I would say it depends lah ... the term "engineer" is too liberally used in Singapore already ... it's more of a job description rather than a professional qualification ... so everyone becomes an "engineer", because the employer wants to scratch your balls mah ...Originally posted by aRcTiC_sTaR:Last time engineer was big shot.
Nowadays engineer macam do sai kang one.
Ya I agree....Originally posted by aRcTiC_sTaR:Last time engineer was big shot.
Nowadays engineer macam do sai kang one.
and sick of people asking got retrench or not whenever they see retrenchment news.Originally posted by nightzip:but telling people say i work in Mircon, ST. Microelectronics, SIA, Motorola, Siemens, Chartered, HP, IBM, looks ok rite?![]()
I think sounds like assembly workers...Originally posted by nightzip:but telling people say i work in Mircon, ST. Microelectronics, SIA, Motorola, Siemens, Chartered, HP, IBM, looks ok rite?![]()
BTW, is the exam by PEB Singapore tough anot?Originally posted by Fatum:I would say it depends lah ... the term "engineer" is too liberally used in Singapore already ... it's more of a job description rather than a professional qualification ... so everyone becomes an "engineer", because the employer wants to scratch your balls mah ...
in most other countries, you can't call yourself an engineer even if you have an engineering degree, unless you've taken the Professional Engineers Board Exams and have a P.E on your name card ...
in Singapore people with such qualifications are rare ... even though many people have engineering degrees ...
I have no idea man for the P.E... sorry ...Originally posted by Einstein99:BTW, is the exam by PEB Singapore tough anot?
How tough compared to school exams?
1.00 SGD Singapore Dollars = 4.84675 CNY China Yuan RenminbiOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Wait long long. 1:1 still got investors go China, might as well come Singapore. Because there money lower, so if spend 1000000 yuan, is about S$200000.
no no u got it all wrong, hitachi is still open, only the engineering segment of the company closed down, the rest are still running.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I didn't know Hitachi closed down.
Hi there,Originally posted by Einstein99:Any engineers in here?
What is the typical pay of an engineer?
Start pay?
After 5 years?
R&D Engineer?
Process Engineer?
u have engineers taking MBA after working for 2 yrs...after dat u see lor...Engineering degree + MBA quite potent combi lehOriginally posted by findingnewidea:banking and finance fresh get the highest starting pay, then follow by doctor and then engineer.
but don't be happy. lawyer catch up very fast. business admin guys become manager then also fast.
engineer keeps staying in small company and doesn't move up, become that is it...
ok, typically 2.2K starting lor...depending on ur honours...if 1st or 2nd class +100 or so more....especially engineering company dat got ST as a shareholder.Originally posted by Einstein99:Erm...
Any people really working as an engineer to tell me how's the salary like?
Not guessing...
Thanks a lot.
Wa... really pathetic lehOriginally posted by chunyong:ok, typically 2.2K starting lor...depending on ur honours...if 1st or 2nd class +100 or so more....especially engineering company dat got ST as a shareholder.
aerospace ard 2.4K....the company i IA at is 2.4K, 7.30- to 4pm...but OT no pay, OT oso +1-2 hrs lah...haha
not not bad???Originally posted by Einstein99:Wa... really pathetic leh
think school can teach us how to earn $ anot?
My fren ITE nia go into entreprenuership, not not bad.
School should teach us to harness the knowledge we learn
so that we can make as much or even more.
walao, your company is really giam, giving you only such small amount.Originally posted by chunyong:ok, typically 2.2K starting lor...depending on ur honours...if 1st or 2nd class +100 or so more....especially engineering company dat got ST as a shareholder.
aerospace ard 2.4K....the company i IA at is 2.4K, 7.30- to 4pm...but OT no pay, OT oso +1-2 hrs lah...haha
Why my pay so low? MP3 click hereOriginally posted by findingnewidea:walao, your company is really giam, giving you only such small amount.
You also think it's giam ah...Originally posted by findingnewidea:walao, your company is really giam, giving you only such small amount.