dont why people treat as if i say its the truth wor....and i stated clearly that these are one of the theories being researched....there is a possibility he may have travel outOriginally posted by Honeybunz:That will be your own assumption lor.
Wah, you really believe everything that ppl speculate and assume wor. Very dangerous you know.
Anyway, why would a NORMAL parent allow his or her child to be accompanied by an uncle to a faraway land? Any kind of travelling is dangerous. This, anybody will know. Plus, why would the uncle pay for all his nephew's travelling expenditure? You think they were like Singaporeans, can surf internet, write email and use visa card.
Why don't historians write for fame? Ok lah. Maybe fame is the wrong word. It should be money then. If not, maye you can tell me what they write for.
Hey, you still haven't answered pt 2. At what age did he travel?
so i guess u were a kid when u lap up what u see in the bible? i see i see....Originally posted by Honeybunz:Oh you were a kid then. So u did pay for the book lah?
I see i see.
a new form of self denialOriginally posted by The Emperor:all these meaningless arguments and debates.... haiz!
i heard there's a saying: don't feed the dogs what they cannot digest or accept.
this thread is Fucked up! Period.
of cuzOriginally posted by M©+square:I always like to read HBz posts. Very funny.
Forgive him. He doesn't know what he's talking about too!Originally posted by laurence82:a new form of self denial
i see i see
calling people dogs when they dont see eye to eye, without a bit of self examination
ok lor...
just today i got one staunch christian who admit to me he practised occult wor...![]()
dont noe, i mean, what debate arise in the first place?Originally posted by M©+square:Forgive him. He doesn't know what he's talking about too!
Since when did he have an uncle called Joseph of Arimathea?Originally posted by laurence82:Even the 'barbaric Englishman' theory is being questioned, mainly due to the existence of Stonehenge.
And, its thought that he followed his uncle, joseph of arimathea(?) to england
in cornwall, the miners there even had an old song
wait while i go look for it....
Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:Since when did he have an uncle called Joseph of Arimathea?
Joseph of Arimathea is the guy who buried Jesus in the tomb!
what? did i say something wrong?Originally posted by James1:![]()
given the roman dislike for jews i doubt a jew would become a senator..you should really go to the imperial forum and see the arc depicting the roman destruction of jerusalem.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Go easy on Lau...I have a book titled 'Hidden Stories Of The Childhood Of Jesus' (Glenn Kimball, 2nd printing 1999). The author has an extensive bibliography. I'm not expounding it as the truth, but it does say that Joseph of Arimathea was also related to Mary, a Senator and Noblis Decuro.
It's an interesting read that doesn't have to be taken seriously (I could detect the author's unhappiness with people who object to the extra-Biblical documents). It won't change perspectives about Jesus, though there were miracles attributed to him in his childhood.![]()
Go easy on someone who lacks sincerity and sucks up to the mods when things are not going his way? Count me out.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Go easy on Lau...I have a book titled 'Hidden Stories Of The Childhood Of Jesus' (Glenn Kimball, 2nd printing 1999). The author has an extensive bibliography. I'm not expounding it as the truth, but it does say that Joseph of Arimathea was also related to Mary, a Senator and Noblis Decuro.
It's an interesting read that doesn't have to be taken seriously (I could detect the author's unhappiness with people who object to the extra-Biblical documents). It won't change perspectives about Jesus, though there were miracles attributed to him in his childhood.![]()