got hear thunder
but ai rain mai rain like tt
i going out soon
Rain again this afternoon. Same like yesterday.
My area going to rain
Rain stop, what a heck! rain for only a shortwhile
Originally posted by Fantagf:Rain stop, what a heck! rain for only a shortwhile
u got to dance the rain dance...
Raining. Wow, adds blue to the already Blue Monday, sianz!
Rain getting heavier. Sianz!
Weather report... Toa Payoh Lorong 8 raining
heard thunder.
today is raining like mad !!!!
started to rain over at simei..
will there be rain today?
Pretty big rain in the wee hours of the morning has made rhw skies coral and the temperature a lot better for snoozing through. Alas for me, my walk to work will be more bearable.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Pretty big rain in the wee hours of the morning has made rhw skies coral and the temperature a lot better for snoozing through. Alas for me, my walk to work will be more bearable.
i'm going to work too. don't worry. weekend burn together.
the weather forecast said that there won't be any rain through the weekends, i was quite surprised to hear pitter patter on my window
Just now rain at pasir ris/tampines now become sunny lol
Wednesday, June 10, 2009
It's conventional wisdom in
atmospheric science circles: large raindrops fall faster than smaller drops,
because they're bigger and heavier. And no raindrop can fall faster than its
"terminal speed"—its speed when the downward force of gravity is exactly the
same as the upward air resistance.
Now two physicists from Michigan
Technological University and colleagues at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de
México (National University of Mexico) have discovered that it ain't necessarily
so.
Some smaller raindrops can fall faster than bigger ones. In fact,
they can fall faster than their terminal speed. In other words, they can fall
faster than drops that size and weight are supposed to be able to fall.
And that could mean that the weatherman has been overestimating how much
it rains.
The findings of Michigan Tech physics professors Alexander
Kostinski and Raymond Shaw—co-authors with Guillermo Montero-Martinez and
Fernando Garcia-Garcia on a paper scheduled for publication online June 13,
2009, in the American Geophysical Union's journal Geophysical Research
Letters—could improve the accuracy of weather measurement and prediction.
The researchers gathered data during natural rainfalls at the Mexico
City campus of the National University of Mexico. They studied approximately
64,000 raindrops over three years, using optical array spectrometer probes and a
particle analysis and collecting system. They also modified an algorithm or
computational formula to analyze the raindrop sizes.
They found clusters
of raindrops falling faster than their terminal speed, and as the rainfall
became heavier, they saw more and more of these unexpectedly speedy drops. They
think that the "super-terminal" drops come from the break-up of larger drops,
which produces smaller fragments all moving at the same speed as their parent
raindrop and faster than the terminal speed predicted by their size.
"In
the past, people have seen indications of faster-than-terminal drops, but they
always attributed it to splashing on the instruments," Shaw explains. He and his
colleagues took special precautions to prevent such interference, including
collecting data only during extremely calm conditions.
Their findings
could significantly alter physicists' understanding of the physics of rain.
"Existing rain models are based on the assumption that all drops fall at
their terminal speed, but our data suggest that this is not the case," Shaw and
Kostinski say. If rainfall is measured based on that assumption, large raindrops
that are not really there will be recorded.
"If we want to forecast
weather or rain, we need to understand the rain formation processes and be able
to accurately measure the amount of rain," Shaw pointed out.
Taking
super-terminal raindrops into account could be of real economic benefit, even if
it leads only to incremental improvements in precipitation measurement and
forecasting. Approximately one-third of the economy—including agriculture,
construction and aviation—is directly influenced by the ability to predict
precipitation accurately. "And one-third of the economy is a very large sum of
money, even during a recession," Shaw remarks.
###
Michigan
Technological University
Stupid weather. NO sun but still humid and warm.
Lolx Weather cant be stupid anyway.
started to rain over @ simei..
Originally posted by QX179R:started to rain over @ simei..
rains in simei often lor.
starts raining in NE
sn0wing here :)
lolx Tampines St 22 (near Simei) havent rain despite Cloudy,,,
simei got rain meh
where got
from my house ,can see simei not raining leh
Originally posted by noahnoah:
simei got rain meh
where got
from my house ,can see simei not raining leh
cannot see, use binoculars la
Originally posted by Bus&Soccer l0v3r (VO3x 1):lolx Tampines St 22 (near Simei) havent rain despite Cloudy,,,
zzz now then rain ........