Thanks.....Originally posted by FireIce:
If you are travelling around, I recommend you get one with Intel Centrino Mobile Technology.Originally posted by bo liao:Hi all. need advice again.
i going overseas next month for work for at least 8 mths.
would like to get a usable & cheap laptop.
Any points i should look out for?i really is noob on laptop, dun even operate 1 b4.
I see safe super store those 1.8ghz got xp OS, got dvd combo. at less then $2k..is it advisable to buy?i also need to play some game..cos be overseas for a while..Or i get from SIM Lim Square better?My budget max at $2.5k....but best will be as cheap as possible.Or where to get 2nd hand gd condition laptop?Or here got ppl wan to sell or not?i buy...but muct be in gd condition.
1.Can a laptop like desktop jus buy extra ram put in?
2.Is it all laptop can pluck in usb mouse?The small black space hard to use.
3.Wat's the recommanded brand to get. must be those can tahan long hours of use.
4.I will be using the hotel internet...which wireless card brand is gd & cheap?
(Wats the exact name for itissit the ethernet card? something 10/100)
Thanks A Lot, its kind of urgent.I really dunno bout laptop..
It depends on what processor they are using.Originally posted by bo liao:Thanks.....
Abit dun understand y like some less then 1.5ghz cost bout same as those 2ghz laptop..
Np.. think i PM some of those tat respond to the thread.
Of cos those tat can help wid my 1st post qus on tis thread, pls input.
after service ok or not?Originally posted by stellazio:dell la..cheap..![]()
Cheap things, cheap service.Originally posted by stellazio:dell la..cheap..![]()
1stly, thanks a lot for typing so much...i really appriciate it.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:If you are travelling around, I recommend you get one with Intel Centrino Mobile Technology.
Simply putting, it will be Intel Pentium M xGHz. x is a decimal, like in your question, 1.8GHz. Depending on what games you want to play, you may not want a Intel processor. A AMD Sempron processor works as well.
To answer question 1, you can add RAM. If you are unsure, you can ask the sales technicians to help out. Or simply take the upgrade offers (like Dell, offer you upgrade this, upgrade that).
For question 2, all laptops have at least one USB port. Just buy a mouse that uses USB port and connect can already. Nowadays laptops don't come with PS/2 Serial Port, so make sure you don't buy the wrong one, or you have to use the black space (it is called touchpad).
Question 3: I won't recommend brands, but laptops that are using Intel processors have longer battery life.
Question 4: If the hotel has wireless infrastructure, just register with the hotel to use their wireless network. If it doesn't have, it usually have some ports for you to connect to the Internet. Check with the hotel, you can email the hotel or ask around, like your friends who have been to the hotel.
Yahoo is a good site to find old and in good conditions laptop.
If you want to play games like RPG, I recommend you to get a desktop replacement. Their processors are usually Intel with HT Technology or Intel Celeron or Intel Celeron D.
I don't know about Dell, but the other brands sure can last.Originally posted by bo liao:1stly, thanks a lot for typing so much...i really appriciate it.
Dell is good to tahan use for years?i dun want it to break down when i overseas..tat is curse also no use liao..
i dunno which processor is gd on laptop...as i only know my my friend tel me for my home desktop(he fix for me game use for my temp job) use AMD processor..got 2 piece of dunno wat FSB 333mhz ram..
i dun know much bout laptop... i only know for desktop is see more speed(eg2.8ghz)...ram at 512 DDR..lik tat nia..the rest of my computer parts at home is rubbish things...
For ur ans of my qus 3...Battery life is a factor, but wat i want most is can tahan(wun spoil) for years if i get a new laptop...unless u got 2nd hand or ur friends got 2nd hand want to sell at cheap price.
Thanks again for ur input.![]()
Originally posted by chanff8:u beat me to it! but a point to add - most laptops now have 3 or more usb ports
hm... going overseas, wan useable for at least a few years, wireless internet, a little gaming. Can state wat games you usually play?
What I suggest is, 1.73GHz Centrino Mobile Processor.
Try not to get one with AMD, uses more battery
at least 512 DDR2 ram running at 533MHz.
If you want mobility, get a 14" laptop.
If you dun mind carrying a heavier one with better graphics for gaming get a 15".
Super DVD drive is recommended since DVD is getting common nowadays. Dun be mistaken between CD-RW/DVD Combo drive and Super DVD drive. always check clearly to see which type of compact disc it burns and which type it reads.
at least 60GB.
At least 64mb of video ram since you play simple games.
If hardcore games then at least 256mb (this should usually used with a 15" monitor)
Get one with at least 2 USB. 1 is definitely not enough
VGA connector for presentations. all laptops have this nowadays
Bluetooth connection can come in useful.
Memory card slots. Decide for yrself which memory cards you use the most. MMC, SD is the most common.
Take note of warranty too. Get at least 3 years.
Laptop's rams are more expensive, and its best to upgrade the ram when you are buying it since different laptop models may use different type of rams.
USB is a must-have for any computer now. If you have a USB mouse just plug it in and you can use it. A few mouse brands may require you to install drivers but if you are using Windows XP most of the time its not necessary.
Brand is not a problem when it comes to tahan-ing long hours of use. Its the user's responsibility to make sure you use it for long hours in a well-ventilated area or air-conditioned room.
Wireless is intergrated inside all Centrino machines so dun worry.
true. average is 3 USB portsOriginally posted by abao:u beat me to it! but a point to add - most laptops now have 3 or more usb ports
get an acer... or look at the newspaper for any good deals... yes, u can buy extra ram n upgrade... new laptop should can cos they usually got usb2 ports... the blackspace, u call that a touchpad... acer should be ok enough... new laptop should be equiped with internal wireless card(pentium M or centrino should have), ask the assistant if got anot can liao...Originally posted by bo liao:Hi all. need advice again.
i going overseas next month for work for at least 8 mths.
would like to get a usable & cheap laptop.
Any points i should look out for?i really is noob on laptop, dun even operate 1 b4.
I see safe super store those 1.8ghz got xp OS, got dvd combo. at less then $2k..is it advisable to buy?i also need to play some game..cos be overseas for a while..Or i get from SIM Lim Square better?My budget max at $2.5k....but best will be as cheap as possible.Or where to get 2nd hand gd condition laptop?Or here got ppl wan to sell or not?i buy...but muct be in gd condition.
1.Can a laptop like desktop jus buy extra ram put in?
2.Is it all laptop can pluck in usb mouse?The small black space hard to use.
3.Wat's the recommanded brand to get. must be those can tahan long hours of use.
4.I will be using the hotel internet...which wireless card brand is gd & cheap?
(Wats the exact name for itissit the ethernet card? something 10/100)
Thanks A Lot, its kind of urgent.I really dunno bout laptop..
Battery Life: Lifespan of Lith -ion batteries are dependable on consumer usage.Originally posted by bo liao:For ur ans of my qus 3...Battery life is a factor, but wat i want most is can tahan(wun spoil) for years if i get a new laptop...unless u got 2nd hand or ur friends got 2nd hand want to sell at cheap price.
Thanks again for ur input.![]()
The 333Mhz he meant was the FrontSideBus.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I don't know about Dell, but the other brands sure can last.
As I said, if you are travelling around, using Intel Centrino Mobile Technology is good. You can connect anywhere and use. 333MHz RAM is quite old, nowadays we are using DDR-II RAM.
my friend's compaq gone after 1 year, the laptop will autooff due to overheat even with fan + external laptop fan + personal fan on... and dun take dell unless u really no option liao...Originally posted by storywolf:I play all my games using a notebook, so this is the advice for you.
Get Centrino Mobile Processor at least above 1.5 GHZ.
Ram must be at least 1GB or above.
Graphic Card - important .
Get something with inbuild wireless.
Brand ? Dell is cheaper , but alway keyboard fail after 1 year. Acer too fragile cannot take knocks.
Can check out Compaq.
The poor guy's budget is 2.5k max.Originally posted by chanff8:hm... going overseas, wan useable for at least a few years, wireless internet, a little gaming. Can state wat games you usually play?
What I suggest is, 1.73GHz Centrino Mobile Processor.
Try not to get one with AMD, uses more battery
at least 512 DDR2 ram running at 533MHz.
If you want mobility, get a 14" laptop.
If you dun mind carrying a heavier one with better graphics for gaming get a 15".
Super DVD drive is recommended since DVD is getting common nowadays. Dun be mistaken between CD-RW/DVD Combo drive and Super DVD drive. always check clearly to see which type of compact disc it burns and which type it reads.
at least 60GB.
At least 64mb of video ram since you play simple games.
If hardcore games then at least 256mb (this should usually used with a 15" monitor)
Get one with at least 2 USB. 1 is definitely not enough
VGA connector for presentations. all laptops have this nowadays
Bluetooth connection can come in useful.
Memory card slots. Decide for yrself which memory cards you use the most. MMC, SD is the most common.
Take note of warranty too. Get at least 3 years.
Laptop's rams are more expensive, and its best to upgrade the ram when you are buying it since different laptop models may use different type of rams.
USB is a must-have for any computer now. If you have a USB mouse just plug it in and you can use it. A few mouse brands may require you to install drivers but if you are using Windows XP most of the time its not necessary.
Brand is not a problem when it comes to tahan-ing long hours of use. Its the user's responsibility to make sure you use it for long hours in a well-ventilated area or air-conditioned room.
Wireless is intergrated inside all Centrino machines so dun worry.
Your friend's LAptop Hardware problem. Got covered warranty?Originally posted by BrUtUs:my friend's compaq gone after 1 year, the laptop will autooff due to overheat even with fan + external laptop fan + personal fan on...
Corperate warranty very different from Consumer warranty.Originally posted by babito:Dell is ok, but go for the Latitude series and make sure you have the 3-year NBD warranty support. They'll come up to your doorstep and change your motherboard or other parts if it's proven faulty/defective. I'm speaking from corporate experience, but if you get the same warranty it should be similar treatment. Not sure, if the warranty is portable if you move to other countries - check with them.
Personally, though, I prefer the Taiwanese makers like Twinhead and Asus. Asus, especially, makes very light self-contained(with DVD-RW !) notebooks, and provides 2 year international warranty. However, warranty can mean waiting 1 month for a replacement part....
The other up and coming guys are the Koreans. Samsung looks good, and I'd be willing to try them out if only they were lower-priced ! I think they're even priced 20% above the Dells/Compaqs, close to Fujitsu/Sony prices !
he overseas so no warranty...Originally posted by M©+square:Your friend's LAptop Hardware problem. Got covered warranty?
Then Seh......sian....Originally posted by BrUtUs:he overseas so no warranty...