Yah i agree. Degree is the key to the doors of the society.Originally posted by de_middle:degree holder welcomed? My honest opinion, it a piece of paper, but an important piece of paper, just like an advertisement of urself. Rest is up to job performance, many other highly educated people out there may not necesarily work as well as they study.
Academic knowledge doesn't equal to practical knowledge. So for those who aren't well equipped academically, don't despair, there maybe other hidden potentials others may come to reliase oneday.![]()
This cannot be considered as wasted detour. If you work as a general manager or MD of a company that manufacture IT stuffs, you will need all the knowledge you mentioned from your job.Originally posted by Fatum:think very very carefully about what you're really interested in ... don't go chasing the latest "fad" because people say the prospects are good ....
I did manufacturing engineering at SP ... and ended up studying computer science and economics at the uni ... a wasted detour ... so don't just close your eyes and tikam ...
x2 and dun go into IT cos u can jz learn yourself...Originally posted by meltz:IT dip here ..... study the course u like ..
not going for course that u think is good for the market ..
if not u sure suffer ......![]()
engineering is about experience especial in the technical field. no matter if you are dip, degree or master etc, ur starting pay won't be very high if you don't have any experience. the money will only really start rolling from the 3rd years onward.Originally posted by joeacid:Yah i agree. Degree is the key to the doors of the society.
My cousin brother who came back from UK with his Bachelor Degree in electronics from the University of Southampton, the world best eletronics University.
He came back found a job with only $2300/mth including OT, excluding CPF.
When i spoke to him for advise he says this:
"When it comes to finding jobs, its all about luck and your performance."
I guess this already can proves how much a good degree can do in Singapore.
But of course apart from that, i have another cousin sister who works in HDB.
She have a pay of $1800-$2500 depends on the amount of customer she attended to. She only have a 'O' level certificate.
When i consult her regarding qualifications, this is what she says:
"As long as you have upgraded yourself, you'll definately be rewarded".
I guess its all about luck bah. But of course, if you don't study at all, you wun even have a key to open to those doors. And of course, work hard in govt Sector lol.
for dip and degree I would agree. for master, most likely you will be employed to do very specialized job and the pay should not be low.Originally posted by strikefreedom:engineering is about experience especial in the technical field. no matter if you are dip, degree or master etc, ur starting pay won't be very high if you don't have any experience. the money will only really start rolling from the 3rd years onward.
yeah maybe the 1st 3 years will be a good time to gauge else later kana a cheapskate boss that underpay you then it better to move.Originally posted by Gazelle:for dip and degree I would agree. for master, most likely you will be employed to do very specialized job and the pay should not be low.
It is important for any engineer to stick to industry for a few years before moving on. no employer will take your experience seriously if you job hope every 1 to 2 years.
really harOriginally posted by Illegal Operation:The bus stop mama shop lar.
I am at the hawker center nearer to there one.
Singapore market is very small hence it is important to make a name for yourself in the industry if you intend to stay in the industry. If you are good, job will come look for you.Originally posted by strikefreedom:yeah maybe the 1st 3 years will be a good time to gauge else later kana a cheapskate boss that underpay you then it better to move.![]()
this is the first time i am aware of hdb 'geylang' commission scheme.Originally posted by joeacid:................................. i have another cousin sister who works in HDB.
She have a pay of $1800-$2500 depends on the amount of customer she attended to. She only have a 'O' level certificate..................................
yeah but you will need at least 2-3 years to proof you are good what. it hard to achieve well known status in that particular industry within 1 year of work.Originally posted by Gazelle:Singapore market is very small hence it is important to make a name for yourself in the industry if you intend to stay in the industry. If you are good, job will come look for you.
I think you need longer than that to see results. what i can say is that dont job hope if you are a fresh grad.Originally posted by strikefreedom:yeah but you will need at least 2-3 years to proof you are good what. it hard to achieve well known status in that particular industry within 1 year of work.
hawker job can be very profitable.. but how many of us would want to do that for the entire life? damn tiring one..Originally posted by 798:anyway, getting a diploma on certain course doesn't mean you are going to work on that field for the rest of your life. who know you can own merc or condo by frying kway teow.
yah. The egg seller nearby my hse is a Engineering graduate~Originally posted by 798:anyway, getting a diploma on certain course doesn't mean you are going to work on that field for the rest of your life. who know you can own merc or condo by frying kway teow.
my point is... they managed to set up business and be their own boss. unlike most engineers who serve companies and work for long 12 hrs shift.Originally posted by joeacid:yah. The egg seller nearby my hse is a Engineering graduate~![]()
Duno, he's not an egg seller actually. He supply eggs to food stalls de.Originally posted by Itachi:usually how long is the working hour for the egg seller ah..?