Yes. She have to accept that as part and parcel of her job. If she want to protect herself, I believe TCS will give her the right not to take part.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Miss J issue was blown up of proportion by the evening newspaper.
Put yourself in her shoes.
If your boss request you to master a difficult task with such a short time and you cannot reject due to future career backlash, you will definitely feel fustrated.
The situation is worsen through suffering from a injury that needs time to heal.
The injury will also affect her coming filming schedules.
The acting job may be given to another actress due to the injury.
Therefore, any one will be angry at the moment of injury.
I believe she is not against doing charity, just a bit pissed off due to the injury.
Some other artists are also injured through this charity show.
I guess she have to accept the stunts as part of the media artist job requirements.
exactly. I think the lucky draw bullshit is a turnoff and wasting of money.Originally posted by boaz:I donated for this show, cuz there are NO lucky draw prizes, of which the idea puts me off completely.
Originally posted by motoway:NKF is trying to compete with Singapore Pool I think.
yea, and i read in the newspaper NKF spends 300k on the condos and stuff so [b]WTF?!?!? The 300k can donate to patients not? Pea-brain like hell..[/b]
Originally posted by motoway:Who came out with this lucky draw stuff? does it only exist in singpaore.
yea, and i read in the newspaper NKF spends 300k on the condos and stuff so [b]WTF?!?!? The 300k can donate to patients not? Pea-brain like hell..[/b]
Sorry to hear about your friend's tale.Originally posted by Poolman:I donated 4x $5 everytime the show is on , but i sms all my friends to do some donation also .
I did it cos one of my good friend , at a age of 37 , had been staying at Ren Ci near Tan Tock Seng Hospital for 13 years liao .
He suffered a brain tumour at a age of 24 , and had to resort to staying at a charity hospital cos all his insurance payout and CPF payout all dry liao , cannot afford to stay at normal hospital for a long time for observation .
My that gd friend his tumour still there , cannot take out completely , if take out completely , he'll die .
Now he paralysed head down .
Suffered multiple surgery , brain got infections la , brain got accessive fluid la , brain nerve system swallon la .....
You all should go and see the patient and you will know , trhis donations is worth it .
I'm a broke man , but still i donate , why about you ?
You sure Fann donated 6 digit figure to old folks home? pai seh, can give some back up evidence?Originally posted by shuiling:Fann is the charity queen. zt is not.
Fann donated 6 digit figure to old folks home. zt did not.
Fann always sweat for charity show. zt only shed tears.
Fann is more worthy to be charity queen of caldecott hill. zt pls retire.
NPNT!! Fann dun look veri charitable to me..Originally posted by shuiling:Fann is the charity queen. zt is not.
Fann donated 6 digit figure to old folks home. zt did not.
Fann always sweat for charity show. zt only shed tears.
Fann is more worthy to be charity queen of caldecott hill. zt pls retire.
donated figures only.Originally posted by nightzip:You sure Fann donated 6 digit figure to old folks home? pai seh, can give some back up evidence?
thanks.![]()
I don't support TV charity shows because I don't believe in people risking their lives to raise funds, and telcos having a share of the profits out of charity. There are lots of donation boxes and pledge cards from which we can contribute to Ren Ci directly.Originally posted by Glen999:Who came out with this lucky draw stuff? does it only exist in singpaore.
I am ashamed to tell my oversea friends on this.. as it will be a laughing stock.
I may suggest that the patient can do some small small gifts. and the donator has a chance to win the gifts. a good gist of appreciation.
what do you think?
Yes, i certainly do not agree about telecos having a share out of charity. Can Singtel just waive the 20 cents fee in the name of charity? Friggin hell.. Thay are already so rich lo..Originally posted by ellisbeck:I don't support TV charity shows because I don't believe in people risking their lives to raise funds, and telcos having a share of the profits out of charity. There are lots of donation boxes and pledge cards from which we can contribute to Ren Ci directly.
And to Glen999, this lucky draw idea is also adopted in Hong Kong TV charity shows as well. I spotted some of these programmes on TV whenever I am in HK.
they have already explained "we are not a charitable organisation."Originally posted by motoway:Yes, i certainly do not agree about telecos having a share out of charity. Can Singtel just waive the 20 cents fee in the name of charity? Friggin hell.. Thay are already so rich lo..![]()
same hereOriginally posted by dragg:nowadays it is either this superstar, that superstar or charity shows.
i am sick of it!!!
There are better ways to raise funds instead of staging costly charity shows. How about radiothons?Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Look at the J Tay Issue in another scenerio.
Is she not sort of a whistle blower for the charity show act ?
She is just acting what PM Lee have requested every single Singaporean should do about Charity.
Just look at what the rest of the artiste have done after she have talk to the press in trying put on a brave front and trying to suck up to their boss in "showing" their "willingness" to perform the act and directly condemning her comments about the circus act.
I believe that some of artists have also some comments about performing the acts.
Even some of the public admits that the stunts are too demanding for the artist that are not physically conditioned.
Why should J Tay be the one to take the rap for all the negative press ?
Her comments was directed at the stunt, not at the charity.
It was sadly twisted to the extent that she is against doing any act for the charity.
Sadly, this incident truly confirmed what the forumers have been writing to the press about being a whistle blower.
The person that express any negative comments against any management will definitely be shot down and have to resign eventually as every one else that shared the same sentiment but have no guts to voice out will SHUT UP and start to treat the person like a criminal.
So, all the things about being a whistle blower is just plain fairy tale.
Because when anything bad happens, every one will run away.
But, when anything good happens, lots of people would start to come out in trying to claim the limelight.
Just look at the ending of the auntie who have stand up against Mr Durian.
The Singapore society does not encourage any whistle blowers as we are brought up with fear, live with fear and become fear itself.