The Gaming Bubble Burst? Like ATARI?Originally posted by M©+square:People just can't be objective.
Must put the other machine down for what.
These are just games...hai...
Yalor, Vista so long liao only in beta testing. And i dont even see the reason for changing to Vista.Originally posted by launtpc:Whatever Microsoft says, you don't take it at face value. Always, +/- 2 years to it. Windows Longhorn.
November CTP release for Vista Beta out, nothing much, still. Far from completion. Microsoft also pushing Office 12 out... They doing more than what they can do.Originally posted by abao:Yalor, Vista so long liao only in beta testing. And i dont even see the reason for changing to Vista.
Also, DOA4 release date delayed for X360............(I want to see real screenshots done on consoles...not ads by parent companies)
I also don't know why Sony using G4 Processor.Originally posted by launtpc:Dual Core processors only recently reached the consumer market, and moreover it will push the price up, and it will need a special motherboard for it...
No, not for this year's. Probably the next Xbox, but PS4 won't have DualCore when they are still using iMac's CPU.
The current processers used are 32-bit.
Apple uses PowerPC processor(Alpha Chip) until they've dropped IBM and switched to Intel.Originally posted by abao:Clarification
PS3 Specifications :
Extracted from http://ps3.ign.com/articles/636/636848p2.html
What is the Cell?
The Cell processor was co-designed by IBM, Toshiba and Sony. Configurations can differ, but here's what the PS3's Cell chip will be like:
- PowerPC-based Core @ 3.2GHz
- 7 SPEs @ 3.2GHz
- 512KB L2 Cache
- 7 x 256KB SRAM for SPEs
Basically, a single Cell processor is designed to act like multiple processors working together, or even independently. A Cell processor has a single PowerPC Architecture Unit (PAU) and multiple Synergistic Processing Elements (SPEs). A Cell's PAU dolls out instructions to its various SPEs, which can then independently work on tasks. So for instance, one SPU might be programmed to run a game's AI while another handles physics. Since each one acts independently, multiple calculations can be done simultaneously. In other words, it's very powerful. In fact, it's powerful enough to perform 218 GFLOPS.
where has it got to do with Apple?
Hmm a bit diff rite selling blu ray discs or HD DVD at $10 per game lol sure suffer loss one.. now sony and MS are getting smarter.. using high end products and no longer cheap CDs or DVDsOriginally posted by Technomage:i think u people should not worry about which is better. u PEOPLE SHOULD WORRY IF THE NEW GAME DISC CAN BE BURN TO MAKE PIRATED GAMES ANOT!!!!
Originally posted by kenshin_himura:U nid not worry, look at the PSP, its UMD format was broken long long ago
Hmm a bit diff rite selling blu ray discs or HD DVD at $10 per game lol sure suffer loss one.. now sony and MS are getting smarter.. using high end products and no longer cheap CDs or DVDs![]()
Then we should find out if the Chip's main manufacturer is IBM or not.Originally posted by abao:So...its just the word POWER, and people immediately associate it with Apple.
Maybe IBM should change the processors name to something less confusing![]()
People also associate IBM with "old school", "used to be good but now sux".Originally posted by abao:So...its just the word POWER, and people immediately associate it with Apple.
Maybe IBM should change the processors name to something less confusing![]()
Truly!!!! You are the great!!!! Great kumlan.Originally posted by targa2:Honestly, we should stop this discussion since half of you dont know what you are talking about.
You guys are just randomly commenting on the console without doing any research.
You want example? What "abao" said about xbox360 being smaller means console become hot faster is one of the prime example that you guys have no idea what you are talking about. The x360 uses heatpipes to cool the processor and gpu, therefore, there is no need for bulky fans which takes up alot of space. Furthermore, the X360 is recommended to be place in the upright position thus it leverages the advantages of convection currect (hotter air rises).
what kenshin_himura said about X360 being a 2000 mac squeezed into a box for gaming is also plain crap. There is utterly no reference of an X360 to a mac. Neither does $2000 make any sense. The only reference i can think of is they are both computers, which is just like a psx, ps2 and ps3 or xbox. Infact, it can even be referenced to your calculator.
x2 too hot for me to take asoOriginally posted by M©+square:Truly!!!! You are the great!!!! Great kumlan.
Mc leaves this thread.
eh sorrie .. but i quoted this stuff from IGN => unreliable lolOriginally posted by targa2:Honestly, we should stop this discussion since half of you dont know what you are talking about.
You guys are just randomly commenting on the console without doing any research.
You want example? What "abao" said about xbox360 being smaller means console become hot faster is one of the prime example that you guys have no idea what you are talking about. The x360 uses heatpipes to cool the processor and gpu, therefore, there is no need for bulky fans which takes up alot of space. Furthermore, the X360 is recommended to be place in the upright position thus it leverages the advantages of convection currect (hotter air rises).
what kenshin_himura said about X360 being a 2000 mac squeezed into a box for gaming is also plain crap. There is utterly no reference of an X360 to a mac. Neither does $2000 make any sense. The only reference i can think of is they are both computers, which is just like a psx, ps2 and ps3 or xbox. Infact, it can even be referenced to your calculator.
Originally posted by Alfresco coffeeshop:Endless game sequels is widespread in the whole gaming industry, not just PS games. Heard of Halo 1, 2, 3... FIFA 2000-5... Splinter Cellssssss?
[b] U support Sony like so blind for wat?! Sony make overpriced but underpowered product lah dammit........All this comment are coming from ang moh haters who hate xbox and everythng American. ..I tell u those japanese game are all the same old bullsh*t and release sequel like never ending.......U wont find games like Halo or Spinter Cell which have new ideas in Jap market. [/b]
Developing for Xbox is easy because it's essentially a packaged PC mah.Originally posted by Alfresco coffeeshop:I can tell you that developing for the Playstation 2 is a painful joke compared to the luxury of developing for the Xbox. I expect developing for the PS3 will be even more of a nightmare - if its anything like the PS2 all you will get is a 5 foot high stack of manuals full of op-codes bottle of saki. Microsoft deserve to win this round as they actually have a *clue* how to create development tools and platforms. Sony dont.
Conclusion: If you like shooters ONLY, please buy Xbox360Originally posted by Alfresco coffeeshop:Because now American is the one who invent new thing like DOOm 3 engine, Half Lfe 2 , unreal 3 engine so and so. Not all these new engine is very hard to port over to PS2 or PS3 because of their programming difficulty. Japanese still like to stick to their own idea of game (low res texture + crayon colour). They dont realise the world is not about them.
Xbox is perfect?Originally posted by Alfresco coffeeshop:Do u know that PS2 is a design flaw?