i thot mohammed is the most common in the world?Originally posted by dragg:Lee!!!
96 million in china.
zhang came in second followed by liu.
tan is in the top ten too.
what is yours?
i am Tan.![]()
THE is teh/tay/daiOriginally posted by Li Ka Shing:Pronounce in dialect should be 'Tang' , pronounce in Mandarin should be 'Tan'. Uhhh...I think so.
But dunno why it's written as 'The' in latin letters.
What? Sima or Zhuge?Originally posted by aHGer^83:my family name in SG/china/taiwan not very common
i wish lor.. but sorry, no...Originally posted by Icemoon:What? Sima or Zhuge?![]()
situ? ouyang?Originally posted by aHGer^83:my family name in SG/china/taiwan not very common
depends. tan can be tan as in tan yong lin (alan tam)Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:situ? ouyang?
btw i'm a tan.. but my parents give me chen as a surname.. cuz tan in hanyu pinyin is chen they said..
alan tham is tham not tan.Originally posted by aHGer^83:depends. tan can be tan as in tan yong lin (alan tam)
can be tan, hokkien for chen
stop guessing mine lah...
dongfang? as in dongfangbubaiOriginally posted by aHGer^83:i wish lor.. but sorry, no...![]()
Then say lor, what's so funny about your surname? How rare is it?Originally posted by aHGer^83:depends. tan can be tan as in tan yong lin (alan tam)
can be tan, hokkien for chen
stop guessing mine lah...
Go buy a book on chinese surnames from Popular bookshop.Originally posted by zheshi:My Surname is Shen. Quite rare in singapore as compare to the more popular surname.
Not sure about in china. I'm very curious how "Shen" come about. Anybody have any information to share?
tham is cantonese promounciation. if u write in chi han yu pin yin is tan2Originally posted by dragg:alan tham is tham not tan.
tan is chan in cantonese.
haha... great imaginantion.... no...Originally posted by dragg:dongfang? as in dongfangbubai
am i so obliged to say at all? posting here dun mean shld say lor...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Then say lor, what's so funny about your surname? How rare is it?
sorry but this is juz a joke.. last time i have a fren whose surname is chee. so we call him ah-chee, den when we bid him good bye... i tink u can imagine...Originally posted by dragg:chee is probably the most 'difficult' surname.
Curious ma. Surname only, also not asking for your name.Originally posted by aHGer^83:am i so obliged to say at all? posting here dun mean shld say lor...![]()
like i said previously lor.. stop guessing.. u wanna guess oso not my prob...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Curious ma. Surname only, also not asking for your name.