Try riding with the bunch at Thomson Road every Sunday morning! Anyone who can keep up with the 1st Peleton (which consists of National riders, SEA Games cycling champs, Veterans and hardcore roadies ) must posess a very HIGH level of cycling fitness! Imagine chionging 40+km/h non stop for several KM!Originally posted by NemY:I just came back from a ride with my local neighbourhood bikers. all ride few thousands bucks roadbikes, got 2-3 age 50+ uncles and the rest 30+ guys.. im riding a mtb.. i pedal like fark with all my strength and i mean all.. i couldnt catch up at all lol. now my thighs are tight and i got a hurting butt![]()
Originally posted by markzz:sandles not reccomended when riding offroad. Later ur feet might kana cut by sharp rocks or twigs!![]()
lol. i was riding along telok paku rd towards changi coast rd when there were 2 of these full suit + helmet + road bike cycling. they were quite slow ah. so i overtook them. den 5 mins later, they overtake me.. den they chiong-ed down changi coast rd.Originally posted by markzz:Try riding with the bunch at Thomson Road every Sunday morning! Anyone who can keep up with the 1st Peleton (which consists of National riders, SEA Games cycling champs, Veterans and hardcore roadies ) must posess a very HIGH level of cycling fitness! Imagine chionging 40+km/h non stop for several KM!![]()
From ECP cannot link to benjamin shears bridge liao, there's the KPE construction site, connection cut off long ago. To go to Shenton Way, only can go thru Tanjong Rhu, Stadium, Nicholl Highway.Originally posted by sinicker:i no helmet. no suit (whatever is the real name). home clothes + sandals.
Which BIKE shop ur currently using?Originally posted by markzz:sandles not reccomended when riding offroad. Later ur feet might kana cut by sharp rocks or twigs!![]()
can lah bro. frm ECP, u go Tanjong Rhu, all the way till the end, turn left. then there's this roundabout with heavy vehicles parking along the road. go straight.. turn left.. go straight and voila, the flight of stairs up the bridge. on the other end, you'll reach ground level at Republic Blvd.Originally posted by de_middle:From ECP cannot link to benjamin shears bridge liao, there's the KPE construction site, connection cut off long ago. To go to Shenton Way, only can go thru Tanjong Rhu, Stadium, Nicholl Highway.
See la, u overtook the Roadies, they dulan, so they go all out to show u their "power "! haha. lemmie answer your Questions:Originally posted by sinicker:lol. i was riding along telok paku rd towards changi coast rd when there were 2 of these full suit + helmet + road bike cycling. they were quite slow ah. so i overtook them. den 5 mins later, they overtake me.. den they chiong-ed down changi coast rd.![]()
Hey markzz, thks for the bike shop info, I'm using TEF Bikers Junction at thomson.Originally posted by markzz:Guys, I'm part of a Leisure cycling Team called the Project Speed Riders!
Here's the "recruitment " info from our Team's Human Resource Manager, Justin:
--------->
For all those who wanna join me and my team for weekend cyclin' and are livin' in Singapore... Please add me in MSN, [email protected] or my HP, 91005090 Kindly SMS me before u call as I might be in the Army Camp and can't answer calls all the time Currently, I am lookin' for friends who can go out cyclin' together and chit chat,excercise,explore new places,etc'.. All sorts of bicycle riders are welcomed.. (our current members ride MTBs, like ProGear, GT, Giant, Scott and many other bike... Hardtail or full suspension also have... but roadies, feel free to join us! ) See you all around...
<--------------------------------
But still gotta exit at fort road rite to turn into tanjong rhu, but go straight all the way to the Costa Rhu condo.Originally posted by sinicker:can lah bro. frm ECP, u go Tanjong Rhu, all the way till the end, turn left. then there's this roundabout with heavy vehicles parking along the road. go straight.. turn left.. go straight and voila, the flight of stairs up the bridge. on the other end, you'll reach ground level at Republic Blvd.
frm there, i'll get to Marina Promenade up to Esplanade Bridge, and then reach Shenton Way liao.
today i cycled again, bad choice. went home in the rain!
everytime along ECP ah, when i cycle fast, surely got some ppl wanna race with me one. just because i dun wear suit + helmet, they think i am just a normal cyclist. den they overtake me, i overtake them and chiong till i disappear frm their sight. another one bites the dust!
yes, all the way to Costa Rhu condo.Originally posted by de_middle:But still gotta exit at fort road rite to turn into tanjong rhu, but go straight all the way to the Costa Rhu condo.
Thks bro, gonna check it out this sat.
Rocky Mountain, kind fizzled out in s'pore. Now my thomson bike shop promoting IRON HORSE, my previous bike.Originally posted by ben1406:Cheap & Good frame award to me goes to the 2002 GT Zaskar race frame ! I still have my full bike back in Singapore.
Thinking of getting a Rocky Mountian here in Canada during summer.
yes and that's where i go to for repairs and stuff. very high class. used to be a cheapo shop. den the son took over the father's business and decided to add class and divided it into two shops. one for cheapos. one for real MTBs/road bikes.Originally posted by de_middle:Btw sinicker, there's a GIANT authorised bike shop in tampines rite called TAYCYCLE, isn't it. Thought of gg there but afraid get lost in the estate.
Hehe.. I bought my Deore Hydraullic Disc Brakes from TEF. Leonard owns the shop right?Originally posted by de_middle:Hey markzz, thks for the bike shop info, I'm using TEF Bikers Junction at thomson.
Blk 1 Thomson Rd,
Balestier Shopping Centre
#01-332
also closed on sundays.
I check with my fren see if he's keen on joining u group, then i tag along with that scrap bike of mine.
Yup. Me just did a workout on how much if i strip my current setup & still keep the frame, mainly LX setup except disc brakes which are XT, gonna cost something like $1700.Originally posted by markzz:Hehe.. I bought my Deore Hydraullic Disc Brakes from TEF. Leonard owns the shop right?![]()
Rock Shok? hmmm.. not too sure sia.. I'm still using a stock suspension fork ( ulu ulu brand ) so I can't comment on higher end forks. My group (I'm just a member ar..not the leader ) is located in the Central - Eastern side of S'pore. But we are very inactive due to individual commitments. hmm.. my Voodoo Setup ar? I'm planning to tune the bike like this, in about a year's time to reach Max Tune! Here goes....Originally posted by de_middle:Yup. Me just did a workout on how much if i strip my current setup & still keep the frame, mainly LX setup except disc brakes which are XT, gonna cost something like $1700.
Whats ur voodoo set up like? Btw what do you think of Rock Shox Reba Race?
Giant Atx 890, gonna send it in for upgrades. Full LX M580 HollowTech II but disc calliper have to use deoreOriginally posted by markzz:erm... u using wad frame aR?![]()