..... Pretty looking kois!! kois are colourful too. Mostly buinessman like to keep them for good luck and prosperity. It kinda symbolise bountiful of wealth. They are very friendly creatures, in fact you can hold them up, cuddle them, stroke them. So you don't keep them now?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I find keeping stingrays an interesting novelty.
anyway, we used to have this koi pond when I was a kid.They still fascinate me a lot today.
I used to love feeding them from my palm, and they will lap gently at it.![]()
I used to hang out at fish farms with my Dad when I was a little kid, and I once carried a koi. It's nice when your own koi recognise you and they swim up to greet you when you approach the pond.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... Pretty looking kois!! kois are colourful too. Mostly buinessman like to keep them for good luck and prosperity. It kinda symbolise bountiful of wealth. They are very friendly creatures, in fact you can hold them up, cuddle them, stroke them. So you don't keep them now?
..... There is a big koi pond at suntec city, can find many types of kois there, some are really huge! You can also buy the fish food at the stall and feed them right away, quite fun
..... Stingrays are still a new fish hobbyists' hobby, fascinating to see them in captivity instead of on diners' table![]()
LOL it was not taken from the deep. Just that it was kinda dark and my camera phone doesn't have flash.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:
..... This pic looked as though it was taken from the deepThe rays seem ready to square off. Do they ever fight with each other? Haha you and your darling have different ways of looking after the rays, hope both of you won't fight one day
But it's ok, whatever differences both of you have, the rays benefited. It's funny leh, both rays eat different food, pampered them too much liow.
..... Ahhh...glad to hear the leopard catfish fought back, that's the way leopy. Don't let those buggers bully you! Pray it will survive though.![]()
Oh i'm a regular at local fish farms/shops and am always on the lookout for new and interesting additions for my tank. I get whatever info i need mostly from the internet.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... seems like the pricing of marine water fish are much more expensive than the fresh water one. The adult red fish more colourful and the blue fish colour faded quite alot, a big different. Didn't know fish eat vegetables too.
..... Normally you buy those fish at random or any particular reasons for choosing them? Do you get your infos on magazines?![]()
..... That's true, those kois over there are considered obese cases. Shoppers just can't stop feeding them. Look at their tummy, gonna explode soon!!Originally posted by LazerLordz:I used to hang out at fish farms with my Dad when I was a little kid, and I once carried a koi. It's nice when your own koi recognise you and they swim up to greet you when you approach the pond.
I love koi for their serenity and poise.Just looking at them allows you to calm down and be at peace.
The Suntec koi pond, well, I find that the koi are somewhat overfed.Poor things.
..... ok that's goodOriginally posted by elindra:LOL it was not taken from the deep. Just that it was kinda dark and my camera phone doesn't have flash.
No they don't fight.
Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... ok that's goodEver put your hand inside the tank and touch the stingrays?

..... This picture looked exciting man!! look at the stingray's mouth....Originally posted by elindra:
Yeah I did before just to see how they feel like.
Anyhow I would like to train them to eat out of my hand one day
Like this
Picture taken from:
http://www.geocities.com/david_upton_73/diet.html
Yes and no to thatOriginally posted by tt3:dun keep them... die veri easily...
Well, they have many on display at the Qianhu fish farm in Lim Chu Kang... good to look at but crazy to buy (unless you have lots of money to spare).Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:...some of the rays are good looking, especially the flower rays and the dark dark one with bright yellow polka dots. I don't see them in local aquariums so far.
..... they do conduct tours for the public too, try to make it there one of these days. As what elindra mentioned above, the pricing isOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:Well, they have many on display at the Qianhu fish farm in Lim Chu Kang... good to look at but crazy to buy (unless you have lots of money to spare).![]()
Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:Someone bitten by a stingray? No. Never heard before. The only time they sting also is when you step on them.
[quote]Originally posted by elindra:
[[b]b]Yeah they like to be petted.
The flower rays are called the Sakura rays here. The yellow spotted ones ...actually spots are white I think it's the lighting....is called the Polka Dot. You can find the both of them here.
Polka Dot...last I asked was 300+ per 4" ray
.....Have you came across someone bitten by stingray ( not sting tho )
.....$300 per ray!!! Nevermind lah, try to strike toto or 4D
Well i personally wouldn't mind spending money on a fish i like, IF (and this is a very big IF) i can be sure that it'll survive in my tank. Unfortunately, I'm afraid stingrays just do not belong to this category.Originally posted by elindra:Someone bitten by a stingray? No. Never heard before. The only time they sting also is when you step on them.
$300 per ray isn't that bad la. You get the bigger nicer ones you're talking about 4 digits here.
Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Well, the thing about rays is that IF you do not have experience with them, they will die. It's always certain that the first ray you have WILL die.
Well i personally wouldn't mind spending money on a fish i like, [b]IF (and this is a very big IF) i can be sure that it'll survive in my tank. Unfortunately, I'm afraid stingrays just do not belong to this category.[/b]