depends on the breed.. the roborovskii ones are the most expensive.. abt $35 each. they are very small and very active. if u let them loose ard ur rm, good luck catching it. the cheap ones are the syrian hamsters, abt $8-10 each. they're big and easy to tame.. the rest are ard $18 - 25.Originally posted by Nikar:no leh, because the shop owner say the thing has been around 2 - 3 years already(somemore it's still the same size, like it's destined to never grow, just like ants and certain type of animals).
by the way, 1 hamster around how much?
thanks!
nikar.
Guinea pig?Originally posted by Nikar:hi,
just curious. u all got see this kind of little animal that looks like a hamster but i don't think it's a real hamster leh. or maybe it's a real hamster?
i saw it at a pet shop and was thinking of buying it, but the owner doesn't seem to know anything.
so now i'm trying to do some research and identify the animal first.
it's very small and can fit well into the palm of a 13 year old kid, and it looks almost like a hamster. it doesn't have a tail and is like a furry little round ball, though. very cute!
thanks!
nikar.
nah, my hamster nvr lasted 2 years. longest was 15 months.Originally posted by Nikar:thanks sinicker and perseus!
after looking at some photos of roborovskii hamsters and syrian ones, i think that rodent must be a roborovskii hamster, because it's round and chubby like them, whereas the syrian ones are longer in their body and not so round.
by the way, a full grown roborovskii hamster is how large?
can fit into your palm and still got room for it right? if yes, then it must be the one i'm talking about.
but how come their life so short one? i thought at least 3 - 5 years?
1 - 2 years very short leh.
thanks,
nikar.
Originally posted by Nikar:did it have a long black line running along the back?
but got this roboroskii website says "[b] The smallest, fastest and cutest of dwarf hamsters. Easily recognizable by their light brown coat, white underbellies and endearing white "eyebrows".
the one i saw has grey shades of fur(from dark grey to light grey all around), not brown. got any other type of dwarf hamsters anot?
thanks,
nikar.[/b]
did it have a long black line running along the back?yes, i think so! there were some black lines here and there! what is it???!!!
ahh.. it's a russian dwarf hamster! it can come in various colours and patches of colour. as long as that long, black line is there... it's a russian dwarf hamster! used to have two of this, one male, one female. gave birth to 7 babies.. one albino(very white, pure white, very nice), two light brown ones and 3 dark grey ones...Originally posted by Nikar:yes, i think so! there were some black lines here and there! what is it???!!!
got sell.. u just need to go to some high-end pet shop. abt the same price as roborovskii hamsters..Originally posted by Nikar:by the way, guys.........does SG sell those winter-white dwarf hamsters?
u can see it here : http://www.roborovskii.com/info/winterwhite.html
thanks!
nikar.
hee hee my CoCo and XiaoBai was like 2.5 yrs oldOriginally posted by sinicker:nah, my hamster nvr lasted 2 years. longest was 15 months.
ahh.. it's a russian dwarf hamster! it can come in various colours and patches of colour. as long as that long, black line is there... it's a russian dwarf hamster! used to have two of this, one male, one female. gave birth to 7 babies.. one albino(very white, pure white, very nice), two light brown ones and 3 dark grey ones...maybe it is. but are russian dwarf hamsters exactly as the one i described?
albino v hard to come by isnt it? surely quite ex?Originally posted by sinicker:ahh.. it's a russian dwarf hamster! it can come in various colours and patches of colour. as long as that long, black line is there... it's a russian dwarf hamster! used to have two of this, one male, one female. gave birth to 7 babies.. one albino(very white, pure white, very nice), two light brown ones and 3 dark grey ones...

well, they are small if they're young. or the owner is not a good owner and doesnt give the hamsters sufficient food.Originally posted by Nikar:maybe it is. but are russian dwarf hamsters exactly as the one i described?
not very active(unlike the roboroskii) and really small(a lot smaller than your computer mouse).
thanks!
nikar.
kinda look like my campbell or sapphire dwarfs...Originally posted by Nikar:i think i got it!
look below:
this was the kind i was talking about! russian dwarf hamsters!
are they tame anot? as active as the roboroskii?
also, hamster food(those ordinary, average-grade kind) cost u guys how much per month?
thanks!
nikar.
i didnt buy the albino. the mother gave birth to one. it was sooooooo WHITE! with laser red eyes. nice. haha, i dun like the black bear one lah. looks dirty. lol. and the funny things ur mother do.Originally posted by alfagal:albino v hard to come by isnt it? surely quite ex?
i like e black bear one..totally black, but looks like wearing 4 white socks on its leg
too bad my mum doesnt lik me to keep them anymore. though she totally hate them when i first brought them home..she adored them in e end..talked to them everyday!
e funny thing is, she would weigh them..that time i had two, so had four numbers...it really came up in e 4D! too abd she din buy..lucky hamsters i have..
yeah. those are russian dwarf campbell hamsters. they are not as active as the roborovskii. they are quite easy to tame. but once u lose touch with it for abt 2/3 days, things will get pretty bite-y.Originally posted by Nikar:i think i got it!
look below:
this was the kind i was talking about! russian dwarf hamsters!
are they tame anot? as active as the roboroskii?
also, hamster food(those ordinary, average-grade kind) cost u guys how much per month?
thanks!
nikar.