Originally posted by kaobeikaobu:buy ibm z series lah, within ur budget...reliable...no need to worry aftersales support availability...
also can play certain games...![]()
Other then my part time job, i only play very old game for years...1) C&C Yuri's Revenge...2) C&C General Zero HourOriginally posted by chanff8:hm... going overseas, wan useable for at least a few years, wireless internet, a little gaming. Can state wat games you usually play?
What I suggest is, 1.73GHz Centrino Mobile Processor.
Try not to get one with AMD, uses more battery
at least 512 DDR2 ram running at 533MHz.
If you want mobility, get a 14" laptop.
If you dun mind carrying a heavier one with better graphics for gaming get a 15".
Super DVD drive is recommended since DVD is getting common nowadays. Dun be mistaken between CD-RW/DVD Combo drive and Super DVD drive. always check clearly to see which type of compact disc it burns and which type it reads.
at least 60GB.
At least 64mb of video ram since you play simple games.
If hardcore games then at least 256mb (this should usually used with a 15" monitor)
Get one with at least 2 USB. 1 is definitely not enough
VGA connector for presentations. all laptops have this nowadays
Bluetooth connection can come in useful.
Memory card slots. Decide for yrself which memory cards you use the most. MMC, SD is the most common.
Take note of warranty too. Get at least 3 years.
Laptop's rams are more expensive, and its best to upgrade the ram when you are buying it since different laptop models may use different type of rams.
USB is a must-have for any computer now. If you have a USB mouse just plug it in and you can use it. A few mouse brands may require you to install drivers but if you are using Windows XP most of the time its not necessary.
Brand is not a problem when it comes to tahan-ing long hours of use. Its the user's responsibility to make sure you use it for long hours in a well-ventilated area or air-conditioned room.
Wireless is intergrated inside all Centrino machines so dun worry.
Err.. i see properly then is see USED TO SELL... still tot u still at there , cen get cheaper price...Originally posted by Takumi2eLimit:Dell i agree is the best and cheapest but they dont have any service centre in singapore,nearest in Penang.
If u are going for one that can last,Toshiba will be better even though it's no as attractive as Dell
I recommend u go Sim Lim Square,Notebook.com,#03-92. I used to sell all kinds of laptops.![]()
Haha...here lik many ppl all own a laptop....i still call the touchpad > black colour rectangle space..lolOriginally posted by BrUtUs:get an acer... or look at the newspaper for any good deals... yes, u can buy extra ram n upgrade... new laptop should can cos they usually got usb2 ports... the blackspace, u call that a touchpad... acer should be ok enough... new laptop should be equiped with internal wireless card(pentium M or centrino should have), ask the assistant if got anot can liao...
The laptop ram so bloody expensive ah???Originally posted by M©+square:The poor guy's budget is 2.5k max.
Maybe a decent Notebook but not enough for RAM upgrade. I'm quite sure.
Your recommended specs are over budget le....
Hmm..seems lik compac is out.. dun hv overseas warrenty...Originally posted by BrUtUs:he overseas so no warranty...
To use your Old desktop to compare is unfair. If you really want to know which is faster.Originally posted by bo liao:Another question...can a laptop lik u all say minimum 512ddr-2 ram(or some say 1ghz of ram)... 1.73 ghz perform faster then my desktop?or cannot as its a lap top..??
if say VS the things on my home desktop..for application...not to hang if i 1 time open "RealPlayer listen song"Yahoo Messenger to talk"open 2-3 web-page to surf( will alt-tab)> 1 game running, 1 microsoft word..tis wat i often do at home....
MSI board...AMD 2.8ghz...1pc 512ddr,1pc 256ddr...Got the 128 ATI redio grapic card...dunno 60 or 80 harddisk..
I not want to say wat i hv at my computer (or mayb already outdated liao)
i jus wan to know whether a laptop lik u all say the DDR-II ram wid 1.7+ghz can perform as well as my home computer wid all tat running...(If bout there can liao,if can surpress would be best..)cos my computer max at there nia>sometime still may hang..![]()
Cos i see lik 1.73ghz(speed)on laptop- VS -2.8ghz(speed)on desktop.
make it 1ghz DDR-II ram -VS -768 ddr ram
I really don't know....

Paiseh, write wrongly. I was meaning the older RAM, used in Pentium 2 and 3Originally posted by M©+square:The 333Mhz he meant was the FrontSideBus.
When have you seen RAM got 333mhz?
Cheers
for yr info, my laptop has most of the specs i recommended. and its 2.2kOriginally posted by M©+square:The poor guy's budget is 2.5k max.
Maybe a decent Notebook but not enough for RAM upgrade. I'm quite sure.
Your recommended specs are over budget le....
Urs also got the 512ddr-II ram? at bout 1.73ghz? the wat internal wireless internet ?Originally posted by chanff8:for yr info, my laptop has most of the specs i recommended. and its 2.2k![]()
yea, my laptop has 512DDR2 ram and 1.73GHz. Internal wireless internet means the wireless network adaptor is built-in, you dun need any wireless network card to connect to wireless networks. Bluetooth is ANOTHER wireless technology used by mobile phones. so if you have a mobile phone that has bluetooth and you want to synchronise yr mobile phone and computer (contact lists, image/video/audio files etc), you can do so using bluetooth. Older phones uses Infrared, which is alot slower. Bluetooth cannot be used to connect to wireless internetOriginally posted by bo liao:Urs also got the 512ddr-II ram? at bout 1.73ghz? the wat internal wireless internet ?
bluetooth?
Ok..since got 512ddr2 ram..got 1.73..got many holes to put usb..should be can put mmc cards liao..... ..Where is it selling?Originally posted by chanff8:yea, my laptop has 512DDR2 ram and 1.73GHz. Internal wireless internet means the wireless network adaptor is built-in, you dun need any wireless network card to connect to wireless networks. Bluetooth is ANOTHER wireless technology used by mobile phones. so if you have a mobile phone that has bluetooth and you want to synchronise yr mobile phone and computer (contact lists, image/video/audio files etc), you can do so using bluetooth. Older phones uses Infrared, which is alot slower. Bluetooth cannot be used to connect to wireless internet
I believe the Dell warranty for my corporate was the same as the public (dell website) one - cause I was comparing for doing personal purchase vs my corporate. To my pleasant surprise, I was offered a very good corporate rate for personal purchase - although I didn't take it up in the end.Originally posted by M©+square:Corperate warranty very different from Consumer warranty.
Difference is bulk order and incentives in the agreement.
I've seen Compaq and HP's service in Corporate Companies.
Aspire 5504WXMi (N)Originally posted by bo liao:Ok..since got 512ddr2 ram..got 1.73..got many holes to put usb..should be can put mmc cards liao..... ..Where is it selling?
Can PM me..or..wat is the brand, model.. i go search for it...
Thanks.
I went sim lim today...see here see there for laptop...saw some $1,199 buy dunno wat brand..haha..got internal wireless, 60 ghz..1.6ghz..out side hv temp booth/stall selling epson printer...Originally posted by chanff8:Aspire 5504WXMi (N)
Whoa! They advanced 2 models since the Comex. Mine is onli Aspire 5502WXMi. It has 2GHz and 80GB of hard disk space now. within yr budget, $2,499I got mine at 2.2k last time cos of Comex. Plus effective bargaining on my mother's part
Its selling at Funan MC2 shop or Sim Lim Square around 3rd or 4th floor, can't remember...
Originally posted by bo liao:I went sim lim today...see here see there for laptop...saw some $1,199 buy dunno wat brand..haha..got internal wireless, 60 ghz..1.6ghz..out side hv temp booth/stall selling epson printer...
end up never get laptop..got a laser printer at $159 instead..CHEAP !!!!
will go again...
MY goodness!!!!Originally posted by chanff8:for yr info, my laptop has most of the specs i recommended. and its 2.2k![]()
Asia...as stage crew for upcoming big concert.Originally posted by M©+square:
Which coutry will you be going?
European continent or Asia?
Originally posted by M©+square:MY goodness!!!!
My Travelmate cos me almost 3k, without bluetooth and other goodies.
That was 2.9years ago.
Now laptop so much cheaper...
o.O which concert is that?Originally posted by bo liao:Asia...as stage crew for upcoming big concert.