yes...reduce swimming lorOriginally posted by borntolive:why i got white patches on my back..is it cause i swim? ..anyway to reduce it?
my mother donoOriginally posted by dragg:white spots.
ask your mother. old folks know how to cure it.
in hokkien it is call pek tio.
Sorry but .......what is it call in cantonese? Me no no hokkien lah.Originally posted by dragg:white spots.
ask your mother. old folks know how to cure it.
in hokkien it is call pek tio.
eh issit vermicolor or versicolor?Originally posted by renorenal:Oh skin disease! pytiriasis vermicolor...![]()
LOL....literally its: Bak Din (Bai Dian in Chinese)..hahaha...sounds so funny now..Originally posted by Manager433:Sorry but .......what is it call in cantonese? Me no no hokkien lah.![]()
Yeah, it's versicolorOriginally posted by alfagal:eh issit vermicolor or versicolor?
anyway, its jus some microbial actions tat produces acid tat bleaches ur skin..therefore got white patches lo..
go pharmacy ask for it..usually they have sulphur content in it..Guardian got..saw my sis use before..
there is another brand tat is v famous for tis condition..forgot wat name liaoz..
people use white vinegar loh, put on cotton wool and applyOriginally posted by borntolive:my mother dono
Have you guys heard of the shampoo sold over the counter in pharmacies called Selsun? It is a combination of two compounds called Selenium Sulphide... It is applied to the body and rinsed off after 30 minutes every day for a week...Originally posted by Ray2:people use white vinegar loh, put on cotton wool and apply
ang moh method is the doctor will give you some cream loh, dunno issit steroid cream or what, must ask renorenal.
many older peeps says its due to sweat mixture w water..tatz y mothers always tell e sweaty kid to wipe off e sweat n cool down first before bathe...Originally posted by borntolive:but will it come back after swimming?
The causes so far is uncertain. The microbes is called Pytiriasis orbiculares and everyone has it once in a while during their lifetime. However, our skin's acidic secretions does not allow it to stay put for a long time, hence normal ppl will be fine... but if you have an immunodeficiency (such as HIV or on steroidal medications), then the chances for the fungi to proliferate will be better...Originally posted by borntolive:but will it come back after swimming?
hee...are u saying to use shampoo on his back?Originally posted by renorenal:Have you guys heard of the shampoo sold over the counter in pharmacies called Selsun? It is a combination of two compounds called Selenium Sulphide... It is applied to the body and rinsed off after 30 minutes every day for a week...
Another type is the ketoconazole shampoo which is used to wash the body for five minutes once daily for five days...
Treatment of the first outbreak will rapidly prevent the condition from developing further or deteriorates lor...
The white patches, however will remain for a couple of months until the skin has renewed itself...
Many other skin diseases that require a completely different treatment can cause the same symptoms as pityriasis versicolor, so what the doctor will do is to carry out a few tests...Originally posted by alfagal:many older peeps says its due to sweat mixture w water..tatz y mothers always tell e sweaty kid to wipe off e sweat n cool down first before bathe...
so my guess is u were tanning, then jump straight into e water lo..
anyway if the lotion at pharmacy doesnt help then maybe its other white looking fungus...go see doc liaoz..
Hehehe... it is called shampoo coz it is in a shampoo form lor... liquid one... I used to have this condition on my head... so I use it for about 4 months before the symptoms go off... mine was caused by the same microbes, but different disorder... now ok liau... there is also a lotion form...Originally posted by alfagal:hee...are u saying to use shampoo on his back?
if im right they are patch of sunburnt skin and they start to peel off and new skin will replace them...i also got them last time i never apply sunblock at sentosa palawan beach....Originally posted by borntolive:why i got white patches on my back..is it cause i swim? ..anyway to reduce it?
That I haven't heard before... you may want to consult a Chinese sinseh for further elaboration or explanation...Originally posted by chunyong:buy those solution from chinese medical stores....inside got salicylic acid...apply liao will recover...dun overapply as it will burn ur skin. its the same solution to treat ringworms...yellow one.
lol...suffering from it now..yeah at palawan too..not too long ago..Originally posted by ceecookie:if im right they are patch of sunburnt skin and they start to peel off and new skin will replace them...i also got them last time i never apply sunblock at sentosa palawan beach....
Yeah, it's most likely if it's not itchy... but just painful superficially on touch... prevention is better than cure, get a sunblock of good SPF (sun protecting factor)... some may be 35% (but that is for SLE), normal ppl, 15-25% should be enough...Originally posted by ceecookie:if im right they are patch of sunburnt skin and they start to peel off and new skin will replace them...i also got them last time i never apply sunblock at sentosa palawan beach....