I fed him the day before leh...Originally posted by elindra:![]()
You have not been feeding him?![]()
Wah, i see they're having a shrimp buffet...Originally posted by elindra:More 'blur' pics of my rays taken with phone
Actually there is those feeder catfish in itOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:Wah, i see they're having a shrimp buffet...![]()

.... it's true, what you had described, i seem it on TV. Incredible fish!!. Sometimes it just hide in the dried up river bed and wait for the next rain to fall.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Those feeder catfishes are walking catfishes... they are widely regarded as pests in the USA. Some aquarists introduced these catfishes into their rivers after they outgrew their fish tanks at home. In the riverways, these walking catfishes have been accused of destroying the ecosystem by their aggressive cannibalistic behaviour, feeding on other fishes... this problem is compounded by the fact that they reproduce so quickly.
And when the rivers dry up or when food is depleted, these walking catfishes simply slither out of the rivers, cross the land in search of new rivers/waterways to inhabit (and destroy).
And biologically, they are perfectly capable of living out of the water for very long periods at a time. This is because they have an accessory breathing organ in their heads, allowing them to breathe atmospheric air. And in fact, their gills are poorly developed. Thus even when in water, they have to come up to the surface to take gulps of air periodically, and will die if not given the chance to do so. As long as their skin remains moist (they do not have scales), they will not die on land.
Very fascinating creatures.![]()

..... ha ha lucky your catfish survived, thought it was trying to commit suicide.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:I fed him the day before leh...
Anyway he regurgitated the airstone (which was intact) as well as some other semi-digested stomach contents in the night... when i woke up this morning, the whole tank was a milky whitish colour. Did a 80% water change and he looks ok now.![]()
.....Originally posted by elindra:More 'blur' pics of my rays taken with phone
..... i can only see prawns leh, what's wrong with the rays? You mean rays also got mood swing, refuse to eat at times. Maybe can create something liked their natural habitats, so they feel more at home and better appetite. I had seen in aquarium they put some leaves in the tank for the rays to hide from light or something. Every times play with sand also sian lahOriginally posted by elindra:Actually there is those feeder catfish in it
Very jialet. The Motoros doesn't seem to want to eat the catfish and the Rec refuse to touch the shrimps
Glad your catfish is ok now
Oh i didn't keep track... not alot, couple hundreds probably, and it's mostly on the equipment. The fishes and rocks add up to less than a hundred.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:[quote]
..... I guess a few more crown fish will do just finebtw how much does it cost to put up a tank like this?
The yellow and the blue fishes are around $20+ each, and the red fish is $5.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:[quote]Originally posted by cornyfish2000:
[b]
Another pic of the 2:
The Coris gaimard wrasse:
..... how much does each of this fish costs? how long can they last? what food you feed them with?![]()

Urgh... i think he was probably just plain greedy...Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... ha ha lucky your catfish survived, thought it was trying to commit suicide.Maybe he/she is lonely, get the catfish a partner
..... on a poster right??Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I have a 50 feet Great White Shark![]()
..... maybe stuffed it up and hang on the wallOriginally posted by alexkusu:2 of my goldfish died yesterday.. in my pond/fountain thingmaybe not enuf oxygen..
haih..shud have made yee sang
reminds me of the song "get out of the water"Originally posted by FireIce:<--------- i keep a "fish out of water"
Fin still missing but tail intactOriginally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:[quote]Originally posted by elindra:
[b]
The unfortunate victim was a feeder carp. About 1" in length.
Please la. You can buy it from a number of aquariums in Singapore. Maybe the only thing is that most don't have 2 mouths
Those dark ugly grey ones are the feeder catfish. I just gave my brother one. The ones I use to feed my ray grew too big and it's now tank mates with my brother's Luo Han
.....did the catfish swallowed it whole or spit it later? To me the leopard catfish is one of the prettiest, other catfish don't have such nice patterns, the most unique is the whiskers, they are marked with patterns too.
So what happen to your catfish now? still kanna bully? the other time it loses it's fin, don't tell me it had lost it's tail now
AiyaOriginally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:.....![]()
your pics looked liked it was taken out from a Si-Fi horror movie
The second pic seems liked the ray had been attacked and the pic went fuzzy
The third one will be beautiful if the pic is much clearer, it shows the ray really gliding in mid air with the fins waving liked a flag. But it still looked good, nice one really...![]()
No la. They are just pickyOriginally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... i can only see prawns leh, what's wrong with the rays? You mean rays also got mood swing, refuse to eat at times. Maybe can create something liked their natural habitats, so they feel more at home and better appetite. I had seen in aquarium they put some leaves in the tank for the rays to hide from light or something. Every times play with sand also sian lah![]()
In my experience those baby black catfishes have a very high mortality rate... buy a $2 packet today, 40% will be dead by tomorrow. I find it more economical to use baby mollies as feeders, as they tend to be more hardy than the catfishes.Originally posted by elindra:No la. They are just picky
What I mean was the Rec will only want to eat catfish. It doesn't seem to want to eat the shrimps and the Motoros only want to eat the shrimps and refuses to touch the catfish
They are greedy buggersI try not to feed them so often but my husband happily dumps food into the tank when he sees it empty
Rays don't like to eat mollies. At least mine doesn'tOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:In my experience those baby black catfishes have a very high mortality rate... buy a $2 packet today, 40% will be dead by tomorrow. I find it more economical to use baby mollies as feeders, as they tend to be more hardy than the catfishes.
..... seems like the pricing of marine water fish are much more expensive than the fresh water one. The adult red fish more colourful and the blue fish colour faded quite alot, a big different. Didn't know fish eat vegetables too.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:The yellow and the blue fishes are around $20+ each, and the red fish is $5.
Although they've been with me for only a few months, but each can last for several years... they are still in their juvenile colouration, and they will change into their adult colouration as their mature.
The adult colouration of this type of red fish:
The adult colouration of this type of blue fish:
The yellow fish will not change colour or appearance as it grows, only size will change.
I feed them all sorts of frozen seafoods, but mostly defrosted tiger prawn meat and dory fillet (fish), as well as pellets. As for the yellow and blue fishes, i feed them a leaf of vegetable (lettuce, caixin, kailan etc) every day, in addition to the abovementioned foods.![]()