Yup, joining a wushu club would be very advisable; I am just not entitled to such privileges. I learnt alone, which was not the best idea, but it sure makes you feel fulfilled and gives you a sense of accomplishment. Besides, with all the bruises and cuts you would gain from learning alone, you will grow used to them and further learn how to prevent falls properly (break fall) in the event that you need to do so. In other words, "backyard tricking" (as we call it) makes one HARDCORE.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:All these tricks are quite dangerous if you don't warm up and cool down your body properly.
Best to get someone (qualified) to teach you. Don't learn it through the web. If your school has wushu CCA, join it. Nowadays, wushu is more of contemporary rather than for self defense. So you will get to learn all these tricks.
It is the evening, you c.o.c.k-eyed blur dot.Originally posted by tinoishi:Retarded_Moron: Thats Chinese High Track Field.... What are you doing there on a fine morning with no clothes on?
It's good to depend on yourself and learn through your mistakes by falling and even learn something new while in the process of learning (break fall)Originally posted by RETARDED_MORON:Yup, joining a wushu club would be very advisable; I am just not entitled to such privileges. I learnt alone, which was not the best idea, but it sure makes you feel fulfilled and gives you a sense of accomplishment. Besides, with all the bruises and cuts you would gain from learning alone, you will grow used to them and further learn how to prevent falls properly (break fall) in the event that you need to do so. In other words, "backyard tricking" (as we call it) makes one HARDCORE.
Sure, the dangers are there, but if you analyse the techniques enough, no major injuries should occur. I myself have landed on my head, neck, fingers and knees countless times on plain grass, and I never need to see a doctor. If you think I am endangering myself, think again. Many people learn that way if you consider tricksters from all over the world, and I do not see any reason why you should hesitate when all you need is a grassy field and some determination. Grow some balls, but use your head.
Personally, I would consider people who learn tricks under a coach, or in a school, cheaters. Martial arts tricks have roots in martial arts, yes, but it is a more contemporary form of art, with a blend of gymnastics flips, wushu twists and of course, traditional martial arts tricks. It is very much like break dancing -- you cannot just learn it anywhere, it has to be self-taught. See where I am going with this?
Wushu schools will give you the foundation you need to START these tricks, but they can never guide you step-by-step into learning tricks. You have to depend on yourself; trust me.
Hope that is sound advice. I only speak the truth. Good luck, bro!![]()
Now, what exactly is your point? Reading comprehension really is not your strength I can see. Try reading again.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It's good to depend on yourself and learn through your mistakes by falling and even learn something new while in the process of learning (break fall)
...which is pretty much freestyle.Originally posted by markzz:Jeet Kun Do! Bruce Lee's style of fighting!![]()
but effective! Why waste time on 10 strokes that will not gurantee a hit on the enemy? When u can simply take him down with 1 effective blow?Originally posted by RETARDED_MORON:...which is pretty much freestyle.![]()
Quite true.Cant find anyone that teaches all these in spore.Anyone knoe any lobang?Wushu ah...Hmm.Their tricks not so advanced leh. I knoe TKD one more advanced.But dun tink spore tkd got these standard.I tink training gymnastic will have an advantage than the martial arts rite.I knoe how to breakfall.But dunno how to start on all these tricks.Originally posted by RETARDED_MORON:Yup, joining a wushu club would be very advisable; I am just not entitled to such privileges. I learnt alone, which was not the best idea, but it sure makes you feel fulfilled and gives you a sense of accomplishment. Besides, with all the bruises and cuts you would gain from learning alone, you will grow used to them and further learn how to prevent falls properly (break fall) in the event that you need to do so. In other words, "backyard tricking" (as we call it) makes one HARDCORE.
Sure, the dangers are there, but if you analyse the techniques enough, no major injuries should occur. I myself have landed on my head, neck, fingers and knees countless times on plain grass, and I never need to see a doctor. If you think I am endangering myself, think again. Many people learn that way if you consider tricksters from all over the world, and I do not see any reason why you should hesitate when all you need is a grassy field and some determination. Grow some balls, but use your head.
Personally, I would consider people who learn tricks under a coach, or in a school, cheaters. Martial arts tricks have roots in martial arts, yes, but it is a more contemporary form of art, with a blend of gymnastics flips, wushu twists and of course, traditional martial arts tricks. It is very much like break dancing -- you cannot just learn it anywhere, it has to be self-taught. See where I am going with this?
Wushu schools will give you the foundation you need to START these tricks, but they can never guide you step-by-step into learning tricks. You have to depend on yourself; trust me.
Hope that is sound advice. I only speak the truth. Good luck, bro!![]()
you need a checkup at IMHOriginally posted by markzz:but effective! Why waste time on 10 strokes that will not gurantee a hit on the enemy? When u can simply take him down with 1 effective blow?
Jeet Kun Do - the way of the Intercepting fist!
*puts on my Bruce Lee yellow jumpsuit *
"Jeet Kun Do does not simply teach u how to block a punch or a kick, it teaches u to block it and hit the oponent back at the same time!"
*Takes out nunchucks and swing here , swing there *
"The tao of Kung Fu - Why memorize the various flowerly forms of martial Arts? JEet Kun Do is formless like water, versatile but deadly"
*stokes nose once with right thumb *
"aaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh tahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!! "
DRAGON: THE BRUCE LEE STORY![]()
p.s: I really do have a pair of nunchucks at home, bought in China
if ur attacker is so well-trained then gone case but if he is so well-trained, he most probably learnt martial arts for quite some time.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Provided that the person is shorter than you. If who is at least a head taller than you and attacking you, this one won't work.
Elbows are indeed powerful. But your elbow will be rendered useless if that person knows how to stop you from using your elbow.
For kicking outside the knees, it works for most people because they can't be bothered to train well in their stance work. For people who have solid stance work (my teacher and grandmaster), a hard kick is of no use. My teacher asked me to kick him hard, and he is still standing there, and very firmly.
Going for joints, arms are the best. They are the easiest to attack but also the easiest to defend against.
Yes. You see, martial arts schools can only teach you the basics. You have to learn the rest, be it with a friend or just by yourself.Originally posted by Tango12:Quite true.Cant find anyone that teaches all these in spore.Anyone knoe any lobang?Wushu ah...Hmm.Their tricks not so advanced leh. I knoe TKD one more advanced.But dun tink spore tkd got these standard.I tink training gymnastic will have an advantage than the martial arts rite.I knoe how to breakfall.But dunno how to start on all these tricks.
Good one chunyong!Originally posted by chunyong:another move is strike sternum there...especially when he use both hands to 'shake u'...just use ur knuckle and heavily strike there....its middle portion of the chest, inbetween the 'breasts'.
careful leh...dat region dun pray prayOriginally posted by xifousai:Good one chunyong!
I tried on myself using a clenced fist and a protruding middle knuckle.
Darn painful.
Hey!Y not u start a forum on how to do tricks.Like first muz do wat n wat r the mistakes we muz take notice.How to start 1st n etc...Share lehOriginally posted by RETARDED_MORON:Yes. You see, martial arts schools can only teach you the basics. You have to learn the rest, be it with a friend or just by yourself.
For kicking ur butt like a maniac?Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:you need a checkup at IMH![]()
Well, the forum at trickstutorials.com is really sufficient. If you need extra help, you can e-mail me at [email protected] or http://www.geocities.com/alvintan_88; I would be glad to offer help as best as I can. Haha.Originally posted by Tango12:Hey!Y not u start a forum on how to do tricks.Like first muz do wat n wat r the mistakes we muz take notice.How to start 1st n etc...Share leh
I knoe cos I m in tkd.I also knoe that spore tkd bo standard one.Not many pple can do or can teach.I m not toking abt 540 onli.I mean other tricks too. Not learning it for sparring but for demo purposes.Originally posted by tinoishi:Well i must say it is an honest mistake.... evening and the early morning not much diff...
well i WAS from that school... that was ancient history though...
you can learn many of the kicks that alvin has shown from tkd, that much I know... and its better to get someone to teach you... because you can achieve a greater kicking height if you have someone to correct the the techniques... like for example the 540 jumping turning kick(with you landing on the same leg that you kicked with) is actually a reverse sidekick followed by a turning kick to the head or higher.... so learning these tricks with applicaiton in mind is much better.
Many would like to think of Joe Eigo as a "crappy gymnast" and not a trickster. His moves have virtually no roots in martial arts, they are just acrobatic flips. Try real tricksters like Anis Cheurfa, Tony Jaa, Steve Terada, Crazy Asian and Jujimufu. Try looking these people up.Originally posted by freemovement:Check this air trickster out, Joe Eigo:
http://come.to/jeigo
There were other vids on his main webpage... but i couldn't find it.