I thought SQ food are among the best already?Originally posted by BillyBong:With SQ food? No way.....![]()
I would disagree with their strategy to fly 22 hours non-stop. For cargo, i think its ok, for passenger, i think it will be a torture. I have tried the non-stop NY-Sin 18hours flight. all I can say is that it is HELL, specially for economy plus passenger.Originally posted by BillyBong:With fuel prices going up, Boeing's change in marketing strategy seems the right way to go.
Rather than compete directly with Airbus industries for sheer size, they opted for the intuitive approach of fuel efficient engines coupled with a wide-bodied fuselage design and spacious interior as the forefront of their sales campaign.
In the long run, i can't see them losing out to Airbus.
hmmmOriginally posted by BillyBong:And for those interested in SIA's Airbus A380...
simulation lah. Test flight what.Originally posted by ceecookie:I wonder why they bother to go the longer way which is in eastward...they should fly west because its nearer wat
I hope they will have a child care section for all the babies and mothers. That way babies can cry as loud as they want...Originally posted by borgkilla:hmmm
u think they would have a massage area ??

I thought their 17h NY non-stop route was excellent...plenty of time saved, less hassle for baggage etc. As a passenger, all you have to do is walk around to keep the blood circulation going.Originally posted by Gazelle:I would disagree with their strategy to fly 22 hours non-stop. For cargo, i think its ok, for passenger, i think it will be a torture. I have tried the non-stop NY-Sin 18hours flight. all I can say is that it is HELL, specially for economy plus passenger.
As for the fuel efficient of boeing, it will be less effective when oil price start to fall, which I hope will happen soon.
Airbus 380 advantge is to maximise the landing right and it will be very effective for SIA's Kangaroo route.
380 will help to boost SIA's UK-SIN-Australia business without the need to more landing rights.Originally posted by BillyBong:I thought their 17h NY non-stop route was excellent...plenty of time saved, less hassle for baggage etc. As a passenger, all you have to do is walk around to keep the blood circulation going.
The A340-500 series plying this route are also more spacious seat for seat with more leg room and wider bodied. The numbers can't lie; i can't even book a seat 1-2 months ahead of schedule for my business trips.
If the trend continues, don't expect fuel prices to drop anytime soon. In fact, expect a rise as technology improves efficiency per litre consumption and OPEC will certainly take advantage of the situation to jack up prices.
And SIA just shelved the Kangaroo route with Australia....no chance of an Oceania route yet.
Raffles class cost something in the range of 10.7K...my company can't afford that for a lowly employee like me...Originally posted by Gazelle:380 will help to boost SIA's UK-SIN-Australia business without the need to more landing rights.
Maybe you are right. are you trying to book raffles or eco-plus seat? or are they both fully booked?
Err... must fly 22h meh? besides how far is 11k nautical miles?Originally posted by Gazelle:I would disagree with their strategy to fly 22 hours non-stop. For cargo, i think its ok, for passenger, i think it will be a torture. I have tried the non-stop NY-Sin 18hours flight. all I can say is that it is HELL, specially for economy plus passenger.
As for the fuel efficient of boeing, it will be less effective when oil price start to fall, which I hope will happen soon.
Airbus 380 advantge is to maximise the landing right and it will be very effective for SIA's Kangaroo route.
Well the concorde worked out pretty well huh?Originally posted by ceecookie:I feel that instead of spending more time and $ on comfort they should focus more on speed...If say they manage to produce mach 4 + engine for the aeroplanes that a trip to USA is just a few hours compared to a day now
I regret that the concorde is no more....why is it soOriginally posted by BillyBong:Well the concorde worked out pretty well huh?But don't tell BAe or French aviation that.
The current fuel consumption and high costs does not justify the expected short range and low passenger manifest of supersonic flights.
Boeing is already looking into orbital/atmospheric flights (straight up and straight down) to cut distances and time.
Cost? you willing to pay $14K for a ticket?Originally posted by ceecookie:I regret that the concorde is no more....why is it so![]()
its quite good..travelling at supersonic speed...SIA should have some for long dist flight