Yup. English and Science also. What's your prelim Maths grade? If D7, O levels will get C5 or C6 or maybe better. Don't need to worry, they will moderate the results.Originally posted by LancerVII:wow.. not bad huh.. at least will be better than me I guess.. But however, there is something I am worried about.. tat's my maths subject.. I have been failing my maths last yr.. wonder wad will my O lvl results will be.. haiz.. I know tat without maths, almost all the courses wont accept me... rite?![]()
yup.Originally posted by SoulFire21:this is L1R4 rite?
Eng, maths and scienceOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yup. English and Science also. What's your prelim Maths grade? If D7, O levels will get C5 or C6 or maybe better. Don't need to worry, they will moderate the results.![]()
Depends on what subject you fail. As long as not EMS (english, maths, science), you will be guaranteed of a place, albeit a bad course.Originally posted by redstone:Sadly even if your other results are distinctions, and failed one. Met COP, all cos of a single subject the candidate would be rejected!
Let's say these 2 students apply into same course:
A1, A1, A1, A1, E7
C6, C6, C6, C6, C6
The A1 student would be instantly rejected without consideration all cos of one of his results missed entry requirements.![]()
Finally after 50 years of polytechnic history, other factors other then official exam results are given consideration.
my prelims maths results ah? dont say la.. paiseh...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yup. English and Science also. What's your prelim Maths grade? If D7, O levels will get C5 or C6 or maybe better. Don't need to worry, they will moderate the results.![]()
Just to clarify, fail English but distinction for Maths and Science will get you into a course that you want, after consideration by the school. And you have to re-take English O Levels and pass it if not you will be kicked out of the polytechnic.Originally posted by redstone:Eng, maths and science
But if Eng missed, still got hope under DAE.
But up till last year, once maths or science fails, you have no chance of getting into most courses. Appeals only accepted for consideration if requirements are met.![]()
Up til last year, entry are purely by official exam results and nothing else.Originally posted by LancerVII:yup.. tat's y sometimes I really hated the system... I may be good in other subjects.. but when come to maths.. haiz.. dont mention la.. But in last yr O lvls, I really tried my best liao, wadever the outcome, I have no regrets.. but I thought some polys will see yur portfolio , tat kind of things? den they might give u a chance? But for computer courses, how to help?![]()
Never mind. But will improve by at least a grade when O Levels come out.Originally posted by LancerVII:my prelims maths results ah? dont say la.. paiseh...![]()
haiz... i got a friend who is also a ex student of my school, came back to retake his O lvls last yr.. same class as me.. he told me tat his O lvl results very poor.. he tried to appeal.. but he told me tat the lecturers dont even give him a shit and refuse to see him or listen to his appeal.. when I heard tat, I am very disturbed and worried sia..Originally posted by redstone:Up til last year, entry are purely by official exam results and nothing else.
Results are top priority.
Only the design and arts related courses see portfolios, but chances are extremely slim if you've missed requirements. Appeal no use.![]()
Yup. You can miss COP, but cannot FAIL english, maths and science. If you show talent for a particular area, say IT, will get in based on talent, provided you pass English, Maths and Science.Originally posted by redstone:JPSAE still have to meet requirements to enter?
But miss COP nevermind?
really?? anyway, thx for yur advice.. really soothing.. haha.. thx.. btw.. my prelim maths results also F9.. but heard from my sch teachers tat schools usually set prelim papers slightly more difficult rite? if this is so, I am hopeful..Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Never mind. But will improve by at least a grade when O Levels come out.
My A Maths is actually F9 one, O levels come out, C6.![]()
My case is that other results are all quite good. 1, 3, 3, 5.Originally posted by LancerVII:haiz... i got a friend who is also a ex student of my school, came back to retake his O lvls last yr.. same class as me.. he told me tat his O lvl results very poor.. he tried to appeal.. but he told me tat the lecturers dont even give him a shit and refuse to see him or listen to his appeal.. when I heard tat, I am very disturbed and worried sia..
Prelim papers are harder so that you all won't think that O Levels is smooth-sailing. That will force you guys to work hard and acheive what you want.Originally posted by LancerVII:really?? anyway, thx for yur advice.. really soothing.. haha.. thx.. btw.. my prelim maths results also F9.. but heard from my sch teachers tat schools usually set prelim papers slightly more difficult rite? if this is so, I am hopeful..
The goddamned system!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yup. You can miss COP, but cannot FAIL english, maths and science. If you show talent for a particular area, say IT, will get in based on talent, provided you pass English, Maths and Science.
ok.. thx.. now I have a little more confidence in myself liao.. haha.. thx alot..Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Prelim papers are harder so that you all won't think that O Levels is smooth-sailing. That will force you guys to work hard and acheive what you want.
As I said, there will be moderation of results, so don't worry too much, unless your school a lot of people get As for Maths. Because if many people do well in a particular subject and you do badly, they will mark super strict based on that impression.![]()
Appeal to the school directly. Forget about the lecturers. Provided that you get D7. Grades below that might as well re-take O Levels.Originally posted by redstone:My case is that other results are all quite good. 1, 3, 3, 5.
But math failed. Lecturers said "we do not even consider appeals that missed entry requirements"!![]()
So whatever achievements you have, even national or international awards relevant to the subjects in O lvl.... No matter even if all your other results are A1.... No matter how high or how many times you appeal....
You will be instantly rejected at the doorstep without consideration.
Last year COP is a good guide, though I don't recommend you guys to look because the dragon babies pushed the COP super low.Originally posted by redstone:But the thing is COP is not pre-determined... Depends on the students applying in..
I self appeal onceOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Appeal to the school directly. Forget about the lecturers. Provided that you get D7. Grades below that might as well re-take O Levels.
Welcome.Originally posted by LancerVII:ok.. thx.. now I have a little more confidence in myself liao.. haha.. thx alot..![]()
wad u mean? is it coz too many dragon babies , tats y they set it more difficult for the pupils to get in to the courses?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Last year COP is a good guide, though I don't recommend you guys to look because the dragon babies pushed the COP super low.
I don't see much difference....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Last year COP is a good guide, though I don't recommend you guys to look because the dragon babies pushed the COP super low.