Lots of thing tat i dun like them. One common traits i notice is they dun feel disgrace. Another thing is they lose themseleve, maybe they tot they transform themselve fully into ang moh liao. But will nv be. I feel sorry for the younger generation of Singapore if the parents dun do some soul searching.Originally posted by laurence82:Hey, what you got against bananas?
Ok jokes aside, you are quite right
I seen my cousins from Malaysia, educated in Chinese schools, married...and talk in English to their kids![]()
Wow got such thinking in Singapore youth?? Tats amazing. If they hate themselve so much den they should skin themselve n create a new race. Dun disgrace the chineseOriginally posted by gr2012:The reason the parents speak ang moh is cos you cannot deny the fact that English comes first.
It is true, but we must strike a balance. If the kid everyday hear and speak english then sure banana one loh.
Also, kids these days are bloody immature. They think that if they become president of singapore then they will abolish mandarin. Bullshit.
jiang hua yu COOL!Originally posted by vito_corleone:why are u using english now then? jiang hua yu la.![]()
another airhead.
yah true...but what is 'they dun feel disgrace'?Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Lots of thing tat i dun like them. One common traits i notice is they dun feel disgrace. Another thing is they lose themseleve, maybe they tot they transform themselve fully into ang moh liao. But will nv be. I feel sorry for the younger generation of Singapore if the parents dun do some soul searching.
If i can use i use liao. I put chinese here i scare no one can reply or only a few ppl reply, ni zhi dao wo de yi shi ma?Originally posted by vito_corleone:why are u using english now then? jiang hua yu la.![]()
another airhead.
u dont get it, dont you?Originally posted by vito_corleone:why are u using english now then? jiang hua yu la.![]()
another airhead.
Oh wat i mean is they only speak ang moh but dunno how to speak their own MT, n feel proud that as a chinese they know how to speak ang moh so well but not their MT n they feel its cool. u wun feel pai seh n sia sway behaving this way meh? This is wat i mean by they dun feel disgrace.Originally posted by laurence82:yah true...but what is 'they dun feel disgrace'?
u mean, they dont feel disgraceful that they act ang moh?
Yeah wat i wanna say is dun be a banana. Get ur own language rite den go n learn as many other races language as possible.Originally posted by laurence82:u dont get it, dont you?
the threadstarter advocating total refraint from using the English language meh?![]()
Luckily got one parent looking at my thread. Remember dun let ur children forget their own root n mother tougue. Try speak chinese to him if possible. Let him get to know n learn the beauty of Chinese from young.Originally posted by xinyi!:can i ask why are u typing in english? although i think i'm quite banana but i wont let my kids (if i marry a chinese husband) suffer the same criticism ppl are giving these days. but i must say it hurts to see ppl who are downright cheena to the bone, keep on dwelling on issues regarding china and all they know is criticising others using mandarin thinking they do not understand it. a few black sheep, from this category of ppl i mentioned are sadly associated with me because we're from the same class. talk about being embarrased, these ppl are shamelessly bad mouthing ppl of other races using mandarin. tsk...
whats ur defination of getting ur own language rite? to study for the sake of studying and get A1Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Yeah wat i wanna say is dun be a banana. Get ur own language rite den go n learn as many other races language as possible.
Sorry maybe my eng very poor. What i wanna say is make sure u know ur own MT well den go on n proceed to master other langauges. This is only my point of view.Originally posted by abao:whats ur defination of getting ur own language rite? to study for the sake of studying and get A1
Not very gd compare to the taiwan n china n hong kong chinese of coz. Their chinese is superb i muz say. They can speak beautiful chinese which i'm still mastering. Anyway i juz hope young ppl here able to get to know their own language well... Hence hope the parents reading can do something n dun keep on speak eng to the kids.Originally posted by Fatum:I presume you're pretty good at mandarin then ? ...
i;m not a parent, at least not going to be anytime soon. my point is, targetting chinese and make a sweeping statement is wrong. from my observation i see ppl of other races conversing in english too. why aren't they being called oreos? (black outside and white inside) as much as i dislike chinese as a subject, i take it as a challenge considering my english oriented upbringing. i believe ppl of my caliber wont be able to master it in due time but i still do respect the chinese culture. i do not despise and spit at anything chinese. i believe CNY has a meaning to it. if i marry a chinese guy in the future i'll make sure my kids learn chinese.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Luckily got one parent looking at my thread. Remember dun let ur children forget their own root n mother tougue. Try speak chinese to him if possible. Let him get to know n learn the beauty of Chinese from young.
more importantly, it is to make them love or at least, understand the culture.Originally posted by xinyi!:if i marry a chinese guy in the future i'll make sure my kids learn chinese.