ya i count interest for loan shark one.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:about the accounting banking sector...i not sure how u can earn...ask stellazio on that...he private banker...1 year earn alot alot money..
and no...u will not go army when u turn 18...after your o level...u either apply jc,poly or ite...2 years of jc and ite(nitec)...and u are off...that means u get 2 years deferment from ns once u go into these tertiary education...
when u in poly,upon matriculation...u will receive the deferment letter and u are suppose to apply for deferment on the mindef website...this case...u will get 3 years deferment...up to the point of your education in poly ends...
anymore qns?![]()
as u mentioned, u are not a well off family so go jcOriginally posted by laotaozi800:i m sec 3 now and i m streamed to the triple sci stream and i haf done fairly well in my exams the past 2 year..i m woundering if i should go jc or go poly..
my father is not very well off and my family is struggling to make ends meet
very poor that i dun even have a handphone and i m still using a 56k internet...
jc or poly...i m not sure i want to go jc becuz it is a easier way to go to uni and wiff a degree job prospects are excellent a compared wiff a diploma..but.. poly i can go straight to work so help my father cope wiff family...
some of my teacher told me go poly then work for few years then go uni further study.. but i tot by the time then i would be working and stufdying...
so help is needed
btw i m going for the accounting banking sector as my aunt is a account and she earns a lot of money..i wantt to be like her and provide for my family..
i got 2 questions..
is it true that if u have a only a degree u can go far in this sector unless u further your studies?
and as u all know poly is 3 years but my ns is when i m 18..so clash wiff my poly...so do is it true that i have to go army first then come out 20 y.o and complete my final year??
plz help me.![]()
In a way, I sort of agree with you. But after 2 years in the army, things may change. So you may be suffering in the end. (I got a Diploma in Business, Majored in HR managment and Events Management. 2002, diploma graduates were hot. After 2.5 years in the army, everyone has a degree when I came out. Now I'm hesitating whether to study to join the "Degree Race" or just get a job and upgrade later.)Originally posted by dinky1409:Yeah accountants earn big bucks.. I was from JC and in about 3 months time I will be finishing my NS and soon after that I'll be in SMU doing Accountancy. I'm having a headache trying to figure out how to pay for my degree. Anyway, you are in Sec 3 now? Train on your fitness until you can be super fit. During NS try your best to qualify for OCS and when you do qualify you sign on and get their scholarship. Settle already. Actually if your very keen to do accountancy and very sure you are not going to do anything else, go for the diploma. So you can work first and later on upgrade yourself to a degree.
Even if you go the JC way, you still have to complete your NS before entering university to get a degree, so in the end still the same? Why do most people go to JC? Its because they do not actually know what they want to do but what they know for sure is getting into university is easier through the JC route. However this guy has already know what he wants to do which is accountancy. Furthermore, I doubt most of the subjects in JC will help much in a degree in Accountancy, only economics and maths I guess. Also, if you don't do well in JC, you may not qualify for the degree you want whereas if you go do accounting in poly, at least you can have a diploma to fall back on. You are right, Singapore changes its demands in the workforce quite often but for accountancy, I'm quite certain it is still in demand. Almost all companies or businesses that open up would require someone to do their accounts right?Originally posted by Robotics999:In a way, I sort of agree with you. But after 2 years in the army, things may change. So you may be suffering in the end. (I got a Diploma in Business, Majored in HR managment and Events Management. 2002, diploma graduates were hot. After 2.5 years in the army, everyone has a degree when I came out. Now I'm hesitating whether to study to join the "Degree Race" or just get a job and upgrade later.)
I'm not disagreeing with you, say you're wrong, or you're giving a bad suggestion. Just that I have to remind our friend of the "beauty" of "ever-changing-Singapore" aka Kiasu~ism. And how some are suffering now (or maybe just me lah...).
dear laotaozi,Originally posted by laotaozi800:i m sec 3 now and i m streamed to the triple sci stream and i haf done fairly well in my exams the past 2 year..i m woundering if i should go jc or go poly..
my father is not very well off and my family is struggling to make ends meet
very poor that i dun even have a handphone and i m still using a 56k internet...
jc or poly...i m not sure i want to go jc becuz it is a easier way to go to uni and wiff a degree job prospects are excellent a compared wiff a diploma..but.. poly i can go straight to work so help my father cope wiff family...
some of my teacher told me go poly then work for few years then go uni further study.. but i tot by the time then i would be working and stufdying...
so help is needed
btw i m going for the accounting banking sector as my aunt is a account and she earns a lot of money..i wantt to be like her and provide for my family..
i got 2 questions..
is it true that if u have a only a degree u can go far in this sector unless u further your studies?
and as u all know poly is 3 years but my ns is when i m 18..so clash wiff my poly...so do is it true that i have to go army first then come out 20 y.o and complete my final year??
plz help me.![]()