You press calculator and seeOriginally posted by dragg:to the power of 2 then the answer should be +4.
anything squared except for i is positive however, if the notation is as you have typed then the answer is -4 reason being the - is not included in the ^2Originally posted by polarsnake:Well some of my friends were arguing over -2^2= -4 or =4. Well what do you think? Most importantly, would the teacher mark it wrong or right?
I asked my teacher this very same queation and i stumped him for a while![]()
Yea, but when there is no bracket available it becomes quite confusing and misleading hehe...Originally posted by FireIce:(-2)^2 = 4
- (2)^2 - -4
In my Homework I always encounter this kind of problem, I put answer as 4, my teacher mark correctOriginally posted by hisoka:anything squared except for i is positive however, if the notation is as you have typed then the answer is -4 reason being the - is not included in the ^2
You have a point there...can argue your case if your teacher mark you wrong. Good practice if you intend to take up law in futureOriginally posted by polarsnake:Yea, but when there is no bracket available it becomes quite confusing and misleading hehe...
your teacher suks lah where she learn maths one ask her come and see meOriginally posted by polarsnake:In my Homework I always encounter this kind of problem, I put 4 my teacher mark correct![]()
yes, because generally - ( minus ) belongs to the 2Originally posted by mystiv:generally, -2^2 will be understood as (-2)^2
raffles girl hor, don't pray prayOriginally posted by *Thank You*:Wow...FI-soh can count de wor~![]()
(-2)^1 = sqrt (4)Originally posted by CoolMyth:Riddle me this:
Consider the case (-2)^2 = 4
What if we "power" both sides by 1/2, ie:
(-2)^[2 * (1/2)] = 4^(1/2)
--> (-2)^1 = 4^(1/2)
--> (-2)^1 = sqrt (4)
--> - 2 = 2
Where is the contradiction?
Now, think about this, what if we say the whole thing is like this:Originally posted by kenshin_himura:(-2)^1 = sqrt (4)
when u root 4 u get +2 or -2 there for there r 2 ans =D both are real roots jsut that one is positive and one is negative root lor.
Originally posted by CoolMyth:isnt sqrt(x^2) mod x or |x| cause you wont know if the x was -2 or 2?
Now, think about this, what if we say the whole thing is like this:
(-2)^2 = x^2 = 4
--> (-2)^[2*(1/2)] = x = 4^(1/2)
--> (-2)^1 = x = 4^(1/2)
--> (-2)^1 = x = sqrt (4)
--> - 2 = x = 2
By the colored portion in the quote, x = - 2 or 2. But in this case, I have shown that x = - 2 [b]and 2. Is there any contradictions?[/b]
Originally posted by CoolMyth:opps sorrie
Now, think about this, what if we say the whole thing is like this:
(-2)^2 = x^2 = 4
--> (-2)^[2*(1/2)] = x = 4^(1/2)
--> (-2)^1 = x = 4^(1/2)
--> (-2)^1 = x = sqrt (4)
--> - 2 = x = 2
By the colored portion in the quote, x = - 2 or 2. But in this case, I have shown that x = - 2 [b]and 2. Is there any contradictions?[/b]
Do you know the meaning of "and" and "or"?Originally posted by kenshin_himura:opps sorrie
typo shd be and not or hahathink and type differently