i see... i understand what u mean.. hmm.. interesting.. okie~ i start buying sgx from now onwards!! i got share builder plan from poems~! heh heh.Originally posted by KumSioJui:If you look at it another way
Say you bought at $2.16 then after they paid the 16cts dividend the stock took a short correction and went down to $1.86 sometime in May but by July the stock already recovered back to above $2.16 and you recovered your earlier "loss" + 16cts or $160/lot thats money in the bank. Sep and Oct they gave out another 5.8cts or $58 thats over $200 in the bank already, And now at year end the stock is above $2.90 thats how many % capital gains already + the dividend you collected leh? How many % return.
And this is not only happening this year but so far every year is like that. Come Jan/Feb they will announce results FY 2005 and again pay fat dividends that will make headlines.
If you collect abt 5-10 lots, if you lucky they keep paying huge dividend in 7-8 years you would probably own the stock for free already. After dat every year they keep paying $2k+ can go free holiday to thailand
I don't really like Telco like M1 or Singtel or Starhub reasoning is telcos have very very high capital expenses and employ thousands of people. Very high cost.
If you want dividend look for businesses that do rental of assets like tiongwoon cranes or comfort taxi.
No vested interest in comfort or tiongwoon.
Originally posted by KumSioJui:thanks dude. u sound like an expert. i take a look at it and think for a while . thanks.
If you truly find it expensive to go in now, then mebbe wait after they pay the last quarter dividend, but you must be discipline.
I suspect that it will correct to at least $2.3x+ that will be the second best time to buy. The best time get in of course would be now so that you can get that dividend and start collecting returns on your investments.
Current prices at 2.78 with 30k you can get abt 11 lots. Assuming it corrects to $2.3x+ with 30k can get abt 13 lots. but therein lies the "greed and fear" factors in all investors.
The general investing community the "havenot" and "have" investors all need a reason to buy and sell, thats where they allow greed and fear factors to justify investment actions.
The "havenots" are fearful and greedy at same time and tell themselves "hey the stock has plunged don't do anything lah, lets [b]wait and see if it goes lower so can buy even more".![]()
And if they transition to become the "haves" they are also greedy and fearful and they tell themselves "the stock is way too high already, tsk ... there is no reason for it to be like that is there? what happens if it crashes har? It's too dangerous, let run away with our gains before it's too late so when it crashes we can buy evenmore stock with the gains we have earned, yes what a brilliant idea"![]()
End up most people do the wrong thing and regret or don't do anything and also regret.![]()
The ony certain thing in life is death and taxesOriginally posted by sohguanh:What you say is true but it all depend on what shares you have bought. For small fries like me when I buy < $1 shares some are not paying any dividends at all!!!! However for some > $1 shares they do pay very good dividends although the share price per lot has dropped. For blue chips sorry no capital and even if have also dare not take the risk
I find it so irritating that those dividend I earned are to be taxed by our beloved gahmen!!!!!![]()
Indonesia currency is droppin like no one's biz... it has been 5000 rupiah to S$1 for a few years after the plunge,recently it's start to drop again n now it's abt 7000 rupiah... n u r saying it's unlikely to happen??Originally posted by Ponders:if you daring, deposit fixed deposit in Indonesia. interest rate there 10-20%.
without revealing howmuch, my savings quadrupled in 4 years.
risk is sudden devaluation of rupiah like in 1997. but i say unlikely to happen now.
I am curious.... for the last 5 years the bank interest is super low and you put in the bank....Originally posted by forum_man:After putting in bank for 5 years liao...now can take out, spare cash..
If you had 30K, what would you do with it....